Yes, if Do Daa were my cat, I'd increase to 3U.
I was just looking at thread 8, when an alert popped up.
No, no progress yet on the 3U dose.
Perhaps, fewer temps (temptations)?
Looks like 3 was too many. It's so hard to predict, what the temps will do for his BG levels.He only had 3 temps a little after 6pm (+9) @245, I was kind of hoping it would just help him into a better Pre-shot # by pmps.![]()
Looks like 3 was too many. It's so hard to predict, what the temps will do for his BG levels.
How about trying a bit of his regular low carb wet food next time, instead of the temptations?
Have you tried crumbling some of the temptations and sprinkling the powder on top of the wet food?

Have you tried crumbling some of the temptations and sprinkling the powder on top of the wet food?
Then Do Daa may need an increase sooner, rather than later.Noticed for the last couple of days he's been drinking water and peeing more.
Then Do Daa may need an increase sooner, rather than later.
But I think you should give it another cycle, since he's still bouncing from the lows on 10/30.
6 of one, half a dozen of another as the saying goes.
Then Do Daa may need an increase sooner, rather than later.
But I think you should give it another cycle, since he's still bouncing from the lows on 10/30.
6 of one, half a dozen of another as the saying goes.
Yes, agree with your plan to increase the dose.
Not increasing the dose for an extra day? Why not do the dose increase on Tuesday AM?
Understood.Voting in the morning and no one being here to monitor him is my main concern. Depending on his AM number, I may just up the dose anyway.
Understood.
Understood.
When you say "wet food" do you mean the pate style food, or do you mean the food with gravy?SS Updated.
He's been eating much more wet food than he normally has lately. Also, not any great numbers yet @ 3.25u![]()
When you say "wet food" do you mean the pate style food, or do you mean the food with gravy?
Or do you mean that his appetite has been very high, and he is eating a lot more?
Maintaining his weight ok?
Water consumption up a lot too? Or only the food intake?
Basically, how are the 5 P's (peeing, pooping, playing, preening, purring)?
That all sounds good. Now, we just need for Do Daa to get some lower BG numbers.
It's very hard to see those marks on the insulin barrel sometimes.
Keeping fingers crossed here too, that Do Daa responds better to the 3.25U dose.
That's one way to think about it.I am going to assume that bouncing works both ways... and that contributed to the 600 at pmps.
That's one way to think about it.
When the BG's drop really fast, they do tend to rise back up really fast too, as the cat's body drops compensatory hormones into the bloodstream.
A 45-50% increase within 1 hour certainly would contribute to a high BG at the next pre-shot test.
"The faster the fall, the faster the rise."
That's one way to think about it.
When the BG's drop really fast, they do tend to rise back up really fast too, as the cat's body drops compensatory hormones into the bloodstream.
A 45-50% increase within 1 hour certainly would contribute to a high BG at the next pre-shot test.
"The faster the fall, the faster the rise."
That's one way to think about it.
When the BG's drop really fast, they do tend to rise back up really fast too, as the cat's body drops compensatory hormones into the bloodstream.
A 45-50% increase within 1 hour certainly would contribute to a high BG at the next pre-shot test.
"The faster the fall, the faster the rise."
Do Daa is just one of those cats that overreact to the low blues.
Do Daa is just one of those cats that overreact to the low blues.
Do Daa is just one of those cats that overreact to the low blues.
Looks to me like Do Daa may be due for a slight dose increase.
He's not spending much time down in the lower blues or in the greens. He is also getting too many pinks during the mid-cycle.
I was thinking just that two days ago. Been a little hectic around here and didn't want to increase yet. We'll shoot for an increase tomorrow to 3.75u, hopefully.
Looks to me like Do Daa may be due for a slight dose increase.
He's not spending much time down in the lower blues or in the greens. He is also getting too many pinks during the mid-cycle.
I'm a bit hesitant to suggest a dose increase, because I think Do Daa got that high pink BG at PMPS because he is bouncing a bit from those low blues in the AM cycle today, 11/27/20.
Any food after +6 today, to spike his BG's up to those pinks?
But you really do want to see more greens in the SS, not just those blues.
So, how would you feel about increasing the dose back to 4U for the AM dose on 11/28/20?
OK.We don't have any issues increasing him to 4u, but I'd like to do it after we use the rest of this current (old) insulin bottle. He has maybe a couple of days left, and we want to start a new increase with a new bottle. We feel that this bottle has almost lost it's potency. I just hope he stops going up in insulin...
OK.
If you are switching to a new vial in a couple of days, then you may want to hold off on the dose increase for a couple of cycles AFTER starting the new vial.
That way, you may be able to see if the old vial has lost it's potency, and that is the reason for the higher BG numbers.
My Thanksgiving was fine. Got to eat what I liked, since I'm the cook, and clean-up crew all in one. I did share some chicken with my cat Dancer, and she is always happy to eat it!
I'm in complete agreement with you on that idea!Also, so glad that there isn't any snow or really cold weather in the Northeast yet! It can keep up with 45-50 degrees straight through 'till spring!
Yes, that sounds right.
Turkey makes great post testing snacks. Freeze some in little bits for Do Daa and the others, to use later. I think I'd have to remove a couple of racks from my oven, to fit a huge turkey like that 24 pound one!
I'm in complete agreement with you on that idea!
Yes, that sounds right.
Turkey makes great post testing snacks. Freeze some in little bits for Do Daa and the others, to use later. I think I'd have to remove a couple of racks from my oven, to fit a huge turkey like that 24 pound one!
I'm in complete agreement with you on that idea!
Yes, that sounds right.
Turkey makes great post testing snacks. Freeze some in little bits for Do Daa and the others, to use later. I think I'd have to remove a couple of racks from my oven, to fit a huge turkey like that 24 pound one!
I'm in complete agreement with you on that idea!
Took Do Daa several cycles (5) on the new bottle of insulin, but he did go down.
Reduction was the way to go with his dose. He surprised you, and took a dive down to the greens at mid-cycle.
Surprised me too!
Took Do Daa several cycles (5) on the new bottle of insulin, but he did go down.
Reduction was the way to go with his dose. He surprised you, and took a dive down to the greens at mid-cycle.
Surprised me too!
Do Daa certainly doesn't make things easy for you, but you are right on top of things Goose.
His appetite is good?
VERY nice string of blues and greens both with the PMPS last night 12/6/20 and this morning 12/7/20.
Thanks Goose. Wanted to confirm, because sometimes when a cat's appetite is diminished or "Off" from normal, the BG levels can trend lower than expected.His appetite is good, (usual for him),