Don't know whether to give insulin this a.m. or not

Status
Not open for further replies.

sabastian

New Member
I had quite a scare yesterday with Sabastian. He is on Humilin N, and has been for 8 yrs. His dosage was adjusted by the vet about a month ago because he had a hypoglycemic episode. He is suppose to be on 3 units a.m. and 3 units p.m. He ate as normal, and I gave him his shot as normal. Around 12 noon he started walking in circles, sniffing like he was confused. I tested his bg and it was 12!!! I was so scared. Gave him honey/wet food, and it started coming back up to 39, then last night at 10 it was 139. Now this morning at 8 am it was 219. I don't know whether to give him any, or decrease the dose. My vet seem to not know what to do. I need to find a new vet that knows about this. Anyone have any suggestions on whether I should give him insulin or not.?
 
I'm glad everything turned out well and that you were there to catch Sabastian.

Decreasing the dose sounds like a great idea. Just make sure he is eating well before giving him insulin.
 
No, I didn't test his bg yesterday. :( I usually don't unless he seems like he is having a problem. He has been on this new dose of Humilin N since 6-21 and has been fine. The only thing I can think of that might of happened, is...A. he didn't eat enough, or B. I gave the previous night dose at 10 instead of 745 like I usually do, then gave the a.m. dose at 830 am. His reaction happened around noon. Now it is 219 this morning, and I am scared to give him any insulin.
 
When you get a lower than normal preshot (especially on N), conventional wisdom is to reduce the dosage.

When you have a cat go into hypo range (or serious hypo range as your did) conventional wisdom is that that the cat may be extra sensitive to insulin.

If this were my cat, I believe I might hold the am shot, and take another look see at his BG level before the pm shot. He may have a pancreas that is trying to work.

If I did give him a shot, it would be highly reduced, like 1U, and I would be testing him every three huors or so.
 
sabastian said:
What is a lower than normal level preshot? What bg range am I to go on?

Sabastian's normal preshot. But then it sounds like you might not know what that is. Hence, my suggestions for what I would do if he were my cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top