Did i do the right thing missing Duke's dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teetee (UK)

Member Since 2019
Duke just wasn't interested in his breakfast at all this morning and he's eaten nothing, we tried 6 different types of food for over two hours but nothing, so we decided to skip his dose.
What i need to know is did we do the right thing by skipping or should we have given him a lesser dose, say half or less.
Obviously if he doesn't eat his supper tonight we will take him to the vets tomorrow morning if we can get him in. At the moment he's sleeping upstairs, but that's normal for him.
What dose should i give him PM if he decides not to eat again or just eats a little.
Typical this just after he had a great last night with his numbers.
Thanks.
 
I would definitely follow up with the vet if Duke is still not eating. It’s important that diabetic cats eat.
If he is still not wanting to eat at PMPS I would post and ask foe help.
Have you tried Tuna juice, Parmesan cheese or even some higher carb food to try and intice him to eat?
 
Hi @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I tried him about 1/2 an hour ago and he ate about 30 grams quite easily, however he's just been to the toilet and his poops are rock hard so maybe he's a bit constipated and got tummy ache, i will add 1/8 teaspoon Psyllium Husk Powder to his food tonight to see if that helps him or should i try to give him it now.
Luckily his bloods are not flying up, he was AMPS 9.1 mmol (164 mg/dl) and i checked him at AM+4.5 and he's come down slightly to 8.1 mmol (146 mg/dl)
 
I’m glad he ate some food for you. It does sound as if he is constipated. I’d try giving him something for it now and also some extra fluids if you can. Maybe add some warm water to his food if he’ll eat it.
 
I’m glad he ate some food for you. It does sound as if he is constipated. I’d try giving him something for it now and also some extra fluids if you can. Maybe add some warm water to his food if he’ll eat it.

Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I will try him with some powder now and see if he will eat it. Normally we give him an extra 20/25 ml extra water in his food AM and PM so he can get up to 50ml extra per day but obviously he needs more help in that regard.
 
He ate a tablespoon of food with the 1/8 teaspoon of powder in it no problem but i noticed on the packet that it contains nearly 35 grams carbs to 100 grams powder, hopefully the small amount won't affect his BG with him not having any insulin today.
Do you have any idea as to how long the psyllium husk takes to work?
 
I’m glad you gave him extra water. The husks can take I think 12 hours to up to 3 days to work. Make sure he’s drinking plenty.
I doubt there are many carbs in the amount you have.
 
This is psyllium husk powder i have given him, i hope it's ok. Should i get something different do you think.

IMG_20210601_153246617.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210601_153246617.jpg
    IMG_20210601_153246617.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 132
Something i have found interesting is this, maybe that's why the carb content is so high in the powder because it's more concentrated.

Psyllium husk can be made into psyllium powder in a spice grinder, although you can also purchase the powder in some health food stores. A 1-tablespoon serving of the husk produces 1 teaspoon of powder, both of which have 20 calories per serving and 5 grams of dietary fiber.

If three teaspoons of powder equals one tablespoon of husk then have i given Duke more than the recommended dose with it being powder?
I gave him 1/8 teaspoon of powder, should it have been 1/3 of that perhaps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top