Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)
Member Since 2011
Hi friends!
It's been quite a while. (here's our last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82933) Sushi and I have just been cruising along...he's not quite regulated, but I have been more aggressive with making needed dose adjustments, and he usually ends up in the "happy" range of 50-200. His spreadsheet is not up to date, so forgive me.
However, it seems our happy cruise has come to an end. For a little over a week, his breathing has been quite labored, he's constipated, and not eating as much as he should be. His blood sugar is quite high -- consistently in the 300-400+.
He got into some of my daffodils Thursday before last, but seemed to throw it all up almost immediately, and after keeping a close eye on him for 36+ hours, I decided against bringing him to the vet.
A major factor in that decision is Sushi gets extremely stressed, anxious and aggressive at the vet. To the point of it being counterproductive. The vet staff aren't able to do what they need to to take care of him, examine him or treat him.
After several days of the labored breathing, constipation and decreased eating, I brought him to the vet Friday. Of course she wasn't able to do much of an examination because of his usual vet behavior, but she mentioned he might have asthma. She said the tricky thing with that is asthma is usually treated with steroids, but steroids tend to increase blood sugar.
She also wanted to gas him to calm him down enough to do a thorough examination and x-rays. I was wary of that idea (isn't gassing bad for diabetic cats?), so she sent me home with some oral steroids and antibiotics.
Of course, Sushi's blood sugar remains high. I haven't seen any improvement, in fact today he's having to open his mouth to breathe.
He FINALLY pooped a bit just now, but his stools are incredibly hard and he's not pooping enough (quantity or frequency).
I guess my next step is to bring him back to get gassed and x-rayed. But I'm still wary of having him gases.
Also, the more I think about it, it concerns me that the vet didn't find his high blood sugar, decreased eating and constipation much of a worry. These are critical factors for a cat with diabetes.
----------------------------
Does anyone have any suggestions?
What about for his constipation?
I've tried Vaseline and forta flora, but they don't seem to be helping.
The vet suggested some sort of gel that contained sugar for the constipation, so I didn't go for it.
Is it okay for the vet to gas him?
Any suggestions for making him more calm at the vet?
I'm using Feliaway.
Do any of you out there have diabetic cats with asthma?
How are you treating it?
--------------------------------------
Here's a breakdown since Sushi ate the daffodils:
Shot time is ~6:30 am/pm | Nadir is ~12:30pm
Thursday 3/6:
12:30pm 198
Afternoon/~5:30pm? Ate 2 flowers (small) & a bit of a leaf of a daffodil
6-8pm: threw up 5-6 times yellow (daffodil was yellow) mucus-ey & bits of plant
8pm: drank ~1/4c of water 181
8:30pm: fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Latnus
11:30pm: Fed another 3oz of 9 Lives canned
Middle of the Night: threw up 1-2 oz of food / did eat all food
Friday 3/7:
6:12am 386
7:45am: Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus -- 394
8:19pm 272 fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Latnus
Saturday 3/8:
7am popped in litter box then a BUNCH all over my shirt--normal & smeary
8:09am 321 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
8:24pm 366 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Sun 3/9:
afternoon started breathing really heavy--through mouth at times
Didn't poop all day
8:04am 355 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
2:42pm 281
8:10pm 319 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Mon 3/10:
gave some Vaseline about an hour before feeding
6:48am 210-- “skipped” (just gave 1u) at 6:30am to get caught up with schedule & time change + 5 oz of 9 Lives canned
8am – pooped about a days’ worth
12pm 90
5:30pm 354 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
11:20pm 323
Tue 3/11:
6:09am 322 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
5:45pm gave some Vaseline
7:22pm 319 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Wed 3/12:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food @ am & pm
6:48am 437 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
12pm 343 Pooped normal amount
6:40pm 306 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
10:45pm 305
Thurs 3/13:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food am & pm
6:49am 326 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
5:38pm 228
7:30pm Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Fri 3/14:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food am
6:53am 314 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
7:30 am pooped a bit
12:41pm 351
5:10pm--328
7:12pm increase to 2.25u - Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned - 340
Gave steroid in evening
Sat 3/15
7:02am - 364 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
put antibiotic in am food
7:11pm- 200 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
8:30pn--gave steroid
Sun 3/16
7:03am - 443 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
10am 285
10:30am gave antibiotic
6:55Pm put forta flora in food - 305 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
8:30pm--gave steroid
Mon 3/17
6:45am 428--increase to 2.5+u
Put 1/3 capsule of forta flora in food
Gave steroid & antibiotic Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
11am pooped a little bit
It's been quite a while. (here's our last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82933) Sushi and I have just been cruising along...he's not quite regulated, but I have been more aggressive with making needed dose adjustments, and he usually ends up in the "happy" range of 50-200. His spreadsheet is not up to date, so forgive me.
