Do I take he lantus shot PMPS202? +1/187 +2/171 +4/124

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone.

I Need some quick advice please

I increased remi's dose to .75 last night so he is just finishing his second cycle. I took a +10 reading and it was 317 and have just taken a PMPS reading and it is 202.

Do I take the shot?
Do I wait twenty?
Do I give a reduced dose?

Please advise. I don't know what to do

Many thanks

Sarah
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Have just taken another reading and it has dropped to 10.5/189

I am just rather confused about what to do. I was hoping not to miss the dose completely. I guess I will feed him now and hope someone has a suggestion.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Remi has just eaten. It is now 15 minutes after his usual shot. What shall I do now?

I don't want to lose the shed I have built up but obviously want to keep him safe.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

On this forum, we suggest that you are fine to shoot above 150. Below 150 you test and post for help, without feeding. Have you fed Remi yet?

Can you delay a bit tonight and still be on schedule tomorrow morning (shoot 12 hours after the new shot time)?
Are you home tonight and able to monitor?
Do you have high carb food (just in case) and plenty of strips if you need to keep testing?

The answers to the above will help decide what to do.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Thanks Wendy

He has eaten about twenty mins ago. I just retested him and he is still 10.5/189.

I could shot in 12 hours but am not sure I can cope with the stress of him going really low. I could just give him a 1/4 dose maybe and the test. I don't know what to do for the best.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

As long as he is surfing and not dropping, you should be good to give the shot. However, depending on how long since he ate, that could influence the numbers. If you feel you need to give a reduced shot, then a reduced dose of .5 should be fine. You know he doesn't go too low on that dose, although the depot of the .75U will have some influence.

When you shoot your lowest value to date, we recommend getting a +1 and a +2 test to get an idea of what the cycle will look like. When kitties start out lower at PS, then the following cycles is normally much flatter.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Thanks Wendy

I gave a reduced shot 50minutes late after he ate. I will make sure I get a +1 and +2 reading. But I really do feel out of my depth now. I don't know what to look out for. I had felt that it was beginning to make sense and then this reading has really confused me.

Why did he drop so low tonight?
Does it mean it's too high a dose?
What dose do I give tomorrow morning (neither me nor my partner can be at home).
How will he ever get better if I am too scared to dose the lower numbers.

Sorry I don't mean you have to answer all these questions.

Sarah
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

I'm glad you gave insulin tonight, even if it's a reduced dose. This will still deplete the depot some. Shooting late also acts like a bit of a decrease too. The +1 and +2 test may give you an idea of what the cycle will look like. The +2 test is a good indicator of what the cycle will shape up like. If it's about the same as the preshot, you'll likely have a normal Lantus cycle. If it's lower than the preshot test, then you'll see an active cycle and may need more testing. If it's higher then you'll likely have a quiet cycle (maybe a bounce).

To answer the question about what happened tonight, the .75U depot was beginning to get filled and you were starting to see good numbers. I know it's hard to shoot low numbers the first few times, but cycles really do go flatter if you shoot lower. That's the beauty of Lantus and Levemir. For some more reading on that, here's a post Julie did on Charlie's condo a while ago. The .75U is not too high a dose, it was starting to get Remi into good numbers. If your goal is remission for Remi, you want him to start spending more time in the healing green numbers.

Yes, we are all scared to shoot low the first times. :YMHUG: One of the options listed in the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sitcky is to shoot a reduced dose when you see that. Might want to print off that document to have it handy. Now you have the opportunity to gather data and see what Remi does when the dose is reduced in this situation. Hopefully he'll give you a lowish preshot again on a cycle when you can monitor closely and see what happens. If you see a lower number in the morning, you should leave food out for him. Initially if you see a really low number (low 100s or less), you might skip if you can't monitor. Or give a reduced dose and leave lots of food out for him to snack on if he needs it. For people who have to work or leave during the day, that's why we like to see if you can get a +2 before you go. It'll tell you whether you need to worry or if you need to leave high carb food out. Lots of people here work during the day and have arranged their schedules to get a +2 before they leave and use that to decide what they need to do.

