Nancy and Cody
Very Active Member
Cody was diagnosed with FD about 3 years ago. He was on Vetsulin for a long time, and gradually increased to 12 units, 2x/day, still never really getting under BG of 220. Since Vetsulin is going off the market, we switched to compounded PZI (which was great), and now to Prozinc (2 weeks), which is brand new and manufactured for cats only. He's on 4 units and so far it seems his curves are much smoother than I saw on Vetsulin. The jury is still out because its hard to get a real curve during the holidays. Cody does have other issues, heart trouble, megacolon, pancreatitis, and is on a variety of meds, fluids, enemas.
Cody is on wet DM 3/4 can, 2x /day. We went through a long period of trying different foods and went back to wet DM. They recently changed the formulation of DM and it is much better- (flavor, carbs and ingredients) (similar to Fancy Feast pate) Unfortunately, Cody is always hungry and will eat anything he can get into. (4 AM last night he found and ate 1 1/2 beefsteak tomatoes!) Cody has a brother who is a slow eater, so we have to stand quard or separate them at meal time, and I have to sneak food to Tenderfoot midday so he doesn't waste away! I switched to dog water bowls and put them in 3-4 different rooms so its always available. As for the peeing on the carpet, I put out extra litter boxes and use Petzyme to clean up the "accidents"
Good luck - I am brand new to the message board also, but have read posts from time to time over the years. It helps knowing your not alone.
nancy i split your first post on this board off to your own thread so that there was not 2 different people on one thread to welcome to the board, especailly since your post was flagged by the high dose group to come take a look at. i hope i have not confused you and that you find this easily in the morning.
~moderator.
Cody is on wet DM 3/4 can, 2x /day. We went through a long period of trying different foods and went back to wet DM. They recently changed the formulation of DM and it is much better- (flavor, carbs and ingredients) (similar to Fancy Feast pate) Unfortunately, Cody is always hungry and will eat anything he can get into. (4 AM last night he found and ate 1 1/2 beefsteak tomatoes!) Cody has a brother who is a slow eater, so we have to stand quard or separate them at meal time, and I have to sneak food to Tenderfoot midday so he doesn't waste away! I switched to dog water bowls and put them in 3-4 different rooms so its always available. As for the peeing on the carpet, I put out extra litter boxes and use Petzyme to clean up the "accidents"
Good luck - I am brand new to the message board also, but have read posts from time to time over the years. It helps knowing your not alone.
nancy i split your first post on this board off to your own thread so that there was not 2 different people on one thread to welcome to the board, especailly since your post was flagged by the high dose group to come take a look at. i hope i have not confused you and that you find this easily in the morning.
~moderator.