A
Anonymous
Is it possible that some cats don't respond to Levemir?
When Buddy was diagnosed with diabetes on 11/19/10 his bg was 454. My vet prescribed 3 units of Humulin 2x/day. His #'s came down to 127 and his highest number was 264 and at that time he was still eating dry food as well as wet Fancy Feast (which is what he was fed all of his life). It was suggested that I switch to Lev because of the high remission rate, etc. My vet was not familiar with Lev but agreed to work with me and support me. He said that due to his unfamiliarity with Lev he would not suggest a dosage but since I was working with those who've had great experience with Lev he would go along with it.
We started out on Lev for 10 days at 1 unit 2x/day and his numbers kept climbing thru the 300 & 400's (plus I eliminated dry food at that time too). His overall personality spiraled downhill. Buddy and I were really a "bonded" couple. He was always with me, slept with me, etc.,. But since I started on the Lev and home testing he became extremely stressed; he hid from me, would never even stay in the same room with me and stopped sleeping with me (first time in 8 years).
I took him to the vet and he said to increase dosage to 3 Units 2x/day and DO NOT TEST FOR ONE WEEK. Very quickly, his personality came back, slept with me, his water intake finally decreased, became playful again, all very positive things. I eased back into the testing at mid-point during the cycle and now doing a test at pm preshot, his numbers are not improving.
I know I'll be getting a lot of flak about needing additional numbers throughout the day, but after 27 days on Lev, at a low dose, then a high dose, shouldn't signs of lower numbers be appearing?
My only question is ... "has anyone heard of a cat NOT responding to Levemir"?
I'm at a loss. My vet also said he's not liking what he is seeing. What must I do?
Thanks in advance to anyone willing to offer advice.
When Buddy was diagnosed with diabetes on 11/19/10 his bg was 454. My vet prescribed 3 units of Humulin 2x/day. His #'s came down to 127 and his highest number was 264 and at that time he was still eating dry food as well as wet Fancy Feast (which is what he was fed all of his life). It was suggested that I switch to Lev because of the high remission rate, etc. My vet was not familiar with Lev but agreed to work with me and support me. He said that due to his unfamiliarity with Lev he would not suggest a dosage but since I was working with those who've had great experience with Lev he would go along with it.
We started out on Lev for 10 days at 1 unit 2x/day and his numbers kept climbing thru the 300 & 400's (plus I eliminated dry food at that time too). His overall personality spiraled downhill. Buddy and I were really a "bonded" couple. He was always with me, slept with me, etc.,. But since I started on the Lev and home testing he became extremely stressed; he hid from me, would never even stay in the same room with me and stopped sleeping with me (first time in 8 years).
I took him to the vet and he said to increase dosage to 3 Units 2x/day and DO NOT TEST FOR ONE WEEK. Very quickly, his personality came back, slept with me, his water intake finally decreased, became playful again, all very positive things. I eased back into the testing at mid-point during the cycle and now doing a test at pm preshot, his numbers are not improving.
I know I'll be getting a lot of flak about needing additional numbers throughout the day, but after 27 days on Lev, at a low dose, then a high dose, shouldn't signs of lower numbers be appearing?
My only question is ... "has anyone heard of a cat NOT responding to Levemir"?
I'm at a loss. My vet also said he's not liking what he is seeing. What must I do?
Thanks in advance to anyone willing to offer advice.