R
rbrumbaugh82
Okay everyone, I hope none of you get upset because I went against some protocols on here but I did it because it was what my gut finally told me to do and I wasn't satisfied until I did it. This morning I took his preshot and it was 450. I initially was going to give him 2 units but somehow I missed his skin because it shot into his fur. So I felt like I didn't get any into him so I went and drawed 1.5 units out and gave him a shot. At +4 hours later I checked his numbers and he actually went up to 455 so I decided to do what I wanted to do and that was to give him 5 units. That is on top of the 1.5 so in total in those 4 hours he got 6.5 units of insulin. As I noticed is that he has went down all day long and at the end of the day he ends up at 192. That is what happened the time before when he was getting 5 units. I am thinking that he needs a higher dose and 6 units may be what he needs right now. I did not give him any insulin tonight because he was under 200 and I won't be up +4 or more hours tonight so I didn't want to worry about giving him just 1 unit and he dropping too low. Or do you guys think he should get some sort of insulin tonight?