Diabetic? Yes or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
Peyton is throwing us for a loop. 3 weeks ago BG 144, 2 weeks ago BG 243, last week 426, this Monday BG so high it didn't register. Started Vetsulin Monday BG decreased to 460, tues BG 260, yesterday morning BG was normal (no insulin), yesterday afternoon BG was normal (no insulin). I haven't heard from the vet this morning to know if it was normal or not.
Could it be while Peyton was at the vet a couple weeks ago that what they fed him while he was there made the diabetes show back up and he just needed a little insulin boost to get his pancreas going again?
 
I wonder if something else is going on. How has Peyton been acting? And evidence of illness, infection, pain? Could he have gotten into some food he shouldn't have eaten? Try to find out what food he got while at the vet.
 
We've noticed that while at the vet's, they tried to feed Morrigan whatever she would eat, knowing she was diabetic and her numbers soared on both the food and the stress of being there. Maybe, as Maggies Mom Debby has said, there was something going on with Peyton not feeling well for a couple of days? I think we all have days when our BG levels are higher than normal. Maybe, Peyton just had a "blip" where food set off the pancreas temporarily and it's returning to normal again?
 
He had been at home with me after the 426 spike and he ate baked chicken most of the weekend (hand fed). He wouldn't touch any of the low carb can foods and his BG was still thru the roof Monday. I know he didn't get into anything while he was with me.
He has been in kidney failure for 4 years. I took him to the vet because of extreme weight loss, lethargy, decreased appetite, excessive thirst (got worse after first vet).
 
He has had a little grinding lately when he eats. I'll make sure they check his teeth. He didn't need insulin today either
 
I was just about to head to the Vetsulin group to get some help.
I brought Peyton home Friday and the vet suggested 1 unit of Vetsulin once a day. I don't have all our supplies Saturday sonic started testing yesterday. I didn't want to start poking too much the first day so I only testing AMPS (am preshot). His BG was 148. I wish I would have tested him again but I didn't.
This morning his AMPS was 134. I read about when this insulin is usually at its peak and tested him again then (BG 45). I fed him a slightly higher carb food and it increased to 53 after an hour.
I called the vet to see if I should decrease the insulin to 0.75 units once a day but he recommended 1 unit every other day. That doesn't seem right to me so I wanted to ask the Vetaulin group.
Peyton has gone into remission twice and I don't want to miss a chance to get him in remission again. Seems to me that skipping an entire day of insulin and then giving it would just confuse the pancreas. But what do I know? Ha!
 
Hi Julie, the Vetsulin/Caninsulin group isn't very active - I'm a rather rare user here and not terribly experienced at that.

I see Peyton was on Lantus before - for sure Vetsulin has a much sharper drop than you may have been accustomed to. The 1.0u every other day just doesn't make sense to me either - if his AMPS was 134 I'd think 1.0u was too much but I don't have any info on how he responds. Be careful with the peak times, too. We had a cat do a very hard drop in the first 3 hours and my own Genghis can have a peak time anywhere from +3 to +7.

Vetsulin is I think what they call "in and out" - whatever you shoot is used up over the cat's cycle. There is no "depot" like the Lantus you used before. I'd be as concerned with too high a dose in that "every other day" scenario and intuitively think you would indeed confuse his pancreas.

Anyone with more experience please chime in?
 
No insulin lasts 24 hours in the cat. Rather than 1 unit once a day, or every other day, it would be better to consider 0.25 or 0.5 units twice a day, and only if his glucose is greater than 150 mg/dL. He is in nearly normal numbers.

You may find that if you feed mini-meals and spread the food across the day, you can get him a tad lower without needing insulin and have him diet-controlled.
 
That sounds great to me! What should I say to my vet? Or should I just decrease on my own and see how he does?
When he was on Lantus I did what the group said and he went into remission. I'm thinking the same thing could happen with this Vetsulin. I wonder if he has a little pancreatitis that causes his sporadic diabetes.
 
If his AMPS is under 200 do I skip insulin? Or I guess I should ask at what BG level do I skip a dose? I read that on Vetsulin "Our first goal is getting the blood sugar to a range around 100 at peak and preshots of 300 and refining from there".
 
Using Vetsulin, I would skip until you have mid-cycle tests which show it is safe. If you get a glucose below 50 mg/dL, it earns a reduction of 0.25 units/

I don't see any spreadsheet numbers for now on the Vetsulin. Those would be very helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top