Doodle is vomiting mucus -& has feeding tube

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Doodle

Member Since 2009
Does anyone have any idea why Doodle would be vomiting mucus?
It doesn't seem normal to me - not that vomiting is really normal.

I'm taking him to the vet later but I'd like as many opinions as possible because the vets don't really know what to think.
(and that's not me bashing them - they will readily admit it)

He had a feeding tube placed a week and a half ago and surgery to remove a mass in his nasopharynx (due to crytococcosis) a week ago. He's not on antibiotics. And he became suddenly anemic after the surgery (though they don't think he bled much)
He hasn't been doing well ever since he came home - he only gets up to go to the litterbox.
He's sneezing a lot and the IM vet says it may be a URI or it may be die-off from the antifungal drug he is on.

He is taking reglan for nausea and also Lansoprazole - though he just threw up the latter.

I'm afraid he's going to throw up his feeding tube - and the mucus is freakin me out.
 
Oh I'm so sorry no answers here. This would scare me too. I want you to know I'm praying for you guys. Poor little Doodle Bug. Please keep us updated.
jeanne
 
Can you PM Dr. Lisa? She writes about Chase and that he vomitted with his feeding tube but that in never came up.

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=feedingtubes
"Chase did vomit many times with this tube in place but, fortunately, the tube never came up which can be a complication when feeding tubes are used in vomiting cats. "

Maybe she could shed more light on this.
 
hmmm not sure. a quick thought that popped into my pain riddled brain. this mucous could be draining from nasal passage for some reason and may not actually be going into stomach but could be accumulating in back of throat or so and then it comes up??? any food or fluid with the mucous?? so sorry things are not going as well as expected. YAMH
 
Michelle, can you call Jojo? It makes me so, so sad to hear he's not doing well - I love Mr. Doodles. :cry:
 
I initially wondered the same thing Dian. But the mucus is mixed with food - it's definitely vomit and there's quite a lot there.
I hate to be so pessimistic but I'm not sure he's gonna pull through this. He hasn't eaten on his own in over 2 weeks and now he's stopped drinking. He won't look at me...All he wants to do hide. :(

I also think he's got a slight yellow tinge to his skin.
The vet will do bloodwork tonight.

I'm scared and sad.
 
have you called U Florida and talked to the doctors there? maybe they'd have more ideas than your vet does (not sure if you're talking to regular vet or specialists).
will they put him on an antibiotic?
 
The stomach has a mucus coating to protect the lining from being digested. Perhaps it is oversecreting due to irritation form the meds? Are you doing anything like Pepcid? If not, and if vet is OK with it, maybe it would help.
 
Is he going to the vet today? You know what yellow tinge to the skin means, you have to get that checked immediately.

I'm sorry but I lost Misty right after her skin turned yellow from jaundice. I hope that Doodle can pull through, he's such an amazing little man.
 
Chris, I talked to the Internal Med vet at UF earlier today (and last night) as well as my regular vet.
They both just keep making this "iiiieeee...." sound and saying let's run more bloodwork.

Jennifer -- yes I know what the yellow means. :( I'm just not sure I'm not imagining it. I don't trust myself anymore. I'm so tired and looking out for so many things - maybe he's just pale and it's such a subtle tinge I'm not sure it's even there.
I'm supposed to take him in this evening - and not feed him until then.
The antifungal is hard on the liver and his liver is already inflamed - I think that's the concern.


BJM - He is on Lansoprazole (Prevacid) - but I just reduced the dose (as per IM) so maybe that has something to do with it.
 
When it happened to Misty I could see the yellow on her ears mainly. They were unmistakably yellow, she was an all grey kitty. It was 3 or 4 in the morning and she passed before I could get dressed to get her to the ER. It came on very quickly.
 
Oh Michelle this is so hard for you. I don't have any advise but I'm really glad you're getting Doodle seen today. Maybe the labs will help the vets figure out what's happening. Sending many prayers and healing vines for you and your little boy. He's a fighter that boy of yours. Tell him that we all love him and want him to get better.
 
Oh (((Michelle))) (((Doodle))), no advise and feel a little helpless, but sending you many hugs, vines, snowflakes and white light.

Come on Doodlebug, we iz all pulling for you!!
 
