Since you're following SLGS yes, Sissy's earned another reduction.You may have to increase again later but that's okay.
Yes.I read it over again and thought that was the right thing to do so I did reduce to 1 unit. I now hold that for a week no matter if her numbers get high again, right?
If you need to go back up, the numbers will tell you. Cats can go into remission with SLGS. When you start getting low blues AMPS and PMPS numbers (and Sissy is not there yet), the number at which a reduction is taken can be lowered slightly, then slightly lower (if I understand it all correctly).Won't that make her go backwards to higher numbers, where we were before the increase to 1.5? I know that with SLGS the goal is flat numbers greater than 90...but if you hope for remission and those number goals are between 50 and 80...then isn't trying to stay above 90 counterproductive?
Yes.
If you need to go back up, the numbers will tell you. Cats can go into remission with SLGS. When you start getting low blues AMPS and PMPS numbers (and Sissy is not there yet), the number at which a reduction is taken can be lowered slightly, then slightly lower (if I understand it all correctly).
Do you have any data before the 27th of August?
Hi Mandy. I see the full ss. I didn’t see your post on Lantus. I see your shot 1 unit. Let’s see if the reduction holds. The old depot might have been in play but it’s worth a try. I would not wait a whole week to go back up though if this is from the depot.
"I read over the SLGS again and I see that I reduce. But I have a question about it, not being argumentative, just don't understand. Won't that make her go backwards to higher numbers, where we were before the increase to 1.5? I know that with SLGS the goal is flat numbers greater than 90...but if you hope for remission and those number goals are between 50 and 80...then isn't trying to stay above 90 counterproductive?"
Good. It’s very possible the depot from the previous dose was in play. Back to back reductions usually don’t work but since you reduced Tonight I would see what happens.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-7-sissy-amps-223-2-79-4-80-another-reduction.234892/
Linking the lantus post - which has very similar replies![]()
Wendy said to reduce and I would have as well. A failed reduction is no big deal. But if his pancreas is starting to work he could quickly move down the ladder.
That's a good question! From my understanding, SLGS was made by members here on FDMB. Tight Regulation (TR) protocol was made by Roomp and Rand.
I am going to guess that SLGS was designed with a reduction below 90 because 1) dry food is often involved 2) some members do not have ability to test enough to allow a cat to drop lower than 90, so ie safety reasons. When we allow a cat to drop to lower, potentially heading to hypo numbers, we need to be proactive, testing more (like TR requires) and using appropriate food to intervene (wet). While SLGS doesn't eliminate the risk of going into hypo territory, I do believe it reduces the commonness of it, because we don't become complacent and allow them to drop too far. SLGS seems to be a bit of a safety net for people who don't have the schedule/ability to deal with lower numbers on a regular basis. Not saying it doesn't happen ... I spent plenty of sleepness nights up with low numbers on SLGS. But I spent way more nights up when we switched to TR.
Is there a reason you'd like to stay with SLGS? I feel like we discussed this before but you'll have to forgive me, the past few weeks have been lots and lots of new members I end up mixing a few up (oops!). Another option is slightly modifying the protocol reduce number ... for example some people do better modifying TR to reduce at 60 or 70 instead of 50. I believe some people on SLGS don't wait the full week either because they recognize by day 4 or 5 etc when it's time to go back up. No personal experience with that however, just something I've observed other members doing. I believe those people know their cats well enough to tailor it to what helps their cat best.
I really enjoyed reading this about Sissy. Getting to hear all the little stories about our kitties and learning about their personalities is part of what makes FDMB a truly magical place at times.She loves going in the camper. She has her own little bed on a bunk that she likes to snuggle down in and watch whatever is going on outside. She sits at the table with me when we play cards like she knows what it's all about.