I'll keep an eye on your +1 and +2. You can take off the 911 now.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

it overwhelms everyone at first, sarah. don't worry - as you understand more, it will get infinitely easier. really!

just for a little perspective, a non-diabetic cat might run anything over 40-100ish. We call 50-120 as normal numbers on insulin. If you're interested in working towards remission, newly diagnosed cats have the best chance - the most recent study says 90%+ can go into remission if you get their blood sugar into normal (50-120) numbers as quickly as possible.

There are quite a few things about insulin and diabetic cats that are counter-intuitive. One is that the lower the number you shoot, the flatter the cycle typically is. We all thought if you shoot 1u at 350 and the cat drops 200 points to 150, giving that same dose at 150 will kill the cat. But it doesn't work that way. Lantus works best when it's dealing with lower numbers. Here's a discussion on Shooting Low, ie, shooting the full dose into normal numbers. Shooting a full dose - that you've worked up to appropriately per the protocol - into normal numbers might mean that Remi's blood sugar will only move 10 points in the entire 12 hours. It's really odd, but that's how it works.

What you want to do is to work up to that dose carefully, adjusting per the protocol, as you see his blood sugar gradually come down.

You're not ready to yet, but as you get more experience, as quickly as possible you're going to want to summon up your courage and shoot everything over 50ish, as long as Remi is eating normally and you can monitor. Anytime you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, we encourage people to get a +1 and a +2 to see where the cycle is going.

I'd really encourage you to get a timed feeder. If a cat goes into low numbers (under 50) our first tool is food - so a timed feeder is worth its weight in gold for people who have to be gone and can't monitor. Here's a recent discussion on timed feeders. Getting one as soon as possible will let you have food dispensed over time when you have to go to work.

With feline diabetes, you're weighing risks - if Remi always stays high like he is now, you don't have to worry about a hypoglycemic event, but high blood sugar will take a toll on the rest of his organs, especially his kidneys. If you get him into normal numbers, you have to worry about hypoglycemia, but you have the possibility arise that he may go off of insulin and become diet-controlled, and keeping him under 200ish will spare his organs from the damages of high blood sugar. There's no perfect solution, but this is why so many people jump on the Tight Regulation bandwagon to try to get their cats off of insulin.

phlika29 said:
Thanks Wendy

I gave a reduced shot 50minutes late after he ate. I will make sure I get a +1 and +2 reading. But I really do feel out of my depth now. I don't know what to look out for. I had felt that it was beginning to make sense and then this reading has really confused me.

Why did he drop so low tonight?
Does it mean it's too high a dose?
What dose do I give tomorrow morning (neither me nor my partner can be at home).
How will he ever get better if I am too scared to dose the lower numbers.

Sorry I don't mean you have to answer all these questions.

Sarah

I'll take a stab at your questions. His blood sugar is dropping some because you are getting closer to a good dose. In general, people have to go up to get to the *right* dose, and when they hit the "sweet spot", the blood sugar will flatten out. On the link I gave you above about shooting low, there are several spreadsheets that show cats changing when they get to a good dose. Take a look at those and you can see the change when they get to the dose that flattens out their cat.

No, this is not too high of a dose - well, not if your goal is remission. In fact, you'll probably end up increasing the dose still if that's where you're hoping to go. Do you understand how Lantus works? When you shoot, the insulin builds up in the body and slow releases. The size of the "depot" is related to the size of the dose, so when you increase a dose, the depot will build and then it is slow releasing slightly more. When you decrease, the previous dose's larger depot can still be giving more insulin out for a few cycles. My point is that there can be a bit of a delayed reaction to dose changes, which is why we give a dose increase 6-10 cycles to see what it can do. I think you're seeing 200's now because you increased the dose yesterday, and it can take this long to see the result of an increased dose. There is a great description of The Insulin Depot here - take a look at the link on that page that is about the difference between Lantus and Levemir - it will help you understand how the depot works.

