Did I do the right thing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Yesterday I got 4 BG values on Bubba. AMPS =371 , +6= 186 ,PMPS= 387, +5.5 = 232
Previously, he had been higher in the mornings than evenings and that switched yesterday.
So, this morning he was at 303. I creeped is insulin up by .5 unit, thinking all his values would go down. He had been at 1.25 for more than 3 cycles. Did I do the right thing?
 
I replied on your other thread. I suggested getting a curve today - numbers every 3 hours or so - to see what he does with the dose. When he starts down, how low it takes him, when he starts back up, etc.
 
Ok, I will do my best to do a curve today, I'll be in and out. Thx!
I did the curve today and not sure how to interpret it. Prior, Bubba amps were higher and since I increased the insulin this morning to 1.5 it's in reverse,higher pmps. He does have the "smile" in the curve. From 3:30 pm to 6 p his BG rose 180 points. Should I give the same dose tonight or reduce??
 
Interesting. Well, he dropped nicely. And you're right - it's a smile curve. Interesting that he jumped in the last 3 hours. I wonder if there was a lower number in the +5/7 range and he bounced from that.

The good news is that the insulin is working fine - he drops from the pre shot. I think I'd stick with the 1.5 for pink/red pre shots and see how he settles. If you get a yellow pre shot, I would reduce the dose.
 
Interesting. Well, he dropped nicely. And you're right - it's a smile curve. Interesting that he jumped in the last 3 hours. I wonder if there was a lower number in the +5/7 range and he bounced from that.

The good news is that the insulin is working fine - he drops from the pre shot. I think I'd stick with the 1.5 for pink/red pre shots and see how he settles. If you get a yellow pre shot, I would reduce the dose.
Thanks Sue!
 
Yesterday all Bubba's numbers were in the 200's. I was only able to get amps, 4.5 hours later, and pmps. Then this morning he was 390. Is this bouncing? I gave him an increase to 1.5 because he was in the pink zone. I don't get why he is sorta all over the place. Does this just happen or is there something different I should do?
 
Yesterday's cycle looks sorta flat but nice yellows. And your pmps was nice. I would do as you are doing - 1.5 if he is in the higher 300s and 1.25 if he has a yellow preshot. I think he is doing fine, adjusting to the insulin and getting decent ranges. Remember, you have only had him on insulin a week or so. I'd just keep collecting the data and keeping him safe - out of low numbers - and give it a while. Unless a cat goes off insulin right away (which is usually a wonderful reaction to getting off a high carb food and is relatively unusual) you are looking at several months of his body and the insulin learning to work together. What we usually see is a gradual dropping over time into lower ranges.

He is getting there. Try not to worry too much about him. Is he happy? Eating well, peeing and pooping normally? Does his fur look good?

And you are doing fine. You can control his not going into numbers that are too low. But everything else is up to him and his body and it's an imprecise process. I like this analogy - it's a sugar dance. You are trying to follow along but he leads, and he is the only one who can hear the music. :D
 
Yesterday's cycle looks sorta flat but nice yellows. And your pmps was nice. I would do as you are doing - 1.5 if he is in the higher 300s and 1.25 if he has a yellow preshot. I think he is doing fine, adjusting to the insulin and getting decent ranges. Remember, you have only had him on insulin a week or so. I'd just keep collecting the data and keeping him safe - out of low numbers - and give it a while. Unless a cat goes off insulin right away (which is usually a wonderful reaction to getting off a high carb food and is relatively unusual) you are looking at several months of his body and the insulin learning to work together. What we usually see is a gradual dropping over time into lower ranges.

He is getting there. Try not to worry too much about him. Is he happy? Eating well, peeing and pooping normally? Does his fur look good?

And you are doing fine. You can control his not going into numbers that are too low. But everything else is up to him and his body and it's an imprecise process. I like this analogy - it's a sugar dance. You are trying to follow along but he leads, and he is the only one who can hear the music. :D
Good analogy Sue! Yes, he seems a lot better, fur looks good, he has energy and wants to be outside for hours in the am an pm. Peeing a lot goes in spurts, one day lots, the next day normal, pooping normal too. Good to know that it will take a while to adjust. I will continue as status quo. Thank Sue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top