? Do I keep stalling? Zot too low to shoot?

ThisIsAllForZot

Member Since 2025
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/trying-to-understand-bg-numbers.298712/ is the last post for reference. Only creating a new thread so it's easier to reach people.

Zot is reading 112 @ his PMPS (about an hour late, internet was out, I didn't know what to do). He went under 90 in reading today, so I was planning on reducing his dose to 0.75. Going to retest again in 20 minutes? Should I just feed him after this next test?

He's missed a lot of shots lately, so I'm unsure if it would be wise to miss another one, but I also do not want him to drop too low. @Bron and Sheba (GA)

EDIT: I just stalled and did another test, and it's 133 most recently.

EDIT 2: He's 2 hours past his usual schedule and screaming for food. Testing again and then feeding. I tried to find a thread on the forums for how far off of schedule is okay to give an insulin injection, but I could not find anything. I read through the paperwork from my vet again, and it says that within the usual hour is fine and within 2 hours is the absolute cut-off. Is this correct? (For future reference)
 
Last edited:
Stephanie I’m sorry I wasn’t online earlier. I can see you have skipped the shot. That is fine to do with the Preshot you got.

When you stall, I would only do it for 2 stalls maximum and then I would make a decision. If you do it for longer your schedule will get very out of whack. If you need to stay on schedule I would only do 1 stall.
 
Stephanie I’m sorry I wasn’t online earlier. I can see you have skipped the shot. That is fine to do with the Preshot you got.

When you stall, I would only do it for 2 stalls maximum, and then I would make a decision. If you do it for longe,r your schedule will get very out of whack. If you need to stay on schedule,e I would only do 1 stall.

No worries, we all have our lives and schedules off the internet. I understand that people might not be able to reach out in response right away. :)

Noted, thank you. I have flexibility in the schedule, but I'm trying to keep the doses at relatively the same time each day. I will do 2 stalls next time and then make a decision. His numbers are climbing again since his meal, but I think they're okay enough for me to get 2-3 hours of sleep before waking up to test again. Can't wait to find our groove lol. If our numbers are good at his AMPS, I will do a 0.75 dose (and do my best to be as accurate and consistent as possible), and, hopefully, 0.75 will be his sweet spot!

Also side note; I went to test his blood before I head to bed for a little while, and he knew what time it was. He jumped onto my lap and let me poke him while purring. Getting a bit easier!
 
Update: 198 reading at +9; it looks promising that I will be able to try the dose @ AMPS :)
I do wonder if my Vet will be upset with me if I reduce the dose a little without consulting her. I guess we're going to find out. I will try to consult the vet when they open, and if I have no luck with getting in contact, I don't think there's much else I can do about it.

She will open Zot's spreadsheet soon and find out that way.
 
Last edited:
Stephanie I’m sorry I wasn’t online earlier. I can see you have skipped the shot. That is fine to do with the Preshot you got.

When you stall, I would only do it for 2 stalls maximum and then I would make a decision. If you do it for longer your schedule will get very out of whack. If you need to stay on schedule I would only do 1 stall.

Not sure if you're awake yet, as I think it's like 5AM there, but figured I'd put here just in case. He had a snack about 3 hours ago, when given the snack his BG was closer to 200 right beforehand. His AMPS read a 169, 10 minutes ago. Just curious if this would be relatively the same number, right, or is this a bounce? Unsure, but just in case stalling to be safe, checking again in 10 minutes to see if he's rising at all. Will do one more stall if necessary as suggested. I think if he hits around the 195 mark, it would be okay to administer 0.75 insulin? Unsure still, behaviors fine. Nothing unusual. He will get miralax along with his next meal. :)

If @Tim & Pookey is around I'd love to hear your thoughts as well! :)
 
Not sure if you're awake yet, as I think it's like 5AM there, but figured I'd put here just in case. He had a snack about 3 hours ago, when given the snack his BG was closer to 200 right beforehand. His AMPS read a 169, 10 minutes ago. Just curious if this would be relatively the same number, right, or is this a bounce? Unsure, but just in case stalling to be safe, checking again in 10 minutes to see if he's rising at all. Will do one more stall if necessary as suggested. I think if he hits around the 195 mark, it would be okay to administer 0.75 insulin? Unsure still, behaviors fine. Nothing unusual. He will get miralax along with his next meal. :)

If @Tim & Pookey is around I'd love to hear your thoughts as well! :)
Hey Stephanie, I’m sorry, I don’t really feel comfortable giving dosing advice. You can put a question mark in your title from the drop down to get some more attention. I’ll tag a few people for you who might be able to help!

@tiffmaxee
@Angela & Cleo
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
If he’s too low for your comfort level and nobody responds, you can skip to be safe.
Yes, he tested lower, but pretty much the same after both stalls. So I fed him as usual.
Today I have no transportation available, so definitely do not want to risk a medical emergency. I hope he can have his PM dose :)
 
In the grand scheme of things, these are perfectly fine numbers. We tell new members to ask for help if the pre-shot is under 200. However, it doesn't mean that it's not a safe number. Once you're comfortable with lower numbers, you will be able to shoot any number above 50.

