Does This Seem Normal?..

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
Todd was 297 this morning. I was out all day at work and when I came home I fed him, then had to leave again for a couple hours. I went to do Todd's PMPS and it was 86... lower than normal, he's usually in the 100's or 200's. He ate, I waited about 15 minutes, check his BG again and it was 77. he ate some more then I rechecked 15 minutes later and it was 71.

In about a half an hour he's gone 86, 77, to 71 while eating. I even gave him a couple of treats. He's acting totally normal.. but I was worried. Does this happen?.. that the numbers continue going down like that.. *Edit 79 now. Still seems fine. No signs of distress or anything. Gave him some Bonito flakes, he ate them.

I'm probably gonna skip giving his insulin tonight, because this seems odd to me.

Thoughts?

Thank you!
Sarah
 
Just some support, I think I would have skipped too. Is there any way you can get any midcycle tests? Lantus is based on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and you have no infor on when that is. Your high numbers may have been bounces because he goes low at nadir. The dosing advisors will really need to see more numbers.
 
Those numbers are still within the normal ranges, but it looks like a late nadir.

The dosing experts should be along shortly to see your post. I agree it looks like the 297 could have been a bounce from those green numbers.

The fact he kept dropping after feeding him and not seeing a food spike is a concern.

You also might want to review...
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=39309
 
Hey Sarah!

I have to agree with what Ann said. There's no way to assess what's going on without some spot checks. I do think there's a good chance that there are some greens happening but you don't know if Todd has earned a dose reduction and/or if he's bouncing.

I also think what you are viewing as odd jumps are really more attributable to meter variance. The numbers from yesterday's PMPS look more like surfing to me. Remember, there's 10 - 20% meter variance in each test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top