Squalliesmom
Member Since 2015
Squallie's BG has dropped to 65. I don't know what's the best thing to do. Should I just monitor him or should I start steering him with food? Or am I getting upset over nothing?
I'm trying, Mogs!Hi Lucy, he's above the human hypo threshold quoted by FDMB for human meters, so breathe for a minute.
Just looking at Squallie's spreadsheet. BRB ...
Mogs
.
It was time for his mid-day meal and he seemed very hungry, so I went ahead and gave him 1.5 oz of FF Classic. He went around all the other kitties dishes and stole mouthfuls of theirs, too. I'm getting ready to test him again in just a few minutes, will get back with his #s.Then I think you can breathe, Lucy. We would expect him to start back up. I'd just keep offering a few teaspoons of food once in a while, testing every 30-45 minutes until you have three rising numbers. Then you can really relax.
Thank you for putting that up here! When I'm flustered I can't focus on anything else, and I'm nowhere near that clear and concise even at the best of times! I really appreciate your help. *drawing a deep breath*Last night - skipped dose
AMPS - 429
+2 - 324
+4 - 151
+6 - 65 followed by test 20 minutes later at 64
.
Okay. Thanks so much for your help! I'll come back and post his numbers her when I test him again.A half hour should be fine.
That's a classic response when blood sugar is going low. You did really well to catch the low, Lucy. FWIW, low numbers scare me silly, too.It was time for his mid-day meal and he seemed very hungry, so I went ahead and gave him 1.5 oz of FF Classic. He went around all the other kitties dishes and stole mouthfuls of theirs, too.

It's what I used to do when Saoirse was running low. I'd be so fretty that I wouldn't be able to cope with going between the thread and the spreadsheet. I also recorded what I fed alongside the tests as I went along. Especially with the PTSD, my brain shuts down at the slightest hint of something stressful or worrying so it was the only way I could manage to keep track of how things were going.Thank you for putting that up here!
It's a great method to keep everything straight, I'll try it next time I panic (because I know I will again at some point!)It's what I used to do when Saoirse was running low. I'd be so fretty that I wouldn't be able to cope with going between the thread and the spreadsheet. I also recorded what I fed alongside the tests as I went along. Especially with the PTSD, my brain shuts down at the slightest hint of something stressful or worrying so it was the only way I could manage to keep track of how things were going.
.
hat's a classic response when blood sugar is going low. You did really well to catch the low, Lucy. FWIW, low numbers scare me silly, too.![]()


Glad to see Squallie's on the rise, Lucy.
Be sure to ask for help if you need it at PMPS. I wont' be around later (not feeling very clever at all) but there should be members from your
side of the pond around to help. Ya done good, girl.![]()
When you get a chance, Lucy, can you go back to the thread title and take down the 911 icon (assuming that all is hunky dory with you two now)
Glad she's better, hope she's well soon. So hard to watch our beloved babies not feeling well! And you, how is Saoirse's Mom doing?Saoirse's a little better tonight, Lucy. Thank you for asking after her. I've been giving her a tiny dose of bupe once a day over the past few days and I think it may be calming things down a bit. Her coat feels a little better tonight, too.