Don't Really Feel Welcome In Lantus Land Anymore

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
It seems as though when I ask for advice I get quite a few people viewing my question, but rarely does anyone give me feedback. Carla is the only one who has stayed with me on this journey (here on this site) on a regular basis since I came back when Chase came out of remission. Maybe it's because I don't give feedback for anyone else? I work full time and it's all I can do to get on here and post Chase's numbers. I have chronic pain issues and when I get home from work and sitting at a computer for 8 hours a day, I am completely drained and rarely even turn my computer on. Oh wait... it's probably because I'm not new and the experts here focus on helping only people who are brand new to this? I don't know. Is there a special thread where people who aren't brand new can post and get input?

I keep up with his SS and I am not a pro at this. I guess until I get his tooth pulled that I shouldn't ask for anymore advice. Yes... he is on a very low dose of insulin. But he bounces regularly. If a tooth extraction is my only choice to try and get him under control, then that's what I'll do as soon as I can save up the money. Until then, I'll just keep to myself and do the best I can. I'll continue to log his numbers here just as a way of tracking.

Thanks to anyone who ever gave me advice, here. You helped me save his life. I guess I'm on my own to keep it saved. Best of luck to all of you.
 
I confess I'm one of those people who has popped in without commenting. I had nothing to add or ideas to help with the mini bounces. But 0.1u does seem to be a good dose.

As for the dental, were you quoted $700-1000 for a cleaning? That seems so high. My civvie Precious recently had his upper right canine tooth pulled because it was dead and loose. It turned out he had an abscess/infection all the way into his sinus cavity. :( Have you checked if it is sensitive? I noticed every time he rubbed his mouth on my finger, he would pull back and lick his lips if he rubbed on that bad area. It was only $180, including x-rays.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sandi, I'm sorry you feel like you aren't getting enough feedback. No one wants you to feel that way. I will admit I haven't been on much lately - my life has gotten pretty busy, so I am one of those that views without commenting a lot. :oops: We all know you are doing the best you can. Chase is lucky to have such a loving, dedicated mamabean.

I think his numbers look pretty good. Maybe the reason you aren't getting feedback is it's hard to say what more you can do at this point that you aren't already doing.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sandi, I'm just posting because I think I've popped in a few times on your posts without replying...I'm really new :D, but I saw Chase's bouncing numbers, and was trying to get a bit more educated on how different kitties handle their doses. I crash Girlie's posts too because of the high numbers, and to see the feedback. I know it's hard when you feel you want feedback but other posts get more attention for whatever reason, but please don't take it personally. I like to give advice when I know (or think I know) what I am talking about...there maybe a few out there like me who don't feel comfortable (yet :rolleyes:).
 
Hi Sandi, I'm just posting because I think I've popped in a few times on your posts without replying...I'm really new :D, but I saw Chase's bouncing numbers, and was trying to get a bit more educated on how different kitties handle their doses. I crash Girlie's posts too because of the high numbers, and to see the feedback. I know it's hard when you feel you want feedback but other posts get more attention for whatever reason, but please don't take it personally. I like to give advice when I know (or think I know) what I am talking about...there maybe a few out there like me who don't feel comfortable (yet :rolleyes:).
I'm the same way. I read every post to gain knowledge, but rarely comment because I'm still learning and don't feel ready to give advice yet. I don't know what's going on with my own kitty, let alone someone else's. Lol:nailbiting::p
Hope you decide to stay and keep posting.
 
It seems as though when I ask for advice I get quite a few people viewing my question, but rarely does anyone give me feedback. Carla is the only one who has stayed with me on this journey (here on this site) on a regular basis since I came back when Chase came out of remission. Maybe it's because I don't give feedback for anyone else? I work full time and it's all I can do to get on here and post Chase's numbers. I have chronic pain issues and when I get home from work and sitting at a computer for 8 hours a day, I am completely drained and rarely even turn my computer on. Oh wait... it's probably because I'm not new and the experts here focus on helping only people who are brand new to this? I don't know. Is there a special thread where people who aren't brand new can post and get input?

