? Diabetic Neuropathy getting worse

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karolina & Nestle

Member Since 2022
Hello Everyone,
It's my first time posting here so please bare with me.
My kitty Nestle has a bad case of diabetic neuropathy and lately it seems It's been getting even worse. In his case it's his front legs that are worse than his back ones, and they buckle and fold under him sometimes and he falls forward (see attached pic). I started giving him Methyl B12 since Feb 24 and have been looking for zobaline but no luck finding it in Canada. I did notice however that zobaline has also folic acid. I found this Vit B12 on Amazon with folic acid and I'm wondering if this would be approved and fine to give to my kitty. Please see below for a picture of the bottle and Ingredients.
Any advice would be appreciated as I'm still new at this.

I'm also wondering if anyone makes their own pate out of chicken hearts and liver. I was advised to boil the hearts and liver until soft. Then blend them in a blender until looks like pate and store in jars until ready to feed. High protein and no extra additives. Once again any insight/tips/advice would be appreciated.

upload_2022-3-6_15-7-34.png


upload_2022-3-6_15-7-59.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-6_15-7-34.png
    upload_2022-3-6_15-7-34.png
    112.6 KB · Views: 379
  • upload_2022-3-6_15-7-59.png
    upload_2022-3-6_15-7-59.png
    150.7 KB · Views: 376
  • upload_2022-3-6_15-8-30.png
    upload_2022-3-6_15-8-30.png
    207.4 KB · Views: 198
Last edited:
The folic acid part is not as important as the Methyl B12 for neuropathy. The one you have posted above has a very small amount of B12, and it's not even Methyl B12, it's just regular B12.
As far as making the pate yourself, if that was used as a supplement or a topper on his food, it might be good. But it can't be used in place of cat food because it's not nutritionally complete. There are recipes available that teach you how to make your own cat food and what nutrients have to be added, such as taurine, for it to be species appropriate.
 
By the way, what methyl B12 are you using? What is the dosage? Zobaline is just a brand name, so it might be that you just have not been using it long enough. It's only been about 10 days, and it can take several weeks, in combination with well regulated blood sugars, to start to reverse the neuropathy. Nerve damage is notoriously slow to heal.
 
By the way, what methyl B12 are you using? What is the dosage? Zobaline is just a brand name, so it might be that you just have not been using it long enough. It's only been about 10 days, and it can take several weeks, in combination with well regulated blood sugars, to start to reverse the neuropathy. Nerve damage is notoriously slow to heal.


I'm using this one ( see pic below)
And I know not to expect results overnight it just breaks my heart to see him like this.
Thank you for your response
 
Poor Nestlé. It is heartbreaking to see him like that. Have you read the information here about Neuropathy. It does say it can take a couple of weeks to see results. Also it is a combination of having his BG more regulated and the B12. Are you giving him one pill a day. The link above suggests how high a dose you can give.

I live in Canada too, and recently went on a quest to find some methy B12 safe for a cat and it was surprisingly difficult. I think the one you have, and most sublingual/quick dissolve have sugars. I think that one has lactose. I don't know if it is enough to be a problem but who knows. I found this one from Jamieson which has no sugar though it is only 2500mcg I found it at Superstore.

https://www.amazon.ca/Jamieson-B12-Timed-Release-Count/dp/B07M7LR24D/ref=sr_1_12?crid=2ULKIXLEWQVCJ&keywords=methylcobalamin+b12&qid=1646610404&s=hpc&sprefix=Methy,hpc,170&sr=1-12&th=1
 
Last edited:
Poor Nestle I looked at the pic of him walking , he's so adorable
Can you take a pic of the one that dissolves so we can see the ingredients



Until you can get Nestle better regulated the neuropathy should improve
It took 2 months for me to see Tyler walking normal.
I did see though each couple of weeks that he was improving

I am going to give you the link to the 2 dosing methods for lantus that we follow
If you can read about them and pick one that you want to follow they will tell you when an increase or decrease is due

Lantus likes consistency so you want to be shooting the same units for both cycles
I would start posting on our lantus forum since you already have a spreadsheet set up
There are a lot more eyes on that forum. I'll give you the link
If you are not sure whether to shoot or not because Nestlé's BG may be too low to shoot please post something
Like this
Date , Nestle AMPS # HELP Do I shoot

Dosing methods
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@Karolina KJ
 
Last edited:
You can order this Methyl B-12 they ship to Canada , I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless. If you want you can but folic acid at any supermarket and add 200 mcg's crush it up
If you can't find exactly 200 MCG get the 400 MCG and cut them in half
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

@Karolina KJ

@Chris and Checkers
Hi Chris in case you are interested you can order the Methyl B-12 I talked about above :cat:
 
Last edited:
Poor Nestle I looked at the pic of him walking , he's so adorable
Can you take a pic of the one that dissolves so we can see the ingredients

upload_2022-3-6_20-41-24.png




Until you can get Nestle better regulated the neuropathy should improve
It took 2 months for me to see Tyler walking normal.
I did see though each couple of weeks that he was improving

I am going to give you the link to the 2 dosing methods for lantus that we follow
If you can read about them and pick one that you want to follow they will tell you when an increase or decrease is due

Lantus likes consistency so you want to be shooting the same units for both cycles
I would start posting on our lantus forum since you already have a spreadsheet set up
There are a lot more eyes on that forum. I'll give you the link
If you are not sure whether to shoot or not because Nestlé's BG may be too low to shoot please post something
Like this
Date , Nestle AMPS # HELP Do I shoot

Dosing methods
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@Karolina KJ
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-6_20-41-24.png
    upload_2022-3-6_20-41-24.png
    243.1 KB · Views: 325
You can order this Methyl B-12 they ship to Canada , I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless. If you want you can but folic acid at any supermarket and add 200 mcg's crush it up
If you can't find exactly 200 MCG get the 400 MCG and cut them in half
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

@Karolina KJ

Thanks, I didn't know that.:D

@Chris and Checkers
Hi Chris in case you are interested you can order the Methyl B-12 I talked about above :cat:
 
You can order this Methyl B-12 they ship to Canada , I have used it for years and a lot of other members use this Methyl B-12 , just open up the capsule mix it in with the wet food add some water, it's tasteless. If you want you can but folic acid at any supermarket and add 200 mcg's crush it up
If you can't find exactly 200 MCG get the 400 MCG and cut them in half
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

@Karolina KJ

@Chris and Checkers
Hi Chris in case you are interested you can order the Methyl B-12 I talked about above :cat:

Thank you for your reply.
I will def try this new vit B12

Also are there any ingredients in the folic acid i should watch out for?
 
Hi yes I found it
Ingredients:
Each sublingual tablet contains:
Vitamin B12 (methylcobalamin) 5000 mcg
Non-Medicinal Ingredients: Croscarmellose sodium, Lactose monohydrate, Magnesium stearate, Microcrystalline cellulose.
Free of artificial colours, preservatives, or sweeteners; no starch, sugar, wheat, gluten, yeast, soy, corn, egg, fish, shellfish, salt, tree nuts, or GMOs. Suitable for vegetarians.

I'm not sure , see what Chris posted on post #6 about the lactose
@Chris and Checkers
What do you think
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top