? Did not shoot at all today due to 'normal' AM & PM BG. How to proceed?

soreto

Member Since 2025
I posted a few months ago asking about what remission looks like because I was struggling with whether to shoot if he is within normal BG range. I was told by two diff vets to not shoot if BG is under 100 (pet meter). Here's that post:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-deal-with-sorta-remission-bg-readings-shoot-once-a-day.307118/#post-3313554

I took away from the advice on that post that I would still shoot if BG is above 90. Well, lately there has been BGs in the 70s. (pet meter, which gives higher reading than human)

His dose started at 2.0u when diagnosed. Lately, it has been dropped to 0.5u or 0.75u.
Today is the first time that both AM & PM BG was well under 100. AMPS 74 PMPS 80. (again, pet meter) So I just didn't shoot at all today. I'm not sure how to proceed if he keeps getting these low but normal #s.

Attached are readings from past couple weeks. (I don't use google for good reason/please forgive)
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_21-7-2026_04352_gonesheet.com.jpeg
    Screenshot_21-7-2026_04352_gonesheet.com.jpeg
    100.7 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:
Hey, congrats on helping your little guy come down on his dose so consistently!

I not an expert here, so hopefully one of them will weigh in soon, but from what I remember you’re doing the right thing: once your cat starts to have BG’s consistently under your shooting cutoff, you can start an “off the juice trial”.

That’s where you go for 14 days testing every AM and PM, but without giving insulin. If the cat makes it all 14 days with their BG under 100 on the human meter (I’m unsure if the cutoff for pet meter) they are considered in remission and are now a diet-controlled diabetic.

If they get over 100 on the human meter for two tests they go back on a small dose of insulin.

Here is a blog post one of our admin wrote about their experience with the process:
Remission and Relapse in Diabetic Cats – Felinediabetes.com

Again I am not an expert but I wanted to share what I remember and hope it’s helpful!
 
What was the BG this morning? It’s still a bit early to consider stopping insulin altogether. Lots of blues in the mix. From your data that you have, and with SLGS you don’t want to shoot if the BG is under 90, and you’d want to hold reduction in dose for 7 days, unless the cat goes under 90 again. Any chance you can get a test in between each cycle both am and pm for a little while, just to see how the BG nadirs are looking? There is some depot action from 0.75u still in play, albeit it’s a bit disrupted with the skips yesterday.
 
Hey, congrats on helping your little guy come down on his dose so consistently!

I not an expert here, so hopefully one of them will weigh in soon, but from what I remember you’re doing the right thing: once your cat starts to have BG’s consistently under your shooting cutoff, you can start an “off the juice trial”.

That’s where you go for 14 days testing every AM and PM, but without giving insulin. If the cat makes it all 14 days with their BG under 100 on the human meter (I’m unsure if the cutoff for pet meter) they are considered in remission and are now a diet-controlled diabetic.

If they get over 100 on the human meter for two tests they go back on a small dose of insulin.

Here is a blog post one of our admin wrote about their experience with the process:
Remission and Relapse in Diabetic Cats – Felinediabetes.com

Again I am not an expet but I wanted to share what I remember and hope it’s helpful!
thanks so much for this! it's really helpful!
 
What was the BG this morning? It’s still a bit ely to onside stoppig insulin altogether. Lots of blues in the mix. From your data that you have, and with SLGS you don’t want to shoot if the BG is under 90, and you’d want to hold reduction in dose for 7 days, unless the at goes under 90 again. Any chance you can get a test in between each cycle both am and pm for a little while, just to see how the ae looking? Thee is some depot action from 0.75u still in play, albeit it’s a bit disupted with the skips yesterday.

yesterday (pet meter) AMPS 131 PMPS 120 (probably high due to having fed him sweet potato)

today (pet meter) AMPS 100 PMPS 90

i shot as usual until today's PMPS where i skipped because i am out of medium/high carb food. what i've been doing for months now when his #s are lower is give him his shot as usual but also feed medium/high carb food at the same time. it's because i dont want him to dip too low when i am not home or when i am asleep.

in my experience it's about 20pt diff between human & pet meter at the lower BG #s, which is why i dont feel comfortable shooting below 90.

he grazes/eats multiple times a day, so it's hard to say what the BG nadirs are without just doing a full day of testing. may have to just do that soon.
 
Back
Top