diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexander

New Member
Aticus is 9 years old about 17lbs and is newly diabetic. He is on Lantus. We have a good meter tested at the vets office. He is eating and drinking normaly but his numbers are all over the place! 5-10 12:30 am he was 427 given 2.5 5-11 8am no test given 2.5 5-11 12:45 pm 260 no meds 511 835 pm 260 given 2.0 5-12 8:30 am 500! given 3.5 THis has been going on for 60 days now. We regulate his food, SD kitten with SD kitten dry per vet rec. We have up until the last few days been checking and giving doses on a 12 hr clock. The numbers are always all over the place from lows of 80 (given honey) to highs of 546 in the span of 2 to 3 days. Thoughts?
 
Your post is hard to read -- could you break out the times you've given insulin on separate lines? Well, I've done it below --- please correct me if I've got it wrong--

80 is a normal range number. Kitty does not need syrup until you're down below 40 or showing symptoms of hypo.

5/10 12:30 a.m. BG 427 shot 2.5u
5/11 8 a.m no test shot 2.5u <== THIS IS NOT 12 hours! only 7.5 hours -- you should not inject Lantus this close
5/11 12:45 p.m. BG 260 no shot
5/11 8:35 p.m. BG 260 shot 2u
5/12 8:30 a.m. BG 500 shot 3.5u

Number 1: you're changing the dose around a lot. This does not work with Lantus.
Number 2: you're feeding dry food -- this will cause high blood sugar.

Please go to the Lantus INSULIN SUPPORT GROUP and read the sticky posts. Lantus is a pretty fussy insulin.

Vets do not get much training in nutrition, so usually they just repeat what the salesmen preach.

Low carb High protein canned or raw food is best for cats. Read http://www.catinfo.org -- a Feline Nutrition website published by a vet who has specialized in the area.
 
Hi there,
just wanted to confirm when is your shot time?
12:30am? or 8am? 8:30?

So as of today - you are dosing every 12 hours yes?

I'm concerned because lantus works best and safest on a 12/12 shedule.
Every 12 hours, plus it looks like you are moving up in dose a bit too fast.
Lantus needs consistancy and patience, and each dose needs time to settle.

Also, it looks like you need a bit more data, Lantus is not based on preshot numbers alone,
you need to catch the lows, like around +5 or +6, known as the "nadir" (5 to 6 hours after last shot)
What time did you catch that 80?

I strongly suggest you read these information threads:

Lantus forum follows this protocol:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Lantus Insulin Depot AKA Storage Shed:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

Others will be along to assist, but in the meantime, could you add LANTUS to your main title line? Just hit "edit in your first post.
This will get you more eyes on your thread, ok? Hang in there!
 
Hi Aticus's bean (mom or dad? name?)

As has been said before, Lantus needs to be dosed on a 12 hour cycle, with minor exceptions.
As well, the starting dose of Lantus is "usually" at 1u and changes are mad based on the protocol and numbers.
These wonky numbers could very well be from not shooting on a 12/12 cycle, plus changing around the dose. Too much insulin can give higher BG readings.(blood glucose)

Here is the link in order for you to set up a spreadsheet to keep track of Aticus's numbers.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... p?f=6&t=16 Creating a spreadsheet.

AMPS means the morning BG #, pre-shot and the PMPS is the evening BG# preshot.
What is very important when testing at shot times is to remove food 2 hours before the test.
Why? Because we want to make sure that the BG# we get at that time is not affected by a possible food spike and is a true and safe number to give insulin.
Also the "+" numbers at the top of the ss are how many hours after a shot the time is. Since the oard is international there are many different time zones. This is how we keep time.

For example, if your shot time is 7:00m then +6 would be 1:00pm.
Dosing is based on "nadir" which is at the time the insulin is most active. ECID (every cat is different) but usually around +6.

Low carb, high protein food is the best for your FD kitty.
Here is the link again.http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
Many people use Fancy Feast, friskies, EVO, wellness. You do not need prescription food.
Under 10% carbs is perfect.
 
You've been getting good information. Please do take a look at the information about using Lantus on the Lantus message board.

Lantus is an insulin that likes consistency. In order for it to work effectively, shots need to be every 12 hours and doses likewise need to be consistent. Shooting different amounts will cause numbers to be all over the place. Lantus is a "depot" medication -- a certain amount needs to be built up in the system and by shooting varying amounts, you never have a stable level.

I'm also curious why you are feeding S/D. Does your cat have bladder stones? Usually S/D is not fed long term. Also, I can't find an S/D kitten food on the Hill's site.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top