Bill Robinson
Member
Doobie hit a setback on Friday of last week. His Urine Ketones spiked on his early AM home test, and he became lethargic, refused food and vomited clear liquid twice. We called the vet in the AM, they said to watch him for any changes. He was the same at 1300. After clinic closing time (6pm), with no improvement we called the Animal Hospital. The emergency hospital said to bring him in immediately, which we did.
He was having a DKA crises and was in serious distress. Near death. They got him stabilized in 24 hours and ran many tests. Pancreatitis suspected and heart murmur (possibly exacerbated by high level of intravenous fluids) plus the DM.
He spent 3.5 days in the hospital.
Although we felt the hospital did stellar work in saving Doobie and really seemed to care, I was a little put-off by their negative attitude toward our home BG monitoring and urine testing. While they were impressed with the level of care we were providing, they suggested that we stop all the home BG & urine testing and pay more attention to the outward signs of his health. Activity level, eating, hydration, urination, etc. They didn't want a copy of our spreadsheet.
Home testing, they said, often leads to untrained pet owners adjusting doses, skipping doses, etc., which usually negatively affects the long-term treatment plan. We have not met with the Endocrinology Specialist yet who they said may be more comfortable with our home care approach.
Doobie, they said, needs to regularly receive his .5U d 12hrs for at least one week and only be fed prior to each Prozinc dose and then be brought back in for a BG curve in the hospital. Low readings from Human Meters must not interfere with administering the regular dose.
Our Vet is willing to work with us a little more, and agreed that I should increase Doobies' dose to .7Ud12hr if he appeared stabilized on .5U based on our home testing.
Doobie has gone through 3 seperate HYPO incidences. Once on dose #3 of Prozinc (1Ud12hrs), once at the Vet (during his first BG curve 585 to 46) and once during his stay at the hospital.
I am not comfortable trusting them with Doobie despite both facilities being highly respected. I plan to continue all home testing because I trust my attention to detail.
I am not comfortable giving Doobie Prozinc when his PS is around 100. His history is of rapid drops in BG (701 to 41 at the hospital in +2.5) and I don't want to be responsible for killing him.
WHAT THE HECK DO I DO?
He was having a DKA crises and was in serious distress. Near death. They got him stabilized in 24 hours and ran many tests. Pancreatitis suspected and heart murmur (possibly exacerbated by high level of intravenous fluids) plus the DM.
He spent 3.5 days in the hospital.
Although we felt the hospital did stellar work in saving Doobie and really seemed to care, I was a little put-off by their negative attitude toward our home BG monitoring and urine testing. While they were impressed with the level of care we were providing, they suggested that we stop all the home BG & urine testing and pay more attention to the outward signs of his health. Activity level, eating, hydration, urination, etc. They didn't want a copy of our spreadsheet.
Home testing, they said, often leads to untrained pet owners adjusting doses, skipping doses, etc., which usually negatively affects the long-term treatment plan. We have not met with the Endocrinology Specialist yet who they said may be more comfortable with our home care approach.
Doobie, they said, needs to regularly receive his .5U d 12hrs for at least one week and only be fed prior to each Prozinc dose and then be brought back in for a BG curve in the hospital. Low readings from Human Meters must not interfere with administering the regular dose.
Our Vet is willing to work with us a little more, and agreed that I should increase Doobies' dose to .7Ud12hr if he appeared stabilized on .5U based on our home testing.
Doobie has gone through 3 seperate HYPO incidences. Once on dose #3 of Prozinc (1Ud12hrs), once at the Vet (during his first BG curve 585 to 46) and once during his stay at the hospital.
I am not comfortable trusting them with Doobie despite both facilities being highly respected. I plan to continue all home testing because I trust my attention to detail.
I am not comfortable giving Doobie Prozinc when his PS is around 100. His history is of rapid drops in BG (701 to 41 at the hospital in +2.5) and I don't want to be responsible for killing him.
WHAT THE HECK DO I DO?