Do I shoot? Won't eat.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel

Very Active Member
Her PMPS is 337. She threw up when I got home...no food just stomach bile it seems. She ate maybe 2 bites if dinner and then walked off. No nail polish smell to breath and tested for ketones yesterday with none. Will test if she uses her litter box. Insulin or not?
 
Re: Do I shoot?

High numbers mean she needs insulin, however, I'm not familiar enough with ProZinc to offer what dose you should give her if she's not eating and not feeling well. This comment will bump it to the top to hopefully get more responses for you.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

I think I'll give 0.5. I don't want her to have to wait...I'm really worried. She's not herself. Didn't come out for her test...had to go get her. She never does that. Refused treats.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

Are you testing for ketones? Not eating plus not enough insulin and possibly an infection can quickly cause DKA.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

I am. Didn't test today since I was at work. No traces yesterday. Been waiting for a bathroom break tonight to test bit she hasn't gone yet. She ate like normal this AM.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

Hi Rachel,
I don't know Gypsy's history, but has she ever suffered from pancreatitis? You said she's acting "not herself" tonight. Do you see behavior that might make you think "she's in pain"?

Any chance she might be constipated?
Is she drinking water at all?
Does she appear dehydrated?

Good that you are testing for ketones, and that as recently as yesterday she has not had any. Has she had them before?

Carl
 
Re: Do I shoot?

She's really just acting off. Didn't come running for her test, didn't eat. She hasn't gone to the bathroom but doesn't appear in pain or dehydrated. She's sleeping in her bed now. No pancreatitis history, no ketones before. On the PZI board they said she might just have a tummy ache.

She was fine this AM. Might be a bad night. I will get a ketone test if I can...just need a litter box break!
 
Re: Do I shoot?

It isn't so much the ketones that concern me although testing for them is always a good idea. It's the not wanting to eat. Hopefully she'll perk up soon. Did you skip the shot?
 
Re: Do I shoot?

I gave 0.5 units. I was afraid to skip with her numbers. We've been giving between 0.5 and 1. Went with 0.5 so shed get some insulin but wouldn't get too much. I have a secret insane fear of DKA. Glad to hear most people say it isn't a worry. Maybe she'll perk up later? Maybe she just needs sleep.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

That is probably OK.

Some vets have you give a half dose when a cat is being fasted for a procedure such as a dental.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

I think you are okay with a half-unit dose. If her appetite is still not there for breakfast, call your vet and let them know.

It's right to fear ketones (maybe not insanely ;-) ). My GA sugarcat Bob had ketones when he was first diagnosed and spent three nights in emergency care. They showed up again just before he passed, but there were multiple things going wrong at the same time, and the ketones were just a part of it.

If a cat won't eat for 24 hours, there's something wrong that needs to be addressed as soon as possible before things go really bad, really fast.
 
Re: Do I shoot?

She ate a treat and drank some water. Came to me for the test. But not eating. I mean, she could have eaten overnight but I don't know.
 
Well she just ate some and got her shot. Normal behavior besides the eating. Purred when she got her shot (she purrs anytime humans pay attention to her). Fussed at the ear prick but allowed it and ate a chicken treat. Curled up on a fleece blanket in the living room. Maybe she's just under the weather. But she did eat!!!

Her BG is 338. Gave 1 unit since she ate. We've been sliding between 0.5 and 1 so I wanted to give her enough to keep her going.
 
Posed in PZI too. BG 410. Not eating. Should I shoot? What dose? Do we need to go to the vet in the AM?
 
You may be safe with a half dose. Some vets will have you give a half dose when fasting a cat pre-anesthesia.
 
Rachel,
Yes, I would definitely take her to the vet in the AM. Usually when their appetite is off for as long as her's has been, there will be an underlying cause.

Carl
 
We're going to the vet tomorrow. I'm really scared. I'm afraid it will be too expensive or they'll say it's something awful they can't cure. I'm morbid tonight I know. Please send prayers or good thoughts or whatever.
 
Here we call them "vines", and I'm sending a ton of them, Rachel.

Don't assume the worst. It might be something simple that they can give you meds for. They might also give you an appetite stimulant for her. You mentioned that she was acting okay, just not eating. That's a lot more encouraging than her laying around looking miserable or like she's in pain, and not eating.

Let us know as soon as you find something out. No matter what it is, chances are some people here have dealt with the same thing.
 
SHE ATE!!!!! Not a huge amt but more than she has all weekend. And she came to the kitchen for her test and ate as soon as food was out! Didn't have to chase her down or bring it to her. Plus her BG is back down to 304. I'm wondering if it was an infection that's gone.

Going to call vet at 10 when they open. Do you still think she needs it? I'm inclined to think yes. Not because she is still sick but to make sure she's good.
 
I'd say check in with the vet. And if the vet finds something, you will have a treatment plan.

Most of us have had at least 1 issue with our diabetics or civvies and have learned a lot about that other condition. Also, the Merck Veterinay Manual is online, as well as their Pet Health Guide which is in English, not vet-speak.

Reference sites to use or share with others:
Cat Info feline nutrition, plus nutrition and various diseases
Feline Chronic Renal
Feline Constipation
 
Vet called. My girl is dehydrated...not surprising since she didn't eat. They're giving sub q fluids. Going to check potassium levels too to see if they are ok. They said she probably had an inflamed intestine so I should give 1/4 Pepcid every 12 hours.

Thanks for talking me through this all! You've been amazing.
 
Going to give Pepcid, b12, something to calm intestines, and antibiotics. I pick her up at 4. Just wanted to update you all. Thanks again!
 
Yay! That is good to hear! Mikey went through something similar (vet called it colitis) over the summer and just need some fluids as well.
 
Pick up some probiotic to give about 2 hours after the antibiotic which will replenish the good bacteria killed off by the antibiotic.
Intelliflora, Forti Flora, or 1-2 teaspoons of plain yogurt with active cultures (unless dairy allergy) are some options.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top