Did a +10 in Loki got 68 +1 307 +2 327 pmps 327

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68

Hi Michelle ~O) ~O) How have you been? I see Loki can't seem to make up her mind on the dose increases and decreased. Can you get a +11 and post it in your subject line? What time is Loki's shot due???
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68

I don't think I've ever done a 24 hour curve!

What I wonder is whether a +2 or +3 last night would have given you some sense that numbers were heading downward. Often a test at around +2 or +3 can be an indication of how the cycle is likely to go.

If Loki's numbers are lower at AMPS, please post. You may want to take a look at this post on handling a low pre-shot.
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 amps 78

Just did his amps and he is at 78 had to feed him because he was really out of his mind begging. I just read the Low numbers stickies and if I skip this dose too then will have yet another bounce, wondering if his #'s come up after feeding if It would be wise to shoot? Not really sure what to do any more.
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 amps 78

mimi4neeyah and Loki said:
Just did his amps and he is at 78 had to feed him because he was really out of his mind begging. I just read the Low numbers stickies and if I skip this dose too then will have yet another bounce, wondering if his #'s come up after feeding if It would be wise to shoot? Not really sure what to do any more.
Hi Michelle, what time did you feed him? if right before or immediately after the +11 reading, I don't think his numbers came up from the feeding; food-inspired BG's usually aren't a true BG reading until it has been at least 2 hours (unless it has been 2 hours since fed). I admit I done the same thing in the past. Hard to say if Loki will bounce if you skip the shot, but there is a very good chance if you do. How about asking for some dosing advice in your subject line? Something like 6/12 Loki PM+10 68 PM+11 78 ? dose, and then click on the ? icon...just a suggestion. Sorry I can't help you with any advice, but I'm sure you'll have to put the food up and retest...
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68

It took me a few times to completely understand the "handling low numbers" sticky--I'm a little thick in the brain department :lol: and it takes a little bit of time (and re-reading the stickies) for things to "sink in".... Hang in there Michelle :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68

Michelle

Do you have plenty of strips, HC food/gravy, karo and will you be home to test?

How long since you fed? Can you grab another test please and see where he is now?
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68

Hi,
If you have already fed Loki you no longer have the option of stalling until numbers rise (with food on board Loki's numbers will go up and give you a false impression), so I think that you should either give your regular dose (especially if you are around to test and have enough strips and HC or Karo to be able to "steer" the cycle), or give a reduced dose. Of course, you can always skip the shot, but, as you say, then you set up the bounce and drop again. Even if you decide to skip or give the reduced dose, you will see "shed action". So I think that if it were I, I would give the shot as usual.
Will you be around today to watch him?

Best of luck. Try not to worry. You can manage this!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 +1 307

Will you be around to test today? If so, I would give the shot if you can work with the new shot time. If someone else with more experience responds, disregard my answer! Did you double check the 307 result? I had a 44 once and it tuned out to be a wonky test strip. Real reading was over 200!
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 +1 307

I'm glad he was able to get his shot this morning.

I'm sure you know the shot for tonight should be given 12 hours after you shot this morning.
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 +1 307

Hi Michelle :-D Great shooting! You did a great job handling Loki's number this morning and keeping us posted on the dosing strategy. I'm sorry if we confused you on having two postings things...it just is easier to keep everything in one place. I've done the double postings in the past, especially when I was frantic and had no idea what to do. You are doing a FANTASTIC job, Michelle. If our intentions seemed forthright, it was only meant in your & Loki's best interests. I think sometimes some members mean soooo well, but it might come off like being bossy...especially when the member asking for help is a wreck. I'm so glad you were able to shoot.
 
Re: Did a +10 in Loki got 68 +1 307 +2 327

Great job Michelle!

I wanted to clear up one thing about bounces. There's a big difference between "bouncing" and just the BG rising due to a skipped shot.

And your past history with Prozinc might cause some of the confusion.

With Prozinc, when you skip a shot, it's going to cause a pretty quick rise in numbers, because once Prozinc wears out, there is no "residual effect". The insulin gets used up and then there's nothing keeping the numbers from climbing.

Lantus works a little differently. You've seen people mention the "depot" a lot? Lantus builds up a "reserve" of sorts for lack of a better word. It builds to a certain level, and it can stay around for a while. When you increase or decrease a dose, most times you don't see an immediate effect on the numbers. It can take a few cycles sometimes until the depot "settles" to a new level. You would have to skip several shots until the Lantus was completely gone from his body.

That's why some have mentioned that if you skip or give a much smaller dose, that doesn't mean nothing will happen with the BGs "this cycle". They can still drop because the depot is still there. That's why there usually isn't an immediate response to a change in dose most of the time.

Bounces, however, aren't caused by skipping a shot of Lantus. They are caused usually by low numbers. I think I mentioned the other day about the liver kicking in to quickly raise the numbers? That's a bounce. And that's why I said that Loki was going to bounce whether you skipped or not. Same thing today. He was going to bounce anyway.

The big benefit to not skipping and shooting like you did today is that it seems to lessen the amount of time it takes for the cat to "clear the bounce" and return to better numbers.

Shooting low numbers can be very scary especially at first. But I can tell you that all the great people who helped you today have done it, and they sure do know first hand what it's like and how to help you with it!
 
I'm late chiming in, but I think you did a good job - getting the +10 gave you a clue as to what was going on, and it gave you a chance to ask for advice. Getting the +13 showed you that the big rise had started, so you were able to get some insulin in. And he has already started coming down, so giving him the shot definitely helped.

One thing, if you're still up tonight I would try to get a spot check before bed. Since he is lower at PMPS than he was during the day, he might have some downward momentum tonight.

Good work, though. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top