? Do I shoot? (Didn’t shoot!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuziB

Member Since 2019
Reece’s numbers are all over the place. Yesterday AMPS 415, PMPS 215. This morning, AMPS 185. With the rate her numbers have dropped, I’m not sure if I give her her shot now or not? I have to leave for work soon and no one would be home to monitor her. Do I skip it for fear numbers continue to drop or give it anyway? Help!
 
No history of ketones, correct?

I'd skip in your shoes, given that you can't monitor all day. She's a very small kitty, which doesn't leave you a lot of room for error if you guess wrong.

Another option might be to wait a half hour (if you can before leaving for work), without feeding her, to see if maybe her numbers are on the way up. If they are rising, it might be safe to shoot even if you can't monitor, but given how new all this is, you don't really know her patterns well enough to guess. If you are home over the weekend you can monitor her more and gather more data.
 
If it were my cat, I'd skip or give him a token dose. You may need to reduce her dose a little to see if she's bouncing or not. You'll have to get in some more tests throughout the day when you can. I find my cat drops the lowest on Vetsulin at around +7, which I can never catch during the week.
 
Did you recently switch foods to the Fancy Feast in your sig, or is that something she's been eating for a while? I ask because it's possible to get a fairly dramatic drop in insulin needs after a switch to low-carb food (after a few days to work all the old carbs out of the system). If that's what is going on, you definitely don't want to shoot the usual 1U on a lower number until you know what is going on.
 
She’s been on the FF exclusively for about 5-6 days. I’m going to skip the shot. Too nervous something could go south while I’m at work. We’re expecting snow and ice tonight. Definitely don’t want to have an emergency and not be able to get to the vet! I’ll be home all weekend to monitor her and try another curve tomorrow.
 
You must be in the Pac Norwest also... I'm in Seattle expecting 50 year snowstorm today. Under 150 I don't shoot. Higher is less worse than lower BG's.
At 185 + prime runs 30 pts low according to the Lab here - I would have shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top