I keep up with his SS and I am not a pro at this. I guess until I get his tooth pulled that I shouldn't ask for anymore advice. Yes... he is on a very low dose of insulin. But he bounces regularly. If a tooth extraction is my only choice to try and get him under control, then that's what I'll do as soon as I can save up the money. Until then, I'll just keep to myself and do the best I can. I'll continue to log his numbers here just as a way of tracking.

Thanks to anyone who ever gave me advice, here. You helped me save his life. I guess I'm on my own to keep it saved. Best of luck to all of you.
I look at many posts but don't comment much on lantus posts because I only have experience with vetsulin, so I only advise about in and out dosing. In happy to give my two cents on other questions or health concerns I have more experience with. If you have any specific questions maybe put a question mark in the upper left and say dosing advice needed to get more eyes on it.
 
I confess I'm one of those people who has popped in without commenting. I had nothing to add or ideas to help with the mini bounces. But 0.1u does seem to be a good dose.

As for the dental, were you quoted $700-1000 for a cleaning? That seems so high. My civvie Precious recently had his upper right canine tooth pulled because it was dead and loose. It turned out he had an abscess/infection all the way into his sinus cavity. :( Have you checked if it is sensitive? I noticed every time he rubbed his mouth on my finger, he would pull back and lick his lips if he rubbed on that bad area. It was only $180, including x-rays.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
My cat just had an extraction and it was about $700
 
Sandy, I know it's frustrating to post and not get a lot of feedback, but I hope you will keep posting. I know there are a lot of new people here who don't give advice. Sometimes a post can get overlooked because there are so many posts here. Maybe try putting your question in the subject line to get more eyes on it. I think it is hard to give advice sometimes when Chase is doing as well as he is. I hope you can get his tooth taken care of eventually. If there is an underlying infection that will effect his numbers. Have you tried getting prices from other vets? :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sandi, since Smokey crossed and I'm helping my dad, I'm not on regularly. I don't comment on dosing anymore unless it seems to be an excessive amount for a new person just starting the journey. I have to say since I don't do it anymore I've lost the knack for it.

Your never on your own. It might take some time for people to answer as it is summer and people are away or out if the weather is nice. People are here.
 
Hey,
sorry you are feeling that way. I had days like that too and I even sometimes get a little down when I see how many comments get
posted on each of us as we have one cross the bridge. There were "only" 69 replies on Shadow's memorial condo.
I have to remind myself that I am only looking for something to stew about. It's not a contest.
And sometimes the bean just happens to thank each and every post which can make a condo really long.

I showed up in 2012 and I posted on everyone's condo almost daily for 2 1/2 years in LL . Someone had told me if you want posts, you have to give support, so I made sure I did. Back in 2012/13 , we had so many condos that they went to the second page.
However, it's not required.



You can also tag certain people that you'd like help.... or input or just support.

Someone just did that 2 weeks ago.... so now I am following her and she tags me each day .
She wanted a mentor.

I'm willing to do that for anyone who asks.

I too have been lurking more as of late.... and if the question has already been answered, I usually try not to repeat it unless I have some other point to add.
And I'm here because I want to be, I want to pay it forward, but now that I don't have an FD cat.
I sometimes just do other things.


Now that you've spoken up, I'm sure a lot of us will make a little more effort.
Everyone gets inwardly focused at times and we've lost so very many LL kitties in my few years here.
There are only very few that were here when I got here, so many just leave when it's over.
And then there are the handful of us who remain and help sporadically.
 
Guilty as charged here too.....I always read your posts but rarely comment for pretty much the same reasons others have said.

I also totally understand how you feel....for the first 3 years I posted like crazy to everybody, but with my mom's declining health and due to the time I take to work with DCIN, I don't have the time I once did but I still try to keep in touch by reading. I don't post as much anymore either although I've been trying to do better, but I don't get many replies either.....but with China, her numbers are so good there's really not much to say I guess

I do hope you'll continue to post though....We don't want to lose one of the family!!
 
