Does Snicker still need insuline?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimouette

Member Since 2012
Hi guys,

I'm, once again, helping a fellow french speaker with her diabetic kitty. The cat has been on Caninsulin since January 18th. Eversince we put the him on a low carb high quality canned food (Terra Faelis Chicken/pumpkin), he's doing much better.
Since the owner does not have a lot of experience with small dosage of insuline I asked her to not shoot if preshot is under 150. Looking at Snicker's spreadsheet, you will notice that all his tests results are now blue, so I am wondering if we should just put the insuline aside as long as he doesnt go over 150, or if we MUST make him reach green values to make sure the remission is "real".

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1_gsiFJXSdL0b3xlp8u6yxUBXLwqcai0JeK5ePagcMb4/edit#gid=0

It's the first time that I help someone and cant quite figure out if the remission is occuring or not, so I would need your help on this one!

Thanks in advance!
Kim
 
original-471075-2.jpg
 
@kimouette

Hi Kim, lovely to see you!

And how wonderful you are to be helping someone else again with their kitty. :bighug:

Are these numbers from a human meter? If so they are toward the higher end of the normal range. If it's a pet meter then the numbers are probably in the middle of the normal range.
If a human meter, then I know there are those that prefer to see a kitty in slightly lower numbers if possible before stopping insulin, but those numbers look very good to me! And with Caninsulin it can be very difficult to give insulin at low numbers.

After 14 days in normal numbers we'd generally say that a cat is in remission. And almost all of the numbers on the SS are 'normal' numbers.
It is the case that some cats naturally run a little higher or lower than the perceived normal range.

Incidentally, I've had to settle for similar numbers with Bertie (even slightly higher than Snickers is seeing at times) because if I give any insulin at those numbers he drops too low.

You may well find that Snickers' numbers just come down a bit lower on their own over time, that happens a lot.
But I would suggest that Snickers' human continues to test periodically just to keep a check on those numbers, and then any rise in numbers can be dealt with promptly.

Keeping fingers, paws, and everything else crossed that Snickers continues to stay in lovely numbers.
Great job, Kim!
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif
c23_rah.gif


Eliz x
 
Hi Elizabeth and thank you so much for your answer!
These numbers are indeed from a human meter (Bayer Contour).
I will do as you suggested (will wait to see, keep testing and not shoot unless the numbers get higher). That is actually what I was hoping to read! Otherwise we would be taking some risks and would probably have to deal with inconsistent dosage since Snicker's human doesn't have lots of experience with dosage under 0.5U.

Again, thanks for your help!
Kim, Snickers and Sarah
:D:):cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top