Does a diabetic cat need his urine monitored? Why?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Scarlette & Fluffy, May 3, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scarlette & Fluffy

Scarlette & Fluffy Member

I am new at treating my recently diagnosed cat for diabetes. Is it necessary to monitor is urine for keytones? Why? TYIA

2. Suzanne & Darcy

Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

We should really put this with your main post for today, but diabetic cats can develop ketones in their blood (which will eventually make it into their urine.) cats with excessive ketones are at risk of developing a condition called diabetic ketoacidosis, (DKA) which is a life- threatening condition that requires hospitalization and intensive care. This is why many people get test strips to test their cat’s urine for ketones. Personally, I got a blood meter to test for ketones because I found it much easier as the blood is drawn in the same way as it is for a blood glucose test (from the outer edge of the ear). I purchased the Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter.

Scarlette & Fluffy likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Suzanne gave you the short answer, the longer answer if you want more detail is in this posts: Ketones, Ketoacidosis and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones

DKA is life threatening and expensive to treat. Monitoring ketones daily, especially when new to insulin and in higher numbers, can give you advanced warning and help you prevent things from getting worse. Think of ketones testing as insurance.

4. Scarlette & Fluffy

My dad had a Nova Max Plus meter which I recently found. What strips for urine do I buy for it?

5. Suzanne & Darcy