difference between human and AlphaTrak monitors

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidismom

Member Since 2012
I got the wrong strips for my AlphaTrak2 monitor from the vet. I have a human glucometer-- "OneTouch Ultra Mini" --that I can use but I understand there is a difference in readings --for example, if my cat's BG is 180 on the human glucometer, her actual BG might be 150 (30 points less) ? Is this true? Thanks . I'm not going to give her insulin unless I know for sure.

Corinne
 
Hi Corinne,

heidismom said:
for example, if my cat's BG is 180 on the human glucometer, her actual BG might be 150 (30 points less) ?
No, that's backwards. Cats test lower on a human meter vs. a pet meter.
Example: My FD Clark tested 99 on a human Relion Confirm & 141 on an Alpha Trak.

This is why you need to be concerned when Heidi is showing you low numbers on the Alpha Trak, and why you should always remind folks (even though it's in your signature) when you are posting AT numbers (high or low). Most folks on the boards use human meters, and can easily overlook (even though it's in bold red :smile:) the AT "alert" in your signature.

Also, there isn't an exact "30 point difference" between an AT and a human meter. As you can see, Clark's difference was 42 points higher on the AT for that reading...using the same drop of blood.

Just a suggestion, but if you purchased a $9 Relion Confirm, you would not only save a ton of money on BG strips...but you would save yourself a ton of aggravation by doing away with all of this tricky math! :-D

Deb
 
Thanks, Barn Cats R Us,

I'm embarrassed because had it right a few hours before I posted this question....I'm pretty stressed out from worrying about Heidi.

I'm going to check out the Relion Confirm. I bought the AlphaTrak before I knew what I was doing--I thought I needed one that was intended for animals. I didn't realize the strips would be so darned expensive.

Corinne
 
Corinne,

There's no need to be embarrassed...and try not to get too stressed. Heidi is doing really well. If you can get some more tests in, you may want to try 0.25u BID, instead of skipping doses. A quarter unit lies "just" above the very first mark at the bottom of your U100 syringe barrel. The Lantus folks can guide you through this.

Heidi looks like she may want to go "OTJ" (off the juice), but you want to offer her pancreas some support, and more time to heal, on her way down the dosing ladder (and it looks like she wants to race down that ladder!). Good for Heidi...and you!

Just an example (remember that ECID, or "every cat is different"): My "Marilyn" is currently on less than 0.1u...which is merely a tiny drop...but she needs it to bring her back down after a meal. Her pancreas just isn't cutting it on its' own. Sometimes 0.1u brings her a little too low...but she is tested often...and I am always here with her. If she goes low, a small meal causes her to "surf" in beautiful numbers, for an extended period.

I don't know your situation...or how often you're able to test...but that 180 you got on a human meter is still a "diabetic number". However, you have it in the "+1" position, which makes me think it was after a meal, and therefore, a "food influenced" number.

I guess the main things are:

1) Add your feedings in the comment section...as soon as you're able. If you click on "Clark's SS" in my signature (please note that he only has 2 tests per day because he is no longer on insulin), you will not only see an example of "OTJ" (off the juice) numbers for a FD (feline diabetic) in remission, but you will also see examples (in the latter months of his SS) of how I decided to note his feedings in the comments. If you choose this method, you need to use AM & PM "plus hours", not actual times, since we are all in different time zones, and don't know your shooting schedule. Some folks add a line to the spreadsheet, and just type "fed" under the appropriate "plus hour". Whatever works for you.

2) Most important...let everyone know what meter you have settled on...and stick with whatever meter you choose. If for any reason you have to use a different meter, you should make a note of it in the comment section of Heidi's SS, and also note which reading(s) the different meter pertains to (like that 180). Consistency with one meter is important...otherwise...you won’t know what’s going on, and your head will explode. :shock:

Sorry about the novel...don't want to stress you. Hang in there.

Deb
 
Thanks, Deb. I appreciate your concern. And thanks for the information. For personal health reasons, I'm not going to do the TR Lantus program, but I will still check in here because I have learned a lot and am still learning.

I really thought she wanted to go OTJ, but last week Heidi also got diagnosed with pancreatitis, so she's back on her old dosing schedule of pred, 2.5mg every other day, which is still a small dose but of course, her diabetes will get active again, so she is back on insulin. Actually if we hadn't reduced her pred, we might never have discovered she also has this pancreatitis issue. She's getting B12 shots and fluids sub-q as part of her pancreatitis treatment.

I had to use my human glucometer for awhile and my head did feel like it was going to explode!

How do you even measure .1 unit ?! I find it almost impossible to measure .5 unit !

Thanks again, for taking the time to write all this, Deb. Take care and best wishes to your kitties!

Corinne
 
HI Corinne, hope Heidi is doing better today. Here is a link that shows how to do micodosing on Lantus: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139. I agree about the syringes and markings - for those of us in a certain age group (ahem) its difficult. Someone else here on the board said she uses a magnifying glass to see the markings on the syringe (which I might have to start doing). I'm sorry to hear Heidi had to go back on the pred again. Sitka's been on and off steroids for years and while its saved her life it does make things kinda challenging. Ya just gotta love those million dollar babies!!!!! Jan
 
nwnews said:
HI Corinne, hope Heidi is doing better today. Here is a link that shows how to do micodosing on Lantus: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139. I agree about the syringes and markings - for those of us in a certain age group (ahem) its difficult. Someone else here on the board said she uses a magnifying glass to see the markings on the syringe (which I might have to start doing). I'm sorry to hear Heidi had to go back on the pred again. Sitka's been on and off steroids for years and while its saved her life it does make things kinda challenging. Ya just gotta love those million dollar babies!!!!! Jan

Hi Jan, Heidi seems more like her old self today. :smile:

Thanks for the link! A magnifying glass is a great idea. I am "of a certain age" too. :lol:

Sitka is lucky to be off steroids; I'm not sure Heidi will ever get there. I think the IBD brought about the pancreatitis. She isn't throwing up all the time anymore so you'd think the IBD was cured--that's why the vet said to taper off prednisolone. But apparently the pred was keeping the pancreatitis tamed down and when we took it away, she became symptomatic and tested out as having pancreatitis. Love the million dollar babies!

Corinne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top