Doogle acting weird

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
This past week Doogle has been acting really weird. Anytime his BG get into the 200s or 100s he wigs out! He runs and hides and acts like something has scarred him to death. But once he gets into thee 300s he is fine. I am refilling his Lantus today to see if that is it. But this literally just started happening this past week. I havent kept up with posting his numbers on the Lantus board because I just get to busy to get it done but his SS is updated. Anyone have any ideas on what is going on? This has NEVER happened with him since he started on Lantus and he started on it in June. I just hate to see my baby this way.

Thanks and Merry Christmas EVERYONE!!!
Donna
 
In early December, unless he was ill, it looks like you may have missed a dose reduction on the 5th, when he got below 50. In fact, looking over the past couple of months, I'm wondering if you've overshot his dose, because he's gotten below 50 mid-cycle on a number of occasions and you've either kept the dose stable or tried to increase it. If you give too much, in addition to risking hypo situations, you get wonky numbers.

Please go read over the Lantus Tight Regulation protocol again, to see what I mean.

Also, you have to give a dose decrease enough time to settle before changing back, too. (Patience grasshopper!). If he doesn't seem to hold reductions well, you may have to make them by doing skinny, or 0.25 units - very tiny increments and then wait for the New Dose Wonkiness to clear - 3-5 days for some cats.

And go ahead and post in the Lantus forum; your spreadsheet is up to date, so they'll be able to give it a thorough review.

The behavior may be because he doesn't feel well. Perhaps he dropped too fast, dropped to an unusual level for him, or he's sensitive to something in the Lantus.
 
The dose reduction was not done because I was shooting through the bounce that comes after. I know about holding reductions and doses and I am pretty sure this is not the problem. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this problem with Lantus. I had read that sometimes it can make cats twitchy or jittery and thinking maybe that was it.
 
Is this happening right after he gets his shot? Or a few hours later? Do you rotate shot location?

Lantus is acidic and is known to cause stinging in people. I wonder if Lantus is causing a stinging sensation that he notices when he is feeling better (at lower numbers). Or maybe it stings when you shoot at certain locations.
 
Donna & Doogle said:
The dose reduction was not done because I was shooting through the bounce that comes after. I know about holding reductions and doses and I am pretty sure this is not the problem. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this problem with Lantus. I had read that sometimes it can make cats twitchy or jittery and thinking maybe that was it.


OK, so you shot through the bounce - but doesn't he still get the reduction after you clear the bounce?
 
Does Doogle get any food during that time period when he's acting weird? It does seem odd. Let's see what happens with the new Lantus. I do hope he settles down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top