Dosage advice given for Bell

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Hi all, Bell (to my surprise) measured a 122 this morning. I'm currently stalling and going to test her again in 20-30 min, but would really appreciate some advice on whether or not to shoot. I'll be available all day to monitor her, if that makes a difference in the decision.

Thank you!
 
119, 25 minutes later. I am thinking of giving a half dose, but we'll wait here for another 5 minutes.
 
Measured her at 116 35 minutes after her normal AMPS. Went ahead and fed and just gave a token dose of ~0.1. Wasn’t comfortable doing the half dosage with her still dropping.
 
Hello again, I could use some advice on how to handle my PM shot tonight. After giving the token dose of ~0.1 units this morning, Bell threw up her food and her numbers dipped low throughout the morning. She hit a 47 at +5. Since that point they've been steadily increasing but are still in the green. After throwing up, she has not had much appetite at all. I've coaxed her into eating maybe 1/2 to 3/4 of a can of fancy feast all day. This seems to be a pattern, where as she gets into the lower numbers, she has no appetite and hides under the bed for most of the day. Once her numbers get above 200ish, she is back out and hungry and active.

I just measured her at 92 for her +9. I'm looking for advice on what to do for the PM shot. What number and dose would we be comfortable shooting? I am assuming i'll be able to get her to eat a little food, but it won't be as much as she normally eats.

Thank you for the help!
 
With the drop to 47, you want to reduce the dose. When following TR, if the numbers drop below 50, it means you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Also, if it's not too much trouble, could you note that you're following TR in your signature? You may want to consider posting on the Lantus board. It's busy there just like there's usually help available on Health except that there's greater expertise about Lantus on the insulin specific forum.
 
Done! Thank you.

I can ask this in the Lantus board if that is better, but I was trying to get a gauge of when it would be ok (based on the data I have with Bell) to shoot that 0.25 dose. For example, what if her PMPS is 120? I can see she's been on the rise this afternoon, so I'm guessing it would be ok, but I've read that new folks shouldn't shoot under 150/200, depending on the protocol they use.

I also find it strange that she dropped so low today with only a token dose in the morning. I'm sure that was, in part, due to the lack of food she had, but it did surprise me.
 
Just an update for anyone following: she was 132 15 minutes before the normal PM shot time and 133 at the PMPS. I went ahead and shot the 0.25 dose. Appreciate the help as always.

I’ll take future questions to the Lantus board (I feel like I’ve graduated :D). I hope they’re as kind as everyone on the Welcome board :bighug:. Thanks again, couldn’t have gotten this far with y’alls support.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top