I can so relate to not wanting to get on the computer after being in front of one all day. If it were not for my tablet (which I can sit on the couch and relax with) I wouldn't post nearly as much as I do and that isn't very much. I do try and check first thing in the morning to make sure no one is in trouble, because I am usually the first condo, followed shortly there after by Carla.

I can't give dosing advise and unless I am following one person/cat closely I am usually not familiar enough to add much advise, only encouragement.

Please don't take any of it too personal because it is not. :bighug: Bump up your own post and add a ? to the subject line. ;) :kiss:
 
I think we've all felt what you are feeling at one time or another...just know you are not alone here. In fact, I've admired Chases ss with envy...as a high dose kitty my protocol is a wee bit different and I'm only 4 mos in to this complex journey. I am no way qualified to give any advice...I am working on a few things with Jimmy including weight loss - and that requires a lot of fat to prevent constipation...imagine that! Lol Every day I am walking a fine line with him. So yes - I'm guilty of often being self absorbed with Jimmy's needs and can not commit to commenting on others...but you voicing this concern has made me more aware. So thank you for posting and keep posting so I can continue to drool over Chases ss.:cat:
 
Wow... thanks SO much, to all of you. I am very touched. I know I'm not unique and I'm very grateful that is Chase is on such a low dose. I think I'm just exhausted from doing all that I can, by myself, and nothing really changing for him.

I think my next step is to get him in for an x-ray. I just moved and am at a new job where I took a pretty big pay cut, so it's very tough. I won't give up, though.

Love to ALL of you. :bighug:
 
We're all pulling for you and sending our best wishes that Chase gets back into remission soon!
 
Wow... thanks SO much, to all of you. I am very touched. I know I'm not unique and I'm very grateful that is Chase is on such a low dose. I think I'm just exhausted from doing all that I can, by myself, and nothing really changing for him.

I think my next step is to get him in for an x-ray. I just moved and am at a new job where I took a pretty big pay cut, so it's very tough. I won't give up, though.

Love to ALL of you. :bighug:
You do what you can do. Keep us posted as to what his X-ray reveals.

I wonder does anyone ever get a second opinion on these types of dental surgeries. Esp ones that require anesthesia.
 
Guilty as charged. Some times we get wrapped up in our own lives we forget to take a moment for someone else. I do read a ton of posts but do not reply or comment. Life gets busy. I at least try to like the comments so someone knows someone has read it. I feel most days like Im dancing in 2 different sized shoes. Big hugs, don't be discouraged. We are still just a click away. :)
 
Sandi --

I know it can be frustrating if you have a question and it doesn't feel like you're getting the input you want or need. Like many others, I'm not on the Board as much as I was when Gabby was still alive and when the demands of my job were less. (When Gabby was on this side of the Bridge, I would leave work promptly versus now where I may be in the office for far longer.) In addition, the Board is in constant flux. There are always new people and newer members may not feel they have the knowledge base yet to offer suggestions.

One thing Ive seen over the years is it can be helpful to visit other cat's "condos" and drop a note of support or lend a hand. The more you exchange information with others, the greater the probability they will respond to your questions or simply stop by to catch up. If you're not already doing so, if you have a question, make sure you let us know with something in your subject line. For those of us who have very limited time, if they are anything like me, I scan the board to see if someone has a question or if there's an emergency.

The only words of "wisdom" I can offer is that Chase hasn't been back on insulin all that long. On the one hand, you don't have much room to fatten the dose. On the other, it may be that a bit more insulin is needed but if you are at work, if it were me, I'd be nervous about increasing when you're already seeing nadirs in the 50s.

