Do I shoot???

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarolandTigger

Member Since 2015
I just tested Tigger before dinner,and it was 136!! I didn't believe it so I did it again (poor ears) and it was 137!! So I don't give him his insulin, right? Because it's under 200? This is new to me, having him test so low at dinner time! He runs in the upper 200's-300's consistently morning and night,then drops nicely in between. But he's NEVER tested this low at +12!! Sorry I don't have a spreadsheet up for him...when I've tried it doesn't work, but his numbers are pretty consistent...and has never been real low. He was diagnosed back in April. Been giving him food every 4 hours or so...maybe this is helping? I'm afraid to hope that he might be improving!!
 
Hi Carol, I'm fairly new here so don't take my advice as gospel, but if it was my kitty, no, I would NOT shoot at 136-137. Fwiw, my Squallie is on 1 iu of Vetsulin 2x daily and I usually won't shoot if he's under 200. You could try posting your question on the Vetsulin forum, you'd probably get more knowledgeable advice than mine! :)
 
Carolyn, without a ssheet and the ability to see his track record, it's really almost impossible to give you suggestions. You can either skip the shot or give a smaller dose. If you're going to be able to test over this cycle, a smaller dose will keep him from being so high tomorrow morning but if not, you might want to skip. Those numbers are awfully low to shoot...

What can we do to help you get the ssheet set up? When you bite the bullet and do it, you'll soon discover it's about the best tool in your diabetic toolbox...

.
 
I keep my own spreadsheet on paper until I get one set up on here. Just haven't had the time, and when I do, it doesn't work right. Argh!! Anyway, Tigger has been very consistent with his numbers..like I said, he usually shoots high, so I was stunned to see these numbers. Will be interesting to see what he runs in the morning! It was probably just s fluke!
 
I keep my own spreadsheet on paper until I get one set up on here. Just haven't had the time, and when I do, it doesn't work right. Argh!! Anyway, Tigger has been very consistent with his numbers..like I said, he usually shoots high, so I was stunned to see these numbers. Will be interesting to see what he runs in the morning! It was probably just s fluke!
As a fellow Vetsulin user, I'd be curious to know his AM numbers, as well. Please post them if you get a chance! :)
 
I will! But I did test him again,just a bit ago, 3 hours after the low number...and he's back up to 393! I just don't get it. I tested him twice earlier, just to make sure that 136 wasn't a fluke, and he still tested low. Then I fed him and WHAM! he went right back up. So discouraging
 
Carol - you're likely seeing a bounce, Mr. Liver's way of keeping a body safe. It released extra sugars as it's not used to going that low for that long. This too shall pass... :) It may last up to 3 days so don't let it discourage you.
 
I will! But I did test him again,just a bit ago, 3 hours after the low number...and he's back up to 393! I just don't get it. I tested him twice earlier, just to make sure that 136 wasn't a fluke, and he still tested low. Then I fed him and WHAM! he went right back up. So discouraging
365 this morning Guess I was hoping for a miracle
I know, it can be so very frustrating. I go through the same thing with Squallie, all the time. Just when I think he's sailing along nicely, bam! something comes along and screws it up. Right now he's been bouncing (at least, I think it's a bounce) off and on for almost a week. His low yesterday was 93, he was 201 at evening shot time, and this morning he was 458, so I understand what you're going through!

It really is very helpful to have a spreadsheet to refer to; you can see patterns that you otherwise might not see. It's also good to have so other members, with more experience, can look at it, to help you with advice. There are any number of folks here who can help you set it up (I am not one of them, sorry:(), if @Marje and Gracie, as mentioned above, can't help, just start a thread asking for help starting your spreadsheet.

Tigger looks like an absolute sweetheart, btw. Good luck! :):):)
 
I can set up a SS for you in no time at all. I'll send you a private message. Check your inbox, upper right corner of the forum.
 
Thanks!! I tested him this morning and he was 93!! Lowest ever, since he was diagnosed in April! He was 311 last night before dinner. So we didn't shoot this morning. Would this be considered a bounce, or merely that his numbers are really starting to come down? Is bouncing really bad??
 
That's a beautiful number! The 93 is not a bounce, but the 311 might have been. If it was, he recovers from bounces very quick, which is a good thing.
 
Yes, he seems to be bouncing all around. It will be great if Marje can set you up with a spreadsheet. Looks like you need to reduce the dose overall, but your history will help us figure that out.
 
And he jumped to over 400 just 3 hours after his 93 reading. Arrrgh!!! I don't understand this...has never happened before. Marje and Gracie...I'll contact you about setting up a spreadsheet.
 
It is very common, Carol. It could be a bounce. His body has gotten used to higher ranges. Then suddenly it perceives a 90 that feels very low. So his body releases extra glucose to raise that number. Some people call bounces "liver training". He has to get used to those lower ranges so he won't bounce up from them. He takes awhile and the time frame is different for every cat.

The other reason is that he missed a dose, so 24 hours since the last insulin, he'll be higher. The next time, stall when you get a number under 200 for a preshot. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. Especially with Vetsulin, when the insulin is gone, it's gone. They can shoot right up as soon as it wears off. Skipping is the least desirable thing to do because invariably you get a high number for the next cycle.

So celebrate that you got a lovely green! He'll get back there again. You might reduce by a smidge when he gets back to his regular numbers so you don't get a pre shot too low to shoot.
 
Thanks so much! That makes so much sense. He tested at 220 this morning just now, and he's eating. I'll shoot with the 3 units after that. He had been on 2 1/2 units for awhile..maybe with his numbers changing he can go back to that. Hopefully getting his SS up today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top