Tomorrow morning - first some questions. Is he your only pet? If you leave food out, will he eat it all at once or will he graze and come back to it? Is tomorrow the only day you're gone all day, or is that typical?

How will he ever get better? I think educating yourself on what happens when you shoot lower numbers will help you to help him. Read through the posts I've linked and ask questions. We know how Lantus works - and for most cats it follows a very distinct pattern. You get a lot of tests in - you're going to be able to keep him safe, and once you have experience "steering" his blood sugar by giving him small amounts of carbs, you're going to feel so much more in control.

Everyone goes through this, Sarah. It is unnerving at the beginning! Hang in there and lean on us. We can help you learn how to keep him safe. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Wendy&Neko said:
I'm glad you gave insulin tonight, even if it's a reduced dose. This will still deplete the depot some. Shooting late also acts like a bit of a decrease too. The +1 and +2 test may give you an idea of what the cycle will look like. The +2 test is a good indicator of what the cycle will shape up like. If it's about the same as the preshot, you'll likely have a normal Lantus cycle. If it's lower than the preshot test, then you'll see an active cycle and may need more testing. If it's higher then you'll likely have a quiet cycle (maybe a bounce).

To answer the question about what happened tonight, the .75U depot was beginning to get filled and you were starting to see good numbers. I know it's hard to shoot low numbers the first few times, but cycles really do go flatter if you shoot lower. That's the beauty of Lantus and Levemir. For some more reading on that, here's a post Julie did on Charlie's condo a while ago. The .75U is not too high a dose, it was starting to get Remi into good numbers. If your goal is remission for Remi, you want him to start spending more time in the healing green numbers.

Yes, we are all scared to shoot low the first times. :YMHUG: One of the options listed in the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sitcky is to shoot a reduced dose when you see that. Might want to print off that document to have it handy. Now you have the opportunity to gather data and see what Remi does when the dose is reduced in this situation. Hopefully he'll give you a lowish preshot again on a cycle when you can monitor closely and see what happens. If you see a lower number in the morning, you should leave food out for him. Initially if you see a really low number (low 100s or less), you might skip if you can't monitor. Or give a reduced dose and leave lots of food out for him to snack on if he needs it. For people who have to work or leave during the day, that's why we like to see if you can get a +2 before you go. It'll tell you whether you need to worry or if you need to leave high carb food out. Lots of people here work during the day and have arranged their schedules to get a +2 before they leave and use that to decide what they need to do.

I'll keep an eye on your +1 and +2. You can take off the 911 now.

Thanks Wendy

You make it all seem very understandable. I will read through those links in a bit. His +1 shot was almost the same as his preshot-10.4/ 187. I will take another in an hour. I won't feed him until I take his +2 I guess as I don't want food to influence his numbers.

Remission is definitely my goal and so I know I am going to have to find some courage from some where. The +2 may be possible some days as my partner often works afternoons and evening and then I am home so between us we can get some. Tomorrow I can come back but not till +4 so i guess depending on he reading I either go back to the 0.75 or 0.5 . I think you would advise the 0.75?

My spreadsheet has gone wrong again and so not all the latest readings are being displayed. Off to try to fix it

Cheers

Sarah
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Julie

Thankyou for taking the time to answer. My aim is remission and so I am going to try to find some courage from somewhere to shoot when the reading is low.

A few people have mentioned feeders and I think I will go ahead and order one. The main reason I hesitate is that remi is nearly deaf and a heavy sleeper. I am just not sure if he will notice it. But I guess a low BG will overcome that.

Remi is my only pet. He is not usually very food orientated and so to be honest I am not 100% sure if he will eat it in one go or leave it. I tend to try to out down small and often so none is left hanging about. Tomorrow is unusual that my partner is at work the same hours as me but I have decided that I will make sure I get back for a +4 and +5 reading so can leave food out when I go, feed when home and then leave food when I go back. So unless the numbers are really low should I go back to a 0.75 dose?

Thankyou once again. Will keep rereading yours and Wendy's posts. They contain so much helpful info.

Will do a + 2 in twenty minutes.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Okay his +2 reading is 9.5/ 171.

So what should I do now?

What tests do I need to do and what about the dose tomorrow am? I can get home for +4 and leave food out during the morning.

I do really appreciate all of the help and kindness all the members have shown me. I know you are all busy with your own kitties and life in general and it is much appreciated.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

I'd give his meal - I think you said he was due one? Looks like a nice blue surf going on. Get a test before you go to bed, maybe a +4 tonight?

I think the .75U dose tomorrow sounds like a good idea, unless you are uncomfortable with the preshot number.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

I agree with Wendy - I'd go back to the 0.75u for your "regular" dose for now.

But you also have to be able to be comfortable while you're at work, so if tomorrow is different and it's going to be stressful shooting it, you could always give the 0.5u again in the morning and then go to 0.75u tomorrow night.

He's not used to being under 200, so it wouldn't be a surprise if he bounced from this and if you see high numbers tomorrow, regardless of the dose you give. The second post in this thread explains bouncing, if you're not familiar with them.

I also agree about getting a +4 or a test before you go to bed. When you get the +4, look at how many points he's dropped from the +2/171. While cats don't drop at a constant rate, it will give you an idea of how quickly he's dropping and help you predict how low he might go before he starts going back up. I look at the points per hour - it's not a perfect system because often earlier in a cycle they might drop faster, but it does help to give you an idea of what's going on. If he only drops 10 points in an hour, you can go to bed feeling pretty confident that he's not going to get below 50 during the night.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Thankyou Wendy and Julie :-D

I will feed him now and get a +4 .

I have another question about food- he doesn't seem so hungry nowadays. Is it because his BG is lower generally and he is getting more out of the food he eats?

Sarah
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

that's exactly right. when the blood sugar is high, it means the glucose is floating about in his bloodstream instead of getting into his cells and nourishing him. diabetic cats in high numbers are literally starving, regardless of how much they are eating. As his blood sugar comes down he won't eat nearly so much.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Excellent. He was eating me out of house and home :lol:

Actually I have another question :oops: he got his dose later and so I have to give it later tomorrow. How do I get it back to where it was before? 15 minute reduction each day. Or more slowly than that?
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

15 minutes with each shot, or 30 minutes once a day provides minimal impact on the overall BGs.

If he bounces and is over 300 at the next preshot, you could probably shoot 1/2 hr early (so a 11.5hr cycle).
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Right just so I can have a clear plan for the morning:

If over 300 shot 0.75 30mins early

If lower than 300 but above 200 shoot 0.75 at the 12 hr point

If between 150 and 200 -shoot the .75? Or maybe 0.50

If lower than 150 -no shoot or maybe a reduced dose
Less than 100- no insulin

Leave food out and ensure back for a +4 test.

Does that sound about right?
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

not exactly. I don't want you to get the idea that we do a sliding scale of dosing based upon the preshot numbers. Lantus dosing is based upon the nadirs - the low points - that a dose gets him to.

I'd just plan on giving 0.5u at +11.5 in the morning. That should be fine.

Then tomorrow night go back to 0.75u and stay there for 6 cycles unless he goes below 50.

How does that sound?
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

Yes I had thought about the nadirs when I was writing the post. I know that is how you monitor and adjust lantus. I have honestly read all the stickies and had lantus explained to be before but when i am going through something for he first time that all seems to go out of my head. Sorry, I don't want to come across as if I haven't done my homework :?