You might want to consider shooting above 150 and gradually lower that threshold as you get used to shooting progressively lower numbers.
 
In the grand scheme of things, these are perfectly fine numbers. We tell new members to ask for help if the pre-shot is under 200. However, it doesn't mean that it's not a safe number. Once you're comfortable with lower numbers, you will be able to shoot any number above 50.

You might want to consider shooting above 150 and gradually lower that threshold as you get used to shooting progressively lower numbers.
Got you. I think I will feel comfortable shooting 150. I will shoot for now at 150, and then drop down once I feel a little more comfortable again. Thank you :)
 
I’m just seeing this. Are you stocked with plenty of time est strips, hc food, mc food, and Karo or honey? That will keep Zot safe as you shoot lower bg. If anyone tells you to shoot lower than you are used to, that person will stay with you and guide you through the cycle if at all possible.
 
I’m just seeing this. Are you stocked with plenty of time est strips, hc food, mc food, and Karo or honey? That will keep Zot safe as you shoot lower bg. If anyone tells you to shoot lower than you are used to, that person will stay with you and guide you through the cycle if at all possible.

That is comforting. I have Karo, no honey, though. Hc food-- Don't have mc food, can pick some up tomorrow when my order is filled at the pharmacy. Still have over 70 test strips (should have bought more to be honest).
 
Since you have Karo you don’t need honey. Sounds like you are well stocked to shoot lower. I was a testaholic so kept an extra 100 test strips around at all times. It was 8 years ago and I bought lots on auction on eBay.
 
Not sure if you're awake yet, as I think it's like 5AM there, but figured I'd put here just in case
Definitely still in slumberland at that hour. I’m a night owl, not an early riser:p
I’m glad there were others around to help you.
I agree that lowering your preshot to 150 is a good idea.
Also I think it might be a good idea to move you over to the Lantus page now that you are all set up and sorted.
There will be a lot more eyes to see you over there
Here is the LANTUS PAGE
And here is the INFORMATION ABOUT USING THE LANTUS PAGE
There are also other yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page for you to read.
 
Hope to see you over on the Lantus Board.
Bron gave you the links for how to post on the Lantus Board , just want to give you a quick idea
You would put the
Date Zot AMPS and any additional tests after that and you can continue with the PMPS.
To add the additional tests look to the right and tap on Thread Tools then tap on Edit Tools and add those tests and tap save . Always link your previous days post to your new one. Try and post everyday :cat:
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
Definitely still in slumberland at that hour. I’m a night owl, not an early riser:p
I’m glad there were others around to help you.
I agree that lowering your preshot to 150 is a good idea.
Also I think it might be a good idea to move you over to the Lantus page now that you are all set up and sorted.
There will be a lot more eyes to see you over there
Here is the LANTUS PAGE
And here is the INFORMATION ABOUT USING THE LANTUS PAGE
There are also other yellow stickies at the top of the Lantus page for you to read.

He doesn't really seem to want to hit 150 when I want him to for my peace of mind, so I will try instead to shoot anywhere above 130. Darn it, Zot.

Will start posting there! Thank you :)
 
Scary for you but for him this is good. The best chance for remission and to be diet controlled is in the first year or sooner. Shooting low soon becomes contagious.
 
Scary for you but for him this is good. The best chance for remission and to be diet controlled is in the first year or sooner. Shooting low soon becomes contagious.

Yes, very scary! But everyone here has been very reassuring and patient/understanding. It has made it so much easier, I'd be so lost without this forum and the community.
Just continuing to remind myself that Zot has no behavior changes and is happy; nothing to panic about for now!
 
I see you have moved to the Lantus page, that is great.
Zot is looking good! you are doing a great job!

Thanks so much! I just remembered. Weren't you the one who suggested the 1/8th tsp of Miralax for Zot?
I don't remember, as so many people have helped me.

But I've been doing that for a bit now. He has only pooped 3-4 times since the 25th. He is urinating normally, and he is not sitting there to try and go or struggling to use the litterbox. It's almost as if he just doesn't have to go #2. I am wondering how common this is for diet transitions. If he has to go, he is not showing it anyway. I am considering just bringing him into the vet for this in another 1-2 days if he doesn't go, but just wanted to reach out and see if you know if this is something others deal with commonly when transitioning to wet food.
 
Thanks so much! I just remembered. Weren't you the one who suggested the 1/8th tsp of Miralax for Zot?
I don't remember, as so many people have helped me.

But I've been doing that for a bit now. He has only pooped 3-4 times since the 25th. He is urinating normally, and he is not sitting there to try and go or struggling to use the litterbox. It's almost as if he just doesn't have to go #2. I am wondering how common this is for diet transitions. If he has to go, he is not showing it anyway. I am considering just bringing him into the vet for this in another 1-2 days if he doesn't go, but just wanted to reach out and see if you know if this is something others deal with commonly when transitioning to wet food.
No it wasn’t me who suggested the Miratax.
I hear of kitties sometimes having diarrhoea when transitioning to wet food.
I’ll ask @Suzanne & Darcy if she has any ideas
 
Back
Top