Stella's Mom
Member Since 2015
Hi -
So this isn't a question about my cat Stella, who is doing a lot better by the way. This is in regard to my parent's cat Sebastian, who they recently found out was diabetic also. Sebastian is 14 years old and hasn't had any health issues before this. My parents took Sebastian in to be checked after I had the DKA episode with Stella and that's when the vet found the diabetes (his BG was 500 when they took him). My parents switched Sebastian's dry food to FF and per the instructions of the vet, they started him on 2 units, twice per day of ProZinc. That's actually been helping him a lot because his doseage has already been lowered to 1 unit twice per day and his BG was 98 when they took him in today which is good. However, my mom has been noticing that Sebastian vomits early in the morning, around 4 am or so, and he's been doing it for a couple of mornings in a row. She said that it's not a lot and it's not food or a hairball - she said that it's clear. I asked my mom if she told the vet about it and she did, but the vet didn't know what it was and didn't give her any ideas what to do. So I thought I would turn to the wisdom of the Feline Diabetes board to see if anyone has any experience with anything similar and if they would have any recommendations on what to do. My mom said that Sebastian's last feeding is at 7:00 pm. Should she be feeding him a little later to help with the vomitting? Do you think famotidine would help at all in this situation? Any insight/advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Oh and I forgot to mention that she said that he seems to have gotten a bit of diarrhea because his stools are no longer solid. She said they're really mushing now...could the switch from wet to dry food have caused this?
So this isn't a question about my cat Stella, who is doing a lot better by the way. This is in regard to my parent's cat Sebastian, who they recently found out was diabetic also. Sebastian is 14 years old and hasn't had any health issues before this. My parents took Sebastian in to be checked after I had the DKA episode with Stella and that's when the vet found the diabetes (his BG was 500 when they took him). My parents switched Sebastian's dry food to FF and per the instructions of the vet, they started him on 2 units, twice per day of ProZinc. That's actually been helping him a lot because his doseage has already been lowered to 1 unit twice per day and his BG was 98 when they took him in today which is good. However, my mom has been noticing that Sebastian vomits early in the morning, around 4 am or so, and he's been doing it for a couple of mornings in a row. She said that it's not a lot and it's not food or a hairball - she said that it's clear. I asked my mom if she told the vet about it and she did, but the vet didn't know what it was and didn't give her any ideas what to do. So I thought I would turn to the wisdom of the Feline Diabetes board to see if anyone has any experience with anything similar and if they would have any recommendations on what to do. My mom said that Sebastian's last feeding is at 7:00 pm. Should she be feeding him a little later to help with the vomitting? Do you think famotidine would help at all in this situation? Any insight/advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. Oh and I forgot to mention that she said that he seems to have gotten a bit of diarrhea because his stools are no longer solid. She said they're really mushing now...could the switch from wet to dry food have caused this?
Last edited: