Do I decrease again??

April & Quincy

Member Since 2019
So I don't post here often but I lurk daily! This weekend was a little crazy for me and Quincy. On Saturday he got into the 60's!! So I decreased his dose to .5 and we proceeded forward. He had high numbers on Sunday so I assumed he was bouncing and didn't check as much as I could have because when I did they were high and then I was gone almost all day after my initial few tests. Then this morning! Whew, he was at 81!!! He is NEVER that low for pre-tests so I kind of freaked out. I fed him and tested again 40 minutes later and he was up to 111 which is great because I had to get to work (of course, I would have stayed if not much changed). I gave him more food so he has some while I'm gone and off I went.

My question is about tonight. I skipped his shot this morning because he was so low and I'm not comfortable shooting that number, especially because I couldn't stay home all day to monitor. I literally JUST decreased Saturday night. Is it possible the depot just still has the .75 in it so that's why he was so low this morning and the .5 hasn't "kicked in" yet? Or since I was under 90 do I decrease AGAIN to .25? It just feels weird to decrease so close to when I just decreased, if that makes sense.
 
With lantus and SLGS protocol you punt! ;) (Just kidding).

Has his appetite been good? Or a bit off? Trying to see if that would account for the low BG this morning.
Please test for ketones daily. We are dealing with DKA cat number 4 in the last 2 weeks. Always a good idea when you skip a shot, especially if the cat isn't eating well, to ketone test.

Yes, there is going to be some of the depot left over from the 0.75U dose on 2/29/20 AM cycle. Not a lot, but some. Quincy is diabetes diagnosis, < 1 year. So using the SLGS method you hold the dose. Reductions are based on the mid-cycle nadirs, not necessarily the pre-shot test.

You had to skip the shot this morning. And you just did a reduction after the curve on 2/29/20.

I could go either way. Reduce to 0.25U and see what Quincy does. Knowing you may need to increase again soon. Or stay at the 0.5U dose. To build the depot back up to full levels. I'd suggest staying at the 0.5u dose, and getting some PM tests in.

What's probably really happening, is your aren't testing at night. Quincy is dropping lower at night and you aren't catching it. Please try to get at least one more test in during the PM cycle. 1 more before you go to sleep would be a good idea. Every day please.

A test at +2 in the PM cycle could be very helpful also. Tells you which direction Quincy is headed for the cycle.

p.s. Your meter should have a memory function. If you forget what the reading was, you can look back through the memory to find out. 2/26/2020 SS note in Remarks column said you didn't remember. :p
 
Last edited:
With lantus and SLGS protocol you punt! ;) (Just kidding).

Has his appetite been good? Or a bit off? Trying to see if that would account for the low BG this morning.
Please test for ketones daily. We are dealing with DKA cat number 4 in the last 2 weeks. Always a good idea when you skip a shot, especially if the cat isn't eating well, to ketone test.
His appetite is great! He has always been a voracious eater, nothing slowing him down at all.

What's probably really happening, is your aren't testing at night. Quincy is dropping lower at night and you aren't catching it. Please try to get at least one more test in during the PM cycle. 1 more before you go to sleep would be a good idea. Every day please.

A test at +2 in the PM cycle could be very helpful also. Tells you which direction Quincy is headed for the cycle.

p.s. Your meter should have a memory function. If you forget what the reading was, you can look back through the memory to find out. 2/26/2020 SS note in Remarks column said you didn't remember. :p

I can definitely get a test at night, but I go to bed fairly early so if I test him it would be the +1, mayyyyyybe +2, depending on if I am awake. I was thinking of doing that soon but I am tending to agree with you. However, he's not a fairly active cat at night. He usually sleeps in bed with me all night so not much activity there, if that has anything to do with it. Would a +1 or +2 be good enough? I live alone and can only do curves on the weekend and not much testing during the day since Im at work and can't get home during lunch ( I work too far away).

Thank you for all your advice! I'm thinking I'll hold the .5 and do a curve again this weekend...so hard to decide.
 
So using the SLGS method you hold the dose. Reductions are based on the mid-cycle nadirs, not necessarily the pre-shot test.

I messed up my reply above, whoops. It's there though! Okay so I see what you're saying. So basically because he was at 81 today AMPS NOT nadir, I would hold it at .5??
 
Don't worry about it. I'm used to searching through the orange shaded boxes if that is all I can see with a reply.
 
His appetite is great! He has always been a voracious eater, nothing slowing him down at all.

I can definitely get a test at night, but I go to bed fairly early so if I test him it would be the +1, mayyyyyybe +2, depending on if I am awake. I was thinking of doing that soon but I am tending to agree with you. However, he's not a fairly active cat at night. He usually sleeps in bed with me all night so not much activity there, if that has anything to do with it. Would a +1 or +2 be good enough? I live alone and can only do curves on the weekend and not much testing during the day since Im at work and can't get home during lunch ( I work too far away).

Thank you for all your advice! I'm thinking I'll hold the .5 and do a curve again this weekend...so hard to decide.

Did a little cut and paste for you. This is what you had said.
 
I messed up my reply above, whoops. It's there though! Okay so I see what you're saying. So basically because he was at 81 today AMPS NOT nadir, I would hold it at .5??
Yes. Hold at the 0.5U dose.

Time change this weekend. Gives you an opportunity to change the times of your shots in 15 minute increments earlier this week. So you are NOT shooting 1 hour early on Sunday morning. Which can act like a dose increase.

Plus, you are going to need to learn to shoot lower pre-shot numbers. They won't always stay above 150.
 
Yes. Hold at the 0.5U dose.

Time change this weekend. Gives you an opportunity to change the times of your shots in 15 minute increments earlier this week. So you are NOT shooting 1 hour early on Sunday morning. Which can act like a dose increase.

Plus, you are going to need to learn to shoot lower pre-shot numbers. They won't always stay above 150.

Thanks for fixing my quote issue! Yes, the time change! I'll have to calculate that. I know I'll have to learn to shoot lower numbers ... but it's so scary!
 
Ummm.....

With SLGS, there is no distinction for a cat that is newly diagnosed or more than a year from diagnosis. That distinction only applys to TR.

The decision to hold the dose is up to you. With SLGS, you would reduce when numbers fall below 90. I do tend to agree with @Deb & Wink that the depot may be influencing the drop today.

However, you really do need to get PM tests -- at the very minimum, a test before you go to bed every night. If your AMPS was 81, I'm a bit nervous about how low your kitty's numbers were last night. Please get PM tests. With having half of your data missing, it makes it very hard to give any meaningful guidance.
 
Ummm.....

With SLGS, there is no distinction for a cat that is newly diagnosed or more than a year from diagnosis. That distinction only applys to TR.

The decision to hold the dose is up to you. With SLGS, you would reduce when numbers fall below 90. I do tend to agree with @Deb & Wink that the depot may be influencing the drop today.

However, you really do need to get PM tests -- at the very minimum, a test before you go to bed every night. If your AMPS was 81, I'm a bit nervous about how low your kitty's numbers were last night. Please get PM tests. With having half of your data missing, it makes it very hard to give any meaningful guidance.

I was thinking the same thing about his numbers last night. :banghead: It made me really nervous. I can definitely get a before bed test, it just might only be an hour or so from when he had his PMPS. I hope that's okay...?

I too was thinking that the depot may be influencing the drop today. Thanks for your advice!
 
Is it at all feasible to adjust shot time so you have the opportunity to get more than a +1 at night? (My shot time was at 5:00 -- it gave me time to get some AM tests before I left for work and plenty of time for testing in the evening.) If not, should you wake up during the night, I'd get a test. You can become quite proficient at "sleep testing."
 
Is it at all feasible to adjust shot time so you have the opportunity to get more than a +1 at night? (My shot time was at 5:00 -- it gave me time to get some AM tests before I left for work and plenty of time for testing in the evening.) If not, should you wake up during the night, I'd get a test. You can become quite proficient at "sleep testing."

I'll have to see if I can finnagle (is that a word??) my schedule otherwise I'll have to grab some when I get up to pee in the middle of the night. :)
 
Back
Top