Diangnosed 8-9

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by schlania, Sep 26, 2020.

1. schlania

schlania Member

Good Morning, I have a question about dosing with pro zinc, Blitzy was diagnosed on 8-9, pancreatitis, fatty liver, and possibly ibd has thickening of the intestines.. He has been on vetsulin, I finally found a vet to switch to prozinc, he was on 3 of vetsulin, she recommended 2 of prozinc to start.. Would this be the right dose?

Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Gill & Mac (UK)

Gill & Mac (UK) Member

Hi
    I'm very new to this and people with more experience will reply and answer your question.
    I'm only replying as Mac has recently changed from Caninsulin to Prozinc recently too. He was on 1.5 iu Caninsulin at the time of the change but was moved to 1 iu of Prozinc as vet wanted to make the change cautiously. He then went onto 1.6iu after the next 8 day full BG curve.
    As I say others will know much more of what is normal
    Gill

Last edited: Sep 26, 2020
  3. Gill & Mac (UK)

Gill & Mac (UK) Member

Hi although our vet followed the same sort of pattern as you (as above) ie started us on less iu of prozinc than we were already on of caninsulin i don't know if that's the usual
    So I've tagged some people below who are much more experienced at this and know about prozinc so will know if going from 3iu of caninsulin to starting on 2iu of prozinc sounds about right which is what you were checking.

Hi ladies - I hope this works & is the right thing to do as I've not tried it before (if its considered rude or breaches etiquette I sincerely apologise so please do tell me! )

@JanetNJ
    @Deb & Wink
    @Panic

Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

Normally you switch to the same amount you've been dosing, but 3u is a little high starting dose to begin with. I don't see any data for 3u on your spreadsheet, only 2.5?

Deb & Wink likes this.
  5. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member