Do I shoot? 7/2/19 - Harley

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
Here is the other topic - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-warrants-a-vet-visit.216325/#post-2399658

Harley has had an off day. As of now he only ate half his breakfast, no lunch, and isn't eating dinner but his BGs are still on the rise. PMPS just now was 410... I know you don't shoot when they don't eat but if he is in the 400s and still going I really do want to shoot... am I not suppose to? (he is on 2.25 right now)

Also if you didn't read the whole thing I am going to be taking him in if things don't change for the good overnight. If things get worse we will be at the E-vet.
 
With him running that high, it's OK to shoot even if he's not eating

Hopefully the insulin will help lower his BG and then he'll eat.

But you don't want to skip with him running that high, not eating and acting sick...you don't want to risk DKA
 
With him running that high, it's OK to shoot even if he's not eating

Hopefully the insulin will help lower his BG and then he'll eat.

But you don't want to skip with him running that high, not eating and acting sick...you don't want to risk DKA

If today hadn't ran like it did I was doing a small curve to see if I should bump to 2.5u, should I hold where I am tonight or give him that little extra?
 
Since he's not eating well, I'd stick with the current dose and not go up just yet, but I do think he needs to go up to 2.5 soon

You're really holding the dose too long and letting his body get used to being high even though he's getting insulin (glucose toxicity)
 
You're really holding the dose too long and letting his body get used to being high even though he's getting insulin (glucose toxicity)

I've been holding longer right now since I haven't been able to get proper curves on him or even nadir's, it only seems like amps and pmps lately, but I will certainly take that advice and start doing it sooner, thank you.

Also his "midnight snack" is usually at 4am. He was his usual self and couldn't wait, waking me up about 15 minutes early trying to eat my hand and meowing for his food. That made me happy. He ate it right down.
 
Back
Top