dosage advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Member Since 2014
Hideys numbers are slowly coming down, but slowly. My vet said I can up it to 2.5 units 2 x a day, but that was when he was at 1 unit 2 x a day so I thought that was a big jump so I've slowly upped it to 2 units 2 x a day. Should I give it more time on 2 units or should I up it? Thank you
 
Not much BG drop with all the different doses you tried already. Yest it s good not to go to 2 1/2.
What insulin are you using?
Either add it to your signature or at the top of your SS.
 
She's using ProZinc, Larry. It is in her signature.


I think I'd raise the dose up to 2.5 on those 400-500 ranges. (maybe for the first cycle you riase, make it one you can monitor on) If you get lower preshots (in the 300 range) maybe for those, 2.25. My thinking is that, with ProZinc, the usual advice is to raise by .25 in the lower ranges, .5 in the higher ranges, for 3 cycles. If he isn't responding after 3 cycles, then raise again.

Does that sound reasonable?
 
Since I'll be at work most of the day tomorrow should I only up it to 2.25 and then Thursday when I have all day up him to 2.5?
 
It was not in her signature when I replied to here post.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
She's using ProZinc, Larry. It is in her signature.


I think I'd raise the dose up to 2.5 on those 400-500 ranges. (maybe for the first cycle you riase, make it one you can monitor on) If you get lower preshots (in the 300 range) maybe for those, 2.25. My thinking is that, with ProZinc, the usual advice is to raise by .25 in the lower ranges, .5 in the higher ranges, for 3 cycles. If he isn't responding after 3 cycles, then raise again.

Does that sound reasonable?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top