Yes I will stick to the 0.5 tomorrow morning and then try again tomorrow night. At the moment I have become more worried about his asthma as since he stopped his prednicare and just had the inhaled steroids it has gotten a lot worse. He seems to gulp more air when he eats, then he burps up the air and then his asthma gets worse. Like a terrible roundabout that we can't get off. Anyway I digress..

Going off to get a +4 reading.
 
Re: Do I take he lantus shot BG 202?

His BG is 6.9/124. I will feed him in a bit . He dropped 47 points from his +2 so approx 24 per hour and so he might go to 77/4.2 at +6. Is that a worry as it above the 2.2-3.3? Do I need to set the alarm and get up?

Have just reread your post and i think he will be okay as he will stay above 50 I think. He has just eaten a big bowl if food and have left more down for him.

Many thanks for everyone's guidance tonight.
 
If you could do it, waking up for a quick test at +6 would be great. And probably give you some peace of mind.

Coming from Caninsulin (as we did), it's harder to wrap your head around shooting low and not having kitty go diving too low. I was lucky in that Neko gradually eased me down into lower preshots.

Why did Remi stop his Prednicare? We have other asthmatic kitties on here who take prednilisone. It raises the BG's, but you just have to adjust the dose to work around it.
 
there is so much to absorb here - even now i pick up little things when i reread the stickies, and i've been on the board for 3.5 years. don't worry about not remembering it - it's overwhelming. I'm very good at repeating myself. just ask my husband. ;-) :lol: even when you read and reread, it still takes a while to get it. i wasn't implying you hadn't looked things up, just asking.

nice to see him getting out of the pink numbers! woo-hoo for blue! dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
I feel like a zombie this morning :shock:

So I got a +6 reading and it was still nice and low +6 /158. I fed him then and went back to bed. As expected he was 401/22.3. Not sure if that's a bounce, a reduced dose or perhaps both. Anyway I am ready to get back on the dance floor and give it another go.

So this morning I am going to give the 0.5 dose but at 11.5. Then tonight my plan is to start again on the 0.75. By the time it kicks in it will be the weekend I. Think and then I am home all day/night.

Many thanks to you both once again Wendy and Julie. I just didn't want you thinking you were putting in all the work and I hadn't done mine. :-D
 
You did a great job last night Sarah. :thumbup It will get easier. You got some great data on Remi's cycles. And he spent a good long time under renal threshold. :-D You are right that he is probably bouncing and that combined with the lower dose means he's likely going to be safe today while you are gone.
 
Thanks Wendy. Remi was fine today, his numbers are still high but no doubt the result of a bounce as you said.

Going to go back to the 0.75 tonight and try my best to keep my nerve and stick to it for the next few days. Not sure where best to post as I don't feel that I am fully following the tight regulation regime but if okay with this group if I need help or advice I will post a link on here.
 
If you wish to continue posting on the TR forum, that would be fine. You are testing enough to follow the protocol. Don't worry about being so strict with following the doses. We all have our own lives to live and sometimes we have to change/reduce doses to accommodate that. We just do the best we can. Since there is more traffic on this forum, there's a bit more chance of getting help in your AM cycle. Another alternative is to post on Health if you find no one is around when you need an answer. It's fairly busy too.
 
it really does get easier. people do this for years on end, but it's nothing like doing it the first little while. you get into a routine after a while and understand what the numbers mean, and it's just not nearly as exhausting or nerve-wracking.

You're doing great. What we suggest for following TR is always getting a preshot test in and then one mid-cycle test to tell you if you need more and to let you know how low the dose is taking Remi. You're testing more than enough to get that information.

Once we can see where Remi's nadir typically falls, then you'll be able to know more about when to get tests. For example, I knew that most of the time punkin's nadir was about +5.5. I always tested him at +3 because it told me where he was going next, and while some cats dive after their shot, punkin never did. So the +3 was the test i found most valuable. Based upon the drop from his preshot to +3 (if there was a drop), then I decided how long I could go before checking him again.

