Disheartened before curve

Status
Not open for further replies.
Darnnit, it's at 82 and I have to go! Going to give him some of his wet and hope for the best? Now I'm nervous and mad at myself :nailbiting::arghh:
 
He's almost at his nadir, remember :). I think if you leave him a LC snack he'll be ok. Did you feed him anything on 7 March night cycle when he had the 84?
 
Well, no more greens tonight. However, I think tomorrow morning may be the first day I do a fat/full 2 units instead of the skinny. Please let me know any thoughts and thanks again for help today everyone!
 
Well, I took the day off due to illness. Go figure. AMPS was 419 and I still gave a skinny 2. Does that mean he's bouncing I now? Made me a bit bummed seeing the 400s. Will give a full 2 tonight. MA is expecting nearly 2 feet of snow tomorrow, so I'm guessing my school will be cancelled. Perfect day for a curve!
 
Looks like a bit of a bounce to me. Sorry you're not feeling well, but it does make for a good time to give a little dose increase ;)

Hopefully you won't get too buried in snow up there!
 
Looks like a bit of a bounce to me. Sorry you're not feeling well, but it does make for a good time to give a little dose increase ;)

Hopefully you won't get too buried in snow up there!
Thank you! Me and the boys have basically slept all day. I won't complain! Does a bounce mean the dose isn't working or just that he's still getting used to it? I feel like the 2 units has been good overall.
 
Any time the blood sugar goes lower than they're used to, they release sugar into the bloodstream to counter it. For our diabetic kitties they don't have to be anywhere near actual hypo territory to trigger it. We refer to that as bouncing.

We don't advise raising the dose over a bounce, but going to a full 2u from a skinny isn't really a big increase and based on the days before he's ready for the full 2u anyway.

Some kitties make bouncing an art form like Teasel, Chuck, and my own little ball of fluff and trouble Hermione. :p
 
Hey all, I just made a new post on PZI, but in case this reaches people sooner- i gave his full 2 units tonight, just got home to do a +5 and he's at 57. Should I give him his normal wet food or go with the gravy? Retest again in 20 minutes? Trying to stay calm, but would love some guidance!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top