 
Another "mea culpa" here! Life is busy, even for a senior. The board is moving ahead like a freight train. Rusty is hanging in on a tiny dose and I rarely have questions--only stories. In most of my posts I try to bring some lightheartedness to the fd experience: the full-moon parties; the food for the OTJ parties; the Green Lagoon, etc. Some days I try to help with problems and questions, but I am not competent to comment on the numerous health issues that often accompany diabetes.
I hope you'll be able to get Chase's dental problems taken care of. I hope you'll stay with us on the board.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Sandi,

I'm new here, so can't offer advice, but I will try to check in and offer support when I see your condos. I enjoy getting feedback from anyone, and there are a few who reach out to me every day (Carla among them :):bighug:).
Chase's spreadsheet shows and amazing journey! :cool: You and he are very lucky that he has enjoyed some OTJ time. :)
 
Oh Sandi, I am so sorry that you are feeling ignored. I have to say, that I have not been on as much as I used to be because of life and my 90 year old mom requiring more attention during the day and just being exhausted myself.

If you ask a question and you don't get any responses, make sure you have a ? mark in your title which will get more attention. There are many of the veterans here that only look for 911 and ? marks to respond.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I, too, am guilty of reading through posts but not saying anything, either because I don't have answers or because others seem to have it well in control and I don't want to butt in, and I almost never feel capable or comfortable giving dosing advise. I will try to be better about just saying something supportive, if I can't add anything else to the problem at hand.

Please don't leave, Sandi! We are all family here, and we will suffer from your loss if you go!

hugs from kitten.jpg


BIG HUGS!!!
 
I lurk a lot on the lantus condos. I am only use to higher dosing and am so scared to suggest the wrong thing. I would never get over it if I caused anyone's kitty harm or suffering. I am also use to the loose guidelines of prozinc so sometimes my thoughts are something that completely bucks the protocols here. I try not to post advice that goes to far outside the protocols because I don't want to get in trouble!
I suffer from chronic pain and have been on the forum only a little bit lately due to a severe flare or possible reinjury.
I only have about 4 months of lantus experience but I'll try to help where I can. Might just be a cheerleader but it's nice to know you have support!
I hope you can get the x-rays and extraction done if needed and maybe another otj period?!
 
It seems as though when I ask for advice I get quite a few people viewing my question, but rarely does anyone give me feedback. Carla is the only one who has stayed with me on this journey (here on this site) on a regular basis since I came back when Chase came out of remission. Maybe it's because I don't give feedback for anyone else? I work full time and it's all I can do to get on here and post Chase's numbers. I have chronic pain issues and when I get home from work and sitting at a computer for 8 hours a day, I am completely drained and rarely even turn my computer on. Oh wait... it's probably because I'm not new and the experts here focus on helping only people who are brand new to this? I don't know. Is there a special thread where people who aren't brand new can post and get input?

I keep up with his SS and I am not a pro at this. I guess until I get his tooth pulled that I shouldn't ask for anymore advice. Yes... he is on a very low dose of insulin. But he bounces regularly. If a tooth extraction is my only choice to try and get him under control, then that's what I'll do as soon as I can save up the money. Until then, I'll just keep to myself and do the best I can. I'll continue to log his numbers here just as a way of tracking.

Thanks to anyone who ever gave me advice, here. You helped me save his life. I guess I'm on my own to keep it saved. Best of luck to all of you.

Sandi, I am so sorry you're feeling alone in all of this. I sometimes read posts, but I am so unsure of myself I don't know what advice to offer. And I definitely can't give dosing advice. Also sometimes I've commented on something and it's been misunderstood so I second guess myself a lot. And sometimes I don't like to clutter up a condo without really giving help. I'll try to be better just checking in to say hello though.

What is causing your chronic pain, if you don't mind my asking? Hugs to you!
 
So sorry you feel this way, Sandi! I hope you can now see that despite the seeming silence, there are lots of people out here pulling for you and Chase, it's just that a LOT of us don't really know what to advise. I work full-time and have a bunch of health problems myself, so I can't spend as much time in L&L Land as I'd like, and often feel like I only have time to post for help or a question, and rarely time to post on other kitties' condos.

I agree with the advice of tagging some people who have been helpful when you really need some feedback or even just a friendly voice to remind you you're not in this alone. Sometimes it just takes one person tagged to add a comment, and then the condo can take off with more input. Also adding a "?" to your post title can help catch attention.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top