RedCedar
Member Since 2023
Hello everyone,
My kitty has been on Vetsulin for about 6 months now. We went back and forth about switching him to Glargine with his vet a few months ago, but then paused that effort because we've been dealing with a number of health issues for multiple pets and humans in the household and it's been very hectic, not a good time to switch insulin and tweak dosages. I completely understand that Glargine is better and it is top of mind for me, we just have too much going on right now.
(Note the #s below are with a pet meter)
After several months of pre-shot numbers in the 300s, he has started having PMPS numbers below 200. What seems to be happening is that at +11.5 when we test him, his BG is still lowered by his AM shot and eventually goes back up within a few hours if we skip the dose, to end at his usual low 300s AMPS value.
We tried tweaking his dose a bit and went down from 2 to 1.5 for both shots. Surprisingly his AM cycle seems almost unchanged with 1.5U, but 1.5 is still too much for his PM cycle (the one time we tried giving 1.5 with a 199 PMPS he went down to 87 within 3 hours, although we managed to get it back up with a bit of high carb food).
At this point my initial thought was to try with keeping his 1.5U dose for the AM cycle and lower (perhaps 1U?) for the PM cycle. But, does it make any sense or are there any downsides with doing two different dosages for AM and PM?
I know our spreadsheet has a lot of gaps, but we both work full time and we test when we can.
My husband handles most of the shots and pre-shot checks, but he doesn't use the spreadsheet so the data is spotty around that too.
I'm also really confused as to why this is happening to start with. It seems he's handling the Vetsulin better and better, we went from nadir within 4 hours to nadir around 6 hours and now he is coming back up from the nadir really slowly. We were at the end of an insulin bottle last week and I even wondered if anything was weird with what was left in the bottle, but switching to the new one hasn't really changed anything.
Thank you in advance for any advice!
My kitty has been on Vetsulin for about 6 months now. We went back and forth about switching him to Glargine with his vet a few months ago, but then paused that effort because we've been dealing with a number of health issues for multiple pets and humans in the household and it's been very hectic, not a good time to switch insulin and tweak dosages. I completely understand that Glargine is better and it is top of mind for me, we just have too much going on right now.
(Note the #s below are with a pet meter)
After several months of pre-shot numbers in the 300s, he has started having PMPS numbers below 200. What seems to be happening is that at +11.5 when we test him, his BG is still lowered by his AM shot and eventually goes back up within a few hours if we skip the dose, to end at his usual low 300s AMPS value.
We tried tweaking his dose a bit and went down from 2 to 1.5 for both shots. Surprisingly his AM cycle seems almost unchanged with 1.5U, but 1.5 is still too much for his PM cycle (the one time we tried giving 1.5 with a 199 PMPS he went down to 87 within 3 hours, although we managed to get it back up with a bit of high carb food).
At this point my initial thought was to try with keeping his 1.5U dose for the AM cycle and lower (perhaps 1U?) for the PM cycle. But, does it make any sense or are there any downsides with doing two different dosages for AM and PM?
I know our spreadsheet has a lot of gaps, but we both work full time and we test when we can.
I'm also really confused as to why this is happening to start with. It seems he's handling the Vetsulin better and better, we went from nadir within 4 hours to nadir around 6 hours and now he is coming back up from the nadir really slowly. We were at the end of an insulin bottle last week and I even wondered if anything was weird with what was left in the bottle, but switching to the new one hasn't really changed anything.
Thank you in advance for any advice!
