Different readings on two Reli-On Confirm meters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Alley

Member Since 2010
Tested my Alley on 12-22 and he hit 333 on three different times on the same day, the trifecta! Wondered how that could happen so I purchased another Reli-On Confirm meter and double tested him this morning, same drop of blood, same everything. My usual meter tested at 339 and the new one tested at 382. This is a huge difference! I know there is a recall on some test strips but the Confirm was not listed as part of that recall.
Has anyone else found a problem like this? I know I can get a solution to calibrate the meter, but in the meantime, which number is accurate?
 
hey there!

I replied on your other thread:

some things to ponder-

meter variance can be 10% to 30%...

If you go with the commonly supported 10% variance, that means a meter reading 50 ( 10% being 5) can be between 45 and 55.

The higher the number the higher the variance.

So a meter reading 400 ( 10% being 40) can be between 360 and 440.

So, trust your meters...all is well.

Another thing- pick a meter and stick with it. You'll drive yourself batty using ore than one meter!

Lastly, on the red last night...on the 22nd, you bookended with reds and the stuffing was yellow....yesterday you had ONE red and the stuffing was blue....today you started with pink!

It IS actually progress.

Lev is long acting and with the shed effect you MUST allow the settle time before you judge.

Judgement is on the lowest number in the cycle, not highest. Try to focus on the pretty blues!

Sorry, short of time...didn't mean to leave out the fluff, so here it is! (((HUGS))) go YOU! :RAHCAT

Hang in there! ;-)

:thumbup
 
Either meter could be correct, but try testing yourself, hubby, on both and see which one "makes more sense" and then stick with that one and reserve the other as an emergency meter. The other thing to consider is that a meter is really just telling you a trend - not absolutes. Beause of that meter variance (allowed by FDA or meters would cost us a real fortune for the technology necessary for having exact accuracy) the numbers are an indicator of regulation only. Would the different numbers cause you to make a different dosing decision? No. So pick one, and use it only.

I went through meter craziness last spring and ended up buying a whole new system (Contour).
 
Ok, I'm convinced, original meter will stand. Had the lowest PMBS number for a long time.
Will settle in for awhile and see how it goes.

Merry Christmas to everyone!
Thanks again for all this help and support.

Pam & Alley
 
Going with the flow. Hit another 400 this morning, so changed to 4 drops. Expect blue to green numbers today, will watch Alley carefully for the next couple of days to see if he settles in at that dose. So glad we tried 2 drops before adjusting up. At least I know I am not overdosing him.
Had a relaxing Christmas, glad it is over.
 
I am thinking I did not get all 4 drops in Alley last night. Reason for 388 at +3 and 400 this morning. Not a bad thing, as he only went up 12 points, so he must have settled in somewhere last night. Feel confident that 4 drops will keep him low enough for now, if only they made syringes with drop measurements!! Haven't found two syringes in a row without flaws. Either the zero line is off or the stopper is uneven. IF ONLY......
 
Don't get me started on syringes! I so wish they made a 10 or 20 unit syringe so the lines were further apart. And miss-printing of the lines seems to be a frequent problem. Where do you get your syringes? I get mine from Hocks (the GNP ones) and maybe 1 in 3 or 4 is off-printed.

Also, where do you inject? I think that Jeddie's numbers are different based on where I inject (closer or farther away from his scruff), but with Beau it made no difference.
 
I got my syringes at Wal-Mart, as they had to order them for me in 1/2 unit markings. It only took 2 days to come in so that was great. Maybe we have stumbled upon an invention?? I also notice sometimes the stopper is not perfectly straight, so turning the barrel, it seems to be off a little when filled. GRRRR...

I shoot him in the scruff below where the collar line would be, toward the tail, sometimes a little lower if I can scruff there. If his weight is down, of course it is easier to get in, but he has gained some weight (about 12 lbs now) and it's harder to pull up lose skin. In what area do you get the best readings? Someone suggested I shoot at the hip but Alley is a licker, and if I got a fur shot, he would get to the insulin. I don't feel safe at the hip.

How is Jeddie doing? I have not had a chance to check his ss.

Alley had his best AMPS ever today at 294, may hit greens today. But I know better than to think this is a sure thing with him.

My son's family was supposed to come in today, and stay through the New Year, but he called last night and his youngest is sick with the flu. So here I sit with a really clean house and a ton of food in the fridge, but at least the house is quiet, I am so bad!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top