Don’t fall over....

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi kids:

Don’t fall over, it’s long lost Donna and Asher. We have been super busy here with work and I leave for the folk fest in 2 days and will be away for 9....so it’s been a little hectic to say the least. Tom will be here on kitty duty when I am gone.

Anywho, things seem to be doing well, the kitties are good and Asher seems to be regulated. Today tho, he nadired late and at +12 we are still at 92. So... the schedule will get pushed back further. Yesterday we had to push his shot back in the evening too due to low numbers. And he ate like a pig today so I doubt this low numbers thing is food related.

Do you think we need a dose reduction? We have been at 3.1 for awhile. I would just hate to see any 300s come back into the picture. Any suggestions warmly accepted. Spreadsheet is current.
 
So glad to hear from you and for the Asher update. Yay for very nice #'s! So glad you've got Asher regulated after the winding path you two have been on to get there. I don't have any great advice except like you suggested back the dose down maybe a smidge if he continues with the long duration. He seems to really like 3.1u though, so who knows if the last couple days have been a fluke. Asher certainly likes to still keep you on your toes even now. Have fun at the folk fest!
 
+11 83
+12 92
+13 104

I don’t think I can shoot into a 104 can I? I just had to feed them, couldn’t hold off any longer. There was gonna be hell to pay if I didn’t.

So, I guess I just shoot a token dose tonight?
 
I wouldn't shoot into a 104. I know what it's like when they are wanting to eat....you can't hold off for a long time with hungry kitties begging! The food might cause BG to go higher...or maybe you will get lucky & he'll go lower which I believe means his pancreas is working! Hopefully someone will come along that can help with the dose.
 
I am really thinking I need to give a token dose and I am thinking about 1 unit maybe.
He’s really wound up and hungry tonight, he asked for more food and we gave another 1/4 can. Now there is lots of “talking" going on.
Never a dull moment here at the Dutch Ghetto :)
 
Nice Asher is doing so well.

I wish I could help, you will need to shoot a reduced dose for sure. I would not shoot 1 unit into a 104 bg, but since Harley was such a low dose kitty I have never been able to wrap my brain around the high doses on the low PS's. I don't think I would shoot a full unit until he was over 160 you've done that before I think. Go back and look at what doses you have shot in the past on similar bg's and the results that you have gotten with it and decide from that.

Good luck and don't forget to give Arlo a big hug from me, I'm sure he'll remember me from the 70's. :lol:
 
I did shoot 1 unit already Robin :( but don’t worry too much, I will test him overnight to be safe.
We have shot 2 units into a similar number (I think it was a 109) so I felt safe with 1. He also ate all his food, polished off what was left of his brother’s, then asked for even more so we gave him another 1/4 can. So I am hoping I don’t see a 400 tomorrow, but we made the best decision we could tonight.

Is this a sign he needs a dose reduction or just a fluke?
 
Personally I do think he is asking for a dose reduction.

Maybe it's time to start backing down slowely, just like you increased slowely.

Way to go Asher. Have a great time at the fest. Please keep us updated.
 
Nice to hear that he is doing so well. Whether it is a fluke or suggests the need of a dose reduction is certainly hard to say. I guess the best answer is to see if it continues.
Enjoy the folk fest. I regularly go to the Clearwater Hudson River Revival and it s always great fun. I have thought about volunteering but these old bones protest. Fingers crossed for good weather.
 
Very nice! He is tricky, isn't he, I can see you have several nice blue PSs or blue +11s lately, but it's not every cycle. So I can see your dilemma - you want to lower on the good cycles, but not on the cycles that aren't as good. Where's that crystal ball when you need it?

I would probably experiment with 3u and see how he does. If the blues & greens go away then I would raise back up right away. You have seen enough PSs though that are borderline around 150 or lower that it seems worth a try to me.

I would also try to get in more tests around +4 - +7. Could be he is getting better nadirs than you realize, or could be he is more of a shallow curve kitty, and just getting a nice surf. Either way I think it's good news!!!
 
Hi DOnna,
Sounds like Asher is doing wonderful!
I am so happy for you both!
Keep up the good work Asher!
and if you do reduce and after one day the numbers go up I would increase right away

when I had to start reducing for Shakes as soon as I did his numbers went right back up

Good Luck! We will keep everything crossed over here for you both!

Denise and Shakes
 
Hiya kids:
Just a morning update-the mystery continues....
Last night I shot a reduced dose, 1 unit, real late, like 2 hours late.

Overnight +6.5 273
Overnight +9.5 274
Overnight +10 254

So, he didn’t go real high on a ton less insulin which is great, but I am confused he went down 20 points this morning so I am gonna wait and test again. Could be within meter 20%. I was gonna shoot early to try and avoid a high amps. Was gonna try 3 units for a couple of days. And the troops are hollerin’ for food already. So I am gonna have to play this morning by ear. I guess I’ll test once more and go for it.
 
Went back up to 263 so I guess it’s just meter variance. We shot 3.0 this morning so we’ll see how it goes.
Good day and good numbers to all!!!
~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top