Diabetic Neuropathy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
It has been a long time since I've posted here. Shaikha has diabetes as a complication of pancreatitis, though steroid use caused the most significant change. After a rough initial few months, we had her fairly well stabilized with a diet change (IBD also suspected) and her diabetes was under control. On occasion she'd have unusual spikes in sugar levels, but they seemed to be tied to times when we suspected her pancreatitis was acting up again. Generally those periods lasted a week at most, and with minor changes in insulin levels and tighter monitoring of BG I was able to get her back under control. We've tried tapering off steroids several times, but have been unable to do that without triggering flareups, so we just tried to stay with the lowest dose we could, which in her case is 2.5 mg prednisolone twice per day.

About two weeks ago her appetite dropped off again and she exhibited other signs of a stronger than normal flareup. Her sugar increased a little, though nothing outrageous. Unfortunately on Thursday evening she also developed a fever, which coincided with a huge spike in BG (484, the highest I've seen her since last May). I managed to get it under control, but I took her to the vet on Friday and we put her on an IV plus started antibiotics since she had a fever of 103.5. With fluids her temp dropped back to normal, so I brought her home with Baytril injections to give her throughout the weekend. When I checked her BG Friday evening, it was unreadably high -- over 600 per my Relion meter. I managed to get to 487 with food and insulin and on Saturday I kept it in the 200-300 range -- not great, but better than what it had been. By Saturday PM her fever seemed to be returning, so on Sunday I took her back in for more fluids. Her temp had shot up to 104.6, so we also started her on two IV antibiotics since it was obvious Baytril wasn't acting fast enough. By the AM her BG was back over 600, but they were able to get it down with slightly more insulin than usual and some changes in the types of fluids they gave her. Her fever was back to normal by Monday PM and she seemed much perkier, so I brought her home again. Her PM BG was in the 40s though, so I gave her food and kept monitoring BG until it was back over 100. By morning her BG was up to 197, so I gave her food and a small dose of insulin. Usually I don't treat if BG is below 200, but she was starting to spike a fever again so I decided to give her a token dose. I took her back for more fluids today as well as antibiotics.

This evening she seems to be doing much better. No sign of the fever returning, and she's moving around the house though slowly. She also seems more interested in food, though I'm still having to assist feed. BG has been in a good range, so no spikes thankfully. The problem is that she's waddling when she's walking and it looks like she's having trouble controlling one of her hind legs. With these awful BG spikes I'm worried we've got a case of diabetic neuropathy on top of everything else now.

She is going back to the vet tomorrow. My regular vet has been out of town but he'll be back then, so I am anxious for him to evaluate her. We are not sure what is causing the fever, but she's had leukopenia for about ten years (the whole time I've had her; she was a rescue) so any infection is a problem for her since she can't fight them off herself. It never has caused a problem until now. She is urinating normally and even has climbed up on the cat perch several times, so she's definitely feeling better and whatever is going on with her legs isn't stopping her too much.

Could neuropathy be triggered by sudden BG spikes like she's had in the past few days? If so, how can I treat it? She gets weekly B12 injections which has seemed to help with her pancreatitis & IBD, but I've read about oral methycobalamin as a treatment for neuropathy. Would that be better absorbed than the injectible? I know the form of B12 is different, but I'd thought that most oral B12 gets destroyed in the gut.

I'm just praying for no bad news tomorrow. I am very worried about how serious this attack has been, not to mention her high fever. I know he'll run more extensive tests and I'm a little worried about what he might find. Other than the low white cell count, the rest of her blood work looks good -- kidney & liver function all normal, though creatinine was high normal on Friday, which made us suspect a kidney infection as a possible cause of her fever.

Sorry for the tome, but wanted to provide sufficient detail about what had happened to her BG levels these past few days. I've not updated her spreadsheet in Google docs in ages, and didn't have the time to put in months worth of data tonight. Off to check her BG levels again and a quick temperature check.
 
I don't know the answer to spikes causing neuropathy. What I can tell you is that to treat neuropathy you need to use methylcolabinB12.I will bet the injectible b12 you are using is one of the other b12s.


I don't know if methyl b12 comes in injectible form. But you can get it anywhere in capsule form and mix into wet food. The one I like is NSI brand from vitacost. Will provide link later. It is 5mg, doesn't have any sugars or fruit flavors and little to no discernible taste.

Typically 3-5 mg once a day is all that is needed.
 
I can't answer the B-12 question, but yes a cat can get transient neuropathy symptoms if the BG is real high. My cat gets BG spikes when he gets infections.A couple of times he also started getting the stiff legs and wobbling again.A week after his BG was stabilized again the neuropathy symptoms went away.Other things that can cause similiar symptoms is high ketones and a potassium imbalance but it sounds like you have already ruled those things out.It is discouraging to have your cat stable and then have a series of things like this.However once the infection is resolved usually the other things stabilize again

If you go back to the home page of the forum, there is a feature where you can search topics. You may want to put in the name of the particular form of B-12 you want to use. I know in the past several other members had long posts about particular brands and types of B-12.

Good luck with your kitty and I hope you find the info. You need on the B-12 issue.
 
Thanks so much for the information and links! I was going to buy the NSI brand, as I've gotten it for another of my cats with anemia, but didn't know it came that high a potency. I actually missed it on the page, so the link helped. It also makes me feel a little better knowing it may be possible to get transient neuropathy with BG spikes. Like your cat, her BG really went wild with this fever. I really think this is neuropathy because the symptoms match perfectly. Hopefully if we can get her stable and on methylcobalamin it will go away. She's really wobbling around right now, poor thing.

The vet looked her over today and feels that her problem is IBD in addition to pancreatitis. He doesn't feel fluid or any masses, so that was a relief. Her fever seems to be gone, but he has put her on a raft of medications to try to get things sorted out. He wants her back on prednisolone, in addition to using a course of metronidazole. She'll also be taking Nutrived for a little while as her HCT was a little low, which he suspects is from a lower GI bleed. To correct that, she's now on famotidine in addition to sucralfate for a while. It will not be fun balancing when to give all of these, as you can't give pepcid with sucralfate and sucralfate is best given on an empty stomach. We'll also get her back on ondansetron, which hopefully will take care of her nausea. She is sniffing at food, but won't eat on her own and is grinding her teeth something awful when I feed her.

She does seem to be improved somewhat, but she's still a very sick little girl. Hopefully we will be able to get her on the road to recovery with the new medications.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top