Diluting PZI?

Anna_S

Member
Hello everyone!

Felix has been on Prozink for a couple of months. I put him on a homemade diet with complete supplement. He was scheduled for a blood test next week to see how he is in terms of vitamins.

Thanks to the food, we are now on a very low dose, but I can't find the right one. 0,25 is too low, and 0,5 seems too high to take every day. I tried to measure in between those, but I can't be sure how much I am actually giving.

Can PZI be diluted?

Thank you.

Anna
 
It’s not recommended to dilute ProZinc. What kind of numbers are you seeing? What nadirs? Do you have a spreadsheet so we can be of more help? It sounds like you are using the U-40 syringes and they have half unit markings?
 
It’s not recommended to dilute ProZinc. What kind of numbers are you seeing? What nadirs? Do you have a spreadsheet so we can be of more help? It sounds like you are using the U-40 syringes and they have half unit markings?
The spreadsheet is on my profile page in the "home page" section. Here is the link for your convenience: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1SQU4jhY6AtLPNC0AijpH8C82kOSAzUov4ZiH3fvc44I/edit?usp=sharing
Nadirs vary, but often between 60 and 90. Preshoot numbers can be very different though... And the duration is not great.
I tried not shooting for a couple of days, but the numbers are not consistent.
 
Hi there. I’m just checking in. You’ve been getting some pretty decent nadirs in the evening cycles when you test. I’m assuming you are not home during the day? I would still get a BG test before every single shot in order to keep Felix safe — so that you know if it’s even safe to shoot at all or if a temporary reduction or a skip is necessary.
 
Last edited:
Look at February 2 for example? There’s no preshot test and by the end of the cycle he’s in the high pink (385). I’m wondering why. It’s a possibility that he dropped too low during that cycle and so spiked up as a result. There are no tests for that evening’s cycle so we can’t tell if he was in a bounce or not (seems likely.) Then it’s five more days until the next data is entered so it is not possible to interpret too much from the spreadsheet (too many gaps.)

With evening nadirs in the 50s (which is already below the target BG nadirs for the SLGS method) I would consider reducing his dose slightly if you are not able to get many tests on him for whatever reason (on certain days where there are no tests) or if you cannot monitor with a Libre sensor. Our priority is to prevent a hypo and I see that you are sometimes able to get the nighttime tests, but not daytime tests - that’s why I make the suggestion of a slightly reduced dose. I’m not sure what .4 is unless you are using U-100 syringes and using the conversion chart.
 
Look at February 2 for example? There’s no preshot test and by the end of the cycle he’s in the high pink (385). I’m wondering why. It’s a possibility that he dropped too low during that cycle and so spiked up as a result. There are no tests for that evening’s cycle so we can’t tell if he was in a bounce or not (seems likely.) Then it’s five more days until the next data is entered so it is not possible to interpret too much from the spreadsheet (too many gaps.)

With evening nadirs in the 50s (which is already below the target BG nadirs for the SLGS method) I would consider reducing his dose slightly if you are not able to get many tests on him for whatever reason (on certain days where there are no tests) or if you cannot monitor with a Libre sensor. Our priority is to prevent a hypo and I see that you are sometimes able to get the nighttime tests, but not daytime tests - that’s why I make the suggestion of a slightly reduced dose. I’m not sure what .4 is unless you are using U-100 syringes and using the conversion chart.

Thank you!

Yes, I am not at home during the daytime. Regarding pre-shoot tests, he is too active, running around waiting for food, so every time I wait for him to eat first, and only then test. We tried Libre, but Felix is quite slim, and they all fail after 3 days. Tried different places, and tried wearing a suit. It doesn't work for us.
I have notes on the right in the spreadsheet. When I tried giving 0.25, his preshoot test was higher and higher every day. And on 0.4-ish he shows the most consistent numbers. I'm saying -ish, because on such low doses, I just can't get rid of the bubbles, and they seem to take a significant volume. I guess it's more 0.3-0.4. We shoot both with U40 and U100 syringes and do the conversion depending on the syringe. With U40, I just eyeball it usually, but bubbles mess up the precision.
For 2nd Feb, I am convinced it is because I left a granola plate on the table. When I came back, he already licked out about a fourth of the yoghurt in there. He is very hungry and is constantly trying to steal food.
Anyway, I will reduce the night dose to 0.25. Thank you for the advice.

When BG bounces, does it affect ketone levels? We recently bought a meter. I'm planning to use it when I see unusually high numbers.
 
I would not recommend shooting different doses between morning and night. There are so few tests for extended periods of time during the day as well - so he very well may be dropping too low during the day as well. I just worry about that. And at night, obviously he had that lime green and needed an immediate reduction on the next cycle. With your current limitations on testing, you should probably set yourself a slightly higher BG range. Keeping him in mostly blue numbers would be perfectly fine and would be below the kidney threshold so it would not hurt him.
 
When BG bounces, does it affect ketone levels? We recently bought a meter. I'm planning to use it when I see unusually high numbers.
It can. BG doesn’t have to be that high to have ketones present. My cat went into DKA when having lots of yellow numbers in the 200s. But every cat is different.
 
BD. Of course, this was when my cat was on Lantus and later Levemir. We used ProZinc as well, but during that time I used U-40 syringes
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-11_19-1-0.jpeg
    upload_2024-2-11_19-1-0.jpeg
    46.1 KB · Views: 113
It can. BG doesn’t have to be that high to have ketones present. My cat went into DKA when having lots of yellow numbers in the 200s. But every cat is different.
Ok. At the moment, every time I checked, it was showing no ketones, but I had no system. Will check when he is higher. But I assume right after eating higher is normal, and we are mainly talking about numbers after nadir?
 
Ok. At the moment, every time I checked, it was showing no ketones, but I had no system. Will check when he is higher. But I assume right after eating higher is normal, and we are mainly talking about numbers after nadir?
Ketones can vary quite a bit during the course of the day — that’s what I found when testing my cat multiple times a day. Once I figured this out, I tried to just test once a day to not drive myself crazy… plus the ketone test strips were expensive!
 
Back
Top