Dino Baby dosing help! Should we switch to TR???

Charlotte + Dino Baby

Member Since 2019
Hi all! As many of you lovely, helpful souls know I’ve been struggling to get Dino Baby regulated. We now have a full month of data to show, and I’m wondering if anyone would be able to take a look at her SS and tell me if we’re on the right track.

We’re all the way down to .37 units following SLGS because she would often get under 90, but her AMPS is almost always over 500. I felt like .5 was the magic number but she was dipping into the 40s and 50s. Happy to report I no longer panic and a tablespoon of MC food seems to do the trick. Instead of feeding MC should I just let her hover there?

She’s definitely put on weight (yay!!!) but she’s still drinking and peeing sooo much. I’m free-feeding to put weight on her but take it away 2 hours before her injection to get a clean preshot number. One thing I’ve noticed is that the food I have her on doesn’t have much of an effect on BG, before and after a meal will only raise about 10-15 points. Other, less expensive, LC options I tried seemed to have a much greater effect on BG.

Her PMPS is almost always way lower than her AMPS and I still can’t figure out why!

Any advice or should I just keep on keepin’ on??

See previous posts if it’s helpful:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-bounce-and-nadir-at-11.224564/#post-2512898

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-4-55-and-dropping-help.224409/#post-2510943
 
Last edited:
What food are you using for MC and HC? Mostly curious cause I'd like to know what there is out there for kitties with allergies.

It's quite common for the AMPS numbers to be the last to do down. But you are also missing getting a second test in some of the night cycles (which you need if following TR). It could be she is going lower at night, like many kitties do, then bouncing in the AM. Can you get a before bed test, at least +2 or later every night? The +2 is really helpful in giving us a clue what that night time cycle is looking like. A significant drop from preshot to +2 means a more active cycle that needs either more monitoring and/or food left out so she can keep herself safe. Hard to do with raw unless you have an automated feeder with cooling, so you might need a wet food alternate you can leave out.

Another comment, it looks like you are having some problems keeping preshots times at the same time each day. Yesterday said 9:15, today said 8:00. When you are working your way back, in time, you should be moving shot times either by 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once per day. More than that, and it can impact the numbers. Shooting early can act like a bit of an increase, making it hard to tell how that dose is really doing.

On the 10th, it looks like she got 0.5 units instead of 0.37, and then got a second shot too? How much insulin did she get in total? Inconsistent dose amount can also mess with the depot and give you some odd numbers. She hasn't had 6 cycles in a row yet at the 0.37 unit dose, so it's hard to evaluate what it can do as the depot isn't stable.

Finally, not sure why you didn't go down to 0.25 units after the 45 on the 7th. That's what SLGS would have had you do. She also earned a reduction when she hit 80 the night of the 8th.
 
What food are you using for MC and HC? Mostly curious cause I'd like to know what there is out there for kitties with allergies.

It's quite common for the AMPS numbers to be the last to do down. But you are also missing getting a second test in some of the night cycles (which you need if following TR). It could be she is going lower at night, like many kitties do, then bouncing in the AM. Can you get a before bed test, at least +2 or later every night? The +2 is really helpful in giving us a clue what that night time cycle is looking like. A significant drop from preshot to +2 means a more active cycle that needs either more monitoring and/or food left out so she can keep herself safe. Hard to do with raw unless you have an automated feeder with cooling, so you might need a wet food alternate you can leave out.

Another comment, it looks like you are having some problems keeping preshots times at the same time each day. Yesterday said 9:15, today said 8:00. When you are working your way back, in time, you should be moving shot times either by 15 minutes per cycle, or 1/2 hour once per day. More than that, and it can impact the numbers. Shooting early can act like a bit of an increase, making it hard to tell how that dose is really doing.

On the 10th, it looks like she got 0.5 units instead of 0.37, and then got a second shot too? How much insulin did she get in total? Inconsistent dose amount can also mess with the depot and give you some odd numbers. She hasn't had 6 cycles in a row yet at the 0.37 unit dose, so it's hard to evaluate what it can do as the depot isn't stable.

Finally, not sure why you didn't go down to 0.25 units after the 45 on the 7th. That's what SLGS would have had you do. She also earned a reduction when she hit 80 the night of the 8th.

When feeding MC or HC I never give more than a tablespoon and I mix with her regular food.
MC: friskies pate
HC: fancy feast gravy lovers

From our experience she *does* go much lower at night, and drops faster as well after her PM shot. We can certainly start regularly taking a +2 at night. We put raw food out at bed time (around midnight) and then when it’s gone she wakes me up so she usually gets another meal around 4am. We have a little fridge in our bedroom so I can pretty much do this in my sleep. She eats all damn day and night.

Her times do move around due to me not having a normal work schedule and often having to shoot her an hour or two late in the evenings. Her AM shot tends to come on slower and last longer, leading to having to wait an extra 90 mins or so for her to get over 200. Her night shot comes on fast and is metabolized quicker. If in the morning she’s already over 600 and I need to leave for work I’ll sometimes shoot early. I never shoot her PM early.

On the 10th my husband had to administer and accidentally gave her .5, not realizing that I had reduced. So she got .5 in the AM and .37 in the PM. The note there means her PM shot was the late one!

As for doing .37 instead of .25, I just felt like we were really getting close with .5 and was afraid going all the way down to .25 was going to undo all the work we’ve done. On .5 she was spending a lot of the day in the blue and was back to her old self, active and putting on weight. I was worried if we went that low she’d never be hitting blue and green. Do you think we need to drop to .25?

I just don’t want to see so many black numbers :(
 
Just a point re. the shot times...

With a depot insulin, if you shoot early it acts like a dose increase and if you shoot late, it acts like a dose reduction. This is why consistency with shot time is important -- every time you move the time by more than 30 min., it disrupts the depot and you can end up with less than desirable numbers. I'd be hesitant to draw any conclusions about the patterns in Dino's numbers given the frequency with with at least the AM shot time is changing.
 
Just a point re. the shot times...

With a depot insulin, if you shoot early it acts like a dose increase and if you shoot late, it acts like a dose reduction. This is why consistency with shot time is important -- every time you move the time by more than 30 min., it disrupts the depot and you can end up with less than desirable numbers. I'd be hesitant to draw any conclusions about the patterns in Dino's numbers given the frequency with with at least the AM shot time is changing.
Ah, I see. So when she’s under 200 but over 150 at PMPS should I just shoot on time and give her a tiny bit of MC food? What usually happens is we have to wait in the evening for her to get over 200, which then pushes her AM shot.
 
I like Elise's suggestion above. Ultimately, you want to lower your threshold for shooting. If you do end up needing to delay, you've got to adjust the shot times in order to get back on schedule. There can be times when you shoot an hour early or late but for now, there's no way to know the effect on Dino's numbers.
 
Back
Top