If he was bouncing, I might wait several hours or even to the next preshot.
if he was dropping quickly enough that i thought he was going to get close to 50 or maybe below, i would get another test in.
if it was somewhere in between those two, i tested him around +5.5ish.

It really is a dance and you'll learn to follow Remi's lead on it. You can't go by my "punkin plan" - it worked for him but it wouldn't necessarily be the same with another cat. Soon we'll be able to help you figure out what you need that will work for Remi. :-D
 
Thanks you guys. I have put him back up to 0.75 and will continue with this dose until someone tells me otherwise :lol: . My plan is to test as much as possible over the next few days. Today/ Tonight he is back in the reds. I got a +1 which at 423 was almost the same as his pre shot. Will do a +3 but then call it a night.

I will feel more comfortable when I know what remi's nadir will be and how he reacted generally.

My only comcern is that some days it will be hard to get a second test in after the preshot test but I guess in that guess you might reduce the dose if you are close to the hypo range. I really wish their was a pumpkin plan :-D
 
If you can't get a second out the door test in some morning, it might be helpful to get a +10 or +11 from the previous cycle. Knowing whether Remi is coming down to AMPS can also help you plan the day.
 
Hello! No advice from me, just popping in to say you're doing a good job!! Julie is right, it will get much easier!! I came here just like you! But you are now in the right place!! Keep up the good work!!
 
just fyi - these solid high numbers today/tonight are a bounce from the lovely blues he had yesterday. He might stay high for as many as 3 days. It's possible he might clear the bounce earlier, but since he's gotten pretty used to higher numbers, i wouldn't be surprised if it lasts the whole 3 days.

the way to count the 3 days forward is to count 6 cycles after the cycle that had "low" numbers in it - in this case, the cycle with all that pretty blue.

you'll know it has cleared when you see blue numbers again. Sometimes when the bounce clears they don't go quite as low as what started them, but it should be somewhat close to that.

As long as he's running high like this, I'd get a preshot and a +4-6 test. You don't need to test more than that cuz you're only going to see high numbers until the bounce begins to clear. Save your strips while you can! I wouldn't bother doing a curve tomorrow - i'd guess they'll all be pink or red numbers.
 
Brian & Tyler said:
Hello! No advice from me, just popping in to say you're doing a good job!! Julie is right, it will get much easier!! I came here just like you! But you are now in the right place!! Keep up the good work!!

Thanks Brian

I have just had a look at your Tyler's spreadsheet and it is great to see that he is undergoing an OTJ trial. I love to look at everyone's spreadsheets and see how the numbers come down and down. I am hoping that for remi .
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
just fyi - these solid high numbers today/tonight are a bounce from the lovely blues he had yesterday. He might stay high for as many as 3 days. It's possible he might clear the bounce earlier, but since he's gotten pretty used to higher numbers, i wouldn't be surprised if it lasts the whole 3 days.

the way to count the 3 days forward is to count 6 cycles after the cycle that had "low" numbers in it - in this case, the cycle with all that pretty blue.

you'll know it has cleared when you see blue numbers again. Sometimes when the bounce clears they don't go quite as low as what started them, but it should be somewhat close to that.

As long as he's running high like this, I'd get a preshot and a +4-6 test. You don't need to test more than that cuz you're only going to see high numbers until the bounce begins to clear. Save your strips while you can! I wouldn't bother doing a curve tomorrow - i'd guess they'll all be pink or red numbers.

Hi Julie

Yes you were right remi has been running a little higher than before. I have tried to get in some tests at +1 and +3 and today will go for a few more. If I am home I sort of can't help myself but test :-D hoping that investing the time and money early on gives my boy the best chance of remission. He is much more like his old self on the lantus both because I. Think the insulin suits him better and because his levels are coming down. Just got to hold my nerve now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top