No advice,
But MANY MANY ((((((((MICHELLE & DOODLE)))))))))
Prayers and healing vines, you're both in my thoughts..hopefully some answers will come....
 
okay. his ears are peach colored. not yellow.
I always think of them as pink - but sometimes they are brighter/darker than others.
Maybe peach is normal. How insane is it that I don't even know what color is normal.

Vet said to stay calm and bring him in this evening as planned. I guess if she's not panicking it should make me feel better.


As for the not feeding him so his tummy could settle - His BG was 37 at +4.5 so I kinda had to give him something.
fingers crossed that it stays down.
 
Peach is good. You would know the yellow, it's not easy to mistake and Misty was grey.

I will be thinking of you both and sending tons of healing vibes and prayers.
 
Are his ears perhaps a bit pale? Maybe his PCV has fallen a bit again? Bear's ears were ghost white when he was very anemic. What about Doodle's gums? I assume the vet will recheck the PCV.

Will be thinking of you and (((((Doodle))))).
 
((( Michelle ))) I hope he's feeling better. And I hope YOU'RE feeling better. I'm going to go study all six feline ears in my house, I don't know what normal is for them, either. (You'd think all the time I spend staring at them I would know this.)
 
Michelle, I'm absolutely no help, but I'm sending tons of healing vines for Doodle and hugs for you. I hope the vet has an answer for you.

(((Michelle)))
 
Praying the can help him. Oh god Michelle my heart goes out to you. I know you must be exhausted. Sending lots of love and snow flakes to Doodle.
(((((((((((HUGS))))))))))))))))
 
sending prayers and positive vibes that they are gonna catch what's wrong and fix him for you.
(((Michelle)))
 
Please feel better soon Doodle. Praying that this is something easy and quick to recover from.
Thinking of you Michelle, you are an awesome mommy to your Doodle bug.
 
Michelle-

Gosh, I know how you are feeling. It's so HARD to get answers sometimes!!!
I hope that things are better by the time we hear from you again. I am praying for Doodle.
 
Sending a blizzard of pretty snowflakes and feel better and fast healing vines to Doodlebug.

(((Michelle))) we're with you.
 
Checking in one last time before heading off to bed. No news....I hope all is well. ((((Michelle & Doodle)))) blankets of snowflakes, acres of healing vines, mega volts of white lights all heading out to Doodle.
 
Oh, Michelle... I'm so sorry you're going through this. I know how frustrated and disappointed you must be feeling right now. Sending you and our wonderful Doodle hugs and blizzards of snowflakes. (((((Michelle))))) (((((Doodle)))))
 
We saw the vet. His liver is hanging in there. And he didn't get an anti-biotic because she doesn't think it would help.
She thinks this is from the crypto. Basically die-off and inflammation. (and no one really knows how wide spread this is)
His breathing still sounds bad - and his nose has changed shape -- it's swollen and widened... with a ridge across the end.
This has just happened in the last week and a half.
What she said was, this is pretty much a race between the anti-fungal and the fungus.
She said she's hoping that this is short lived and wants to give him a day or two without adding another med that his body has to process.

Unfortuantely tonight he threw-up after eating :( and had very gassy mucus filled poop.
My poor little guy.
 
Re: Doodle

so he's back home with you and you're to bring him back in a few days?
praying for strength for you and doodle. (((Michelle))) (((Doodle)))
 
Re: Doodle

chriscleo said:
so he's back home with you and you're to bring him back in a few days?
praying for strength for you and doodle. (((Michelle))) (((Doodle)))

yes. exactly Chris. We'll take him back probably this weekend -- or sooner if anything changes or he keeps vomiting.
 
((((((((( Michellle and Doodle ))))))))))))))))))

rooting for the anti fungal agent !

continuing to send healing wishes for Doodle bug.

We heart Doodle !
 
OK good. Doodle is home. I like to hear that news because I feel like he's going to get some home healing vibes.
I am sure that at the vet, even with care and meds and nice people, there's just no place like home.

So welcome home, Doodle. You snuggle into your stuff, and let's get some serious healing happening.

Michelle, I am sure you are terribly worried, but Doodle's with you and I truly believe in that power of bonding.
I am sure that Doodle will be able to draw from you, being home.

Let's hope you get a big jump on the healing - pats and scratches for Doodle.
 
I'm glad that Doodle was able to come home with you last night. Still keeping you guys in my prayers and thoughts.
(((Michelle & Doodle)))
 
((Michelle)) and ((Doodle)) we are all rooting for you to get better soon. You have us all worried, but we have faith in you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top