However, it seems our happy cruise has come to an end. For a little over a week, his breathing has been quite labored, he's constipated, and not eating as much as he should be. His blood sugar is quite high -- consistently in the 300-400+.
He got into some of my daffodils Thursday before last, but seemed to throw it all up almost immediately, and after keeping a close eye on him for 36+ hours, I decided against bringing him to the vet.
A major factor in that decision is Sushi gets extremely stressed, anxious and aggressive at the vet. To the point of it being counterproductive. The vet staff aren't able to do what they need to to take care of him, examine him or treat him.
After several days of the labored breathing, constipation and decreased eating, I brought him to the vet Friday. Of course she wasn't able to do much of an examination because of his usual vet behavior, but she mentioned he might have asthma. She said the tricky thing with that is asthma is usually treated with steroids, but steroids tend to increase blood sugar.
She also wanted to gas him to calm him down enough to do a thorough examination and x-rays. I was wary of that idea (isn't gassing bad for diabetic cats?), so she sent me home with some oral steroids and antibiotics.
Of course, Sushi's blood sugar remains high. I haven't seen any improvement, in fact today he's having to open his mouth to breathe.
He FINALLY pooped a bit just now, but his stools are incredibly hard and he's not pooping enough (quantity or frequency).
I guess my next step is to bring him back to get gassed and x-rayed. But I'm still wary of having him gases.
Also, the more I think about it, it concerns me that the vet didn't find his high blood sugar, decreased eating and constipation much of a worry. These are critical factors for a cat with diabetes.
----------------------------
Does anyone have any suggestions?
What about for his constipation?
I've tried Vaseline and forta flora, but they don't seem to be helping.
The vet suggested some sort of gel that contained sugar for the constipation, so I didn't go for it.
Is it okay for the vet to gas him?
Any suggestions for making him more calm at the vet?
I'm using Feliaway.
Do any of you out there have diabetic cats with asthma?
How are you treating it?
--------------------------------------
Here's a breakdown since Sushi ate the daffodils:
Shot time is ~6:30 am/pm | Nadir is ~12:30pm
Thursday 3/6:
12:30pm 198
Afternoon/~5:30pm? Ate 2 flowers (small) & a bit of a leaf of a daffodil
6-8pm: threw up 5-6 times yellow (daffodil was yellow) mucus-ey & bits of plant
8pm: drank ~1/4c of water 181
8:30pm: fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Latnus
11:30pm: Fed another 3oz of 9 Lives canned
Middle of the Night: threw up 1-2 oz of food / did eat all food
Friday 3/7:
6:12am 386
7:45am: Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus -- 394
8:19pm 272 fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Latnus
Saturday 3/8:
7am popped in litter box then a BUNCH all over my shirt--normal & smeary
8:09am 321 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
8:24pm 366 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Sun 3/9:
afternoon started breathing really heavy--through mouth at times
Didn't poop all day
8:04am 355 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
2:42pm 281
8:10pm 319 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Mon 3/10:
gave some Vaseline about an hour before feeding
6:48am 210-- “skipped” (just gave 1u) at 6:30am to get caught up with schedule & time change + 5 oz of 9 Lives canned
8am – pooped about a days’ worth
12pm 90
5:30pm 354 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
11:20pm 323
Tue 3/11:
6:09am 322 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
5:45pm gave some Vaseline
7:22pm 319 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Wed 3/12:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food @ am & pm
6:48am 437 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
12pm 343 Pooped normal amount
6:40pm 306 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
10:45pm 305
Thurs 3/13:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food am & pm
6:49am 326 Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
5:38pm 228
7:30pm Fed 5oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
Fri 3/14:
put 1/3 tab of forta floura in food am
6:53am 314 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned & 2 units of Lantus
7:30 am pooped a bit
12:41pm 351
5:10pm--328
7:12pm increase to 2.25u - Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned - 340
Gave steroid in evening
Sat 3/15
7:02am - 364 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
put antibiotic in am food
7:11pm- 200 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
8:30pn--gave steroid
Sun 3/16
7:03am - 443 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
10am 285
10:30am gave antibiotic
6:55Pm put forta flora in food - 305 Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
8:30pm--gave steroid
Mon 3/17
6:45am 428--increase to 2.5+u
Put 1/3 capsule of forta flora in food
Gave steroid & antibiotic Fed 3oz of 9 Lives canned
11am pooped a little bit