Diablo 1/23

Status
Not open for further replies.
Great Call last night on dropping the dose further on the wonky looking inverse curve on the 1 unit yesterday.

Please look at Chewy's SS -- as Diablo is reminding me a lot of him.

Who knows, Diablo might shoot up to 300 in a hour, but obviously he is in a reduction phase on needing insulin.

Don't feed right now and retest him in a hour, BUT---when you do have to feed (he is hungry!)---A good test to see if his pancreas is producing insulin is to-- test him, feed him his normal meal and then retest in an hour. IF his pancreas is producing insulin, you will see the numbers stay flat or come down without you giving him insulin. If they are flat, retest in 30 mins and see if the numbers are dropping. If so, this is because his pancreas is reacting to the food and the need to break it down into energy-- thus producing insulin. A lot of times, like with Chewy, a cat can be a Diet controlled Diabetic. Their pancreas can produce some insulin, just not enough to combat all the Dry food and carbs. IF, I started back feeding Chewy dry food, he would need supplemental insulin. But, as long as I feed him a low carb wet food, though his pancreas is compromised and not capable of producing a lot of insulin-- it can produce enough to handle low carb food. Hopefully, this is where Diablo is headed.
 
If you have to go to work, then skip this shot. DO NOT shoot into a 144. Just test him when you get home from work and go from there. He might stay low, or he might go high today due to these lower numbers and his liver might panic. So, irregardless of the test, DO NOT increase the insulin dose on the next shot!

You are using U100s right? Because, you might be headed to just small, small doses to support his pancreas into remission.

Good Luck!

You are doing GREAT! :-D
 
Will it be too late to retest two hours after feeding? That's the next time I'll be able to test. I can test him in 15 minutes, which would be 30 minutes after eating, then again at two hours.
 
That is good---test him at 30 mins post food and at 2 hours post food.

It will mess your schedule up, but you can give insulin later this morning if needed --- Just realizing that it will mean your 12 hour schedule has now changed! IF your schedule is important than you can just skip and shoot again on your normal schedule. Sometimes when they start going into remission, the schedules go out the window.
 
Ok--- I always found that a can of food raised Kitty and Chewy about 40 points, so I would say the increase could be the food. I just am not sure if it would happen within 30 mins. I still would hold of giving any insulin until you retest in 1.5 hours. Then, you might need to dose him.

We say that Prozinc is a 12 hour insulin, but the duration varies- so, you could have had a longer duration the last cycle.....BUT, I doubt that! Normally on small doses, I found the duration to not be as long.

Retest when you get home and post the reading.
 
When you retest him in 1.5 hours, if his reading is flat or lower that will mean the pancreas is helping! The BG would go up and then come back down after eating, so don't be discouraged with the increase-- the food would be ahead of the pancreas.
 
Okay, so it didn't drop after feeding. You can do one of two things.
You can shoot your normal dose now, and plan on shooting 12 hours from now tonight.
Or, you can shoot a tad less now, hope that he has a shorter cycle today due to the smaller dose, and possibly get back on schedule tonight.

Carl
 
The .8 left you unsupportable this morning, so it "appears" that dose is too much. If you are intending on changing your shot time-- and shooting again in 12 hrs- I would shoot .6. IF, you are just trying to tide him over and shoot again at your "regular" shot time tonight- I would shoot .4.
 
Good. Now tonight, here's what I would do. Test an hour prior to shot time, then again at shot time. You want to be sure the number is not still dropping when you shoot. That will tell you that this dose has "worn off"
Carl
 
+11, 294
Pmps 353

So his late low dose has definitely worn off. So should I stick with the .8u?
 
You could go with .8u tonight because he's much higher than usual but after tonight no, .8u was too much to give you a shootable AMPS on a 200'ish last night so after tonight I would go with .6u.
 
I wanted to get that out there in case you were needing a quick answer.
Is there any way you can do the same thing in the morning? Test an hour before and then again at shot time. My hunch is that the 144 you saw this morning might not have been a "rising" number. If not, then he had a longer than normal duration. Which can indicate a dose might be too high. It'd be nice to prove or disprove that theory.

Carl
 
I can certainly do the same thing in the morning. I'm interested to see what happens between those two hours since I wasn't able to wait and retest this morning when he was so low.
 
During last night's cycle he was 288 +9, 273 +11, and now 289 AMPS.
So not really going up or down but pretty flat. I'm going to go with the .6u this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top