Diabetes is kicking Fluffy's butt

Status
Not open for further replies.

katrawson

Member Since 2014
Fluffy has been diagnosed for four months. It seems like we keep having hypoglycemic episodes. I am so scared for her. I got her sugar back up with maple syrup on the gums so we are okay for now. She is already about 15 to 16 years old. I am not going to be able to handle this if she dies. I wish I could make this go away. I really HATE DIABETES!!
 
We have a plan that can help you care for fluffy's diabetes and keep her safe. The most important part is testing her blood glucose levels at home. That way, you'll know what your level is when you give the shot and you can monitor how low the insulin takes her. It will help you prevent times when she might go too low. Can we teach you how?
 
We can help you learn to manage Fluffy's diabetes. Can you give us more information about Fluffy's diet, insulin, dose and if you are hometesting.

Feline Diabetes can be easily managed through a proper diet, hometesting and insulin. For a diet, you want to feed a low carb/high protein canned or raw food diet. You do not want to feed dry food since it is high in carbs. That will make it much harder, if not impossible, to get Fluffy's glucose readings under control.

If you are not already doing so, you want to learn to hometest. This means testing a small drop of blood with a glucose meter before every shot. There are pet meters available, however, they are expensive to buy and use. Most people use a human glucose meter. A good inexpensive brand to use is the Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro meters. You will test the glucose, feed and then give insulin. By testing before every shot, you know if it is safe to give the insulin. Also, with consistent testing you will be able to determine if you need to adjust the dose. We can help you learn to do this. Hometesting will greatly reduce the chance of hypoglycemia and also eliminate unnecessary trips to the vet just to be tested. Glucose tests at the vet are not accurate any way. Stress can easily raise a cat's BG level by over 100. So if your vet is changing the dose based on that reading, your dose is probably too high for Fluffy.

What insulin are you using? Lantus, Levemir, PZI and Prozinc work best for cats. These are all long acting insulins and given twice a day. Insulins such as Vetsulin, Humulin and Caninsulin do not last as long and have steep drops in the BG levels. They do not work well in cats. The same with oral meds such as Glipizide, they do not work well either. You also want to start at a low dose, such as 1 unit, twice a day. If an increase is needed, it is increased by 1/2 unit and wait at least one week before it is increased again. Hometesting will let you know if the dose needs to be adjusted.

We can help you learn how to manage Fluffy's diabetes and give suggestions that will make it easier for you.
 
I feed her Fancy Feast seafood that was on the low/no carb list. There is dry food for the other cat but Fluffy only eats it occasionally. The insulin I use is Novolin N. I have thought about testing at home.
I have seen that they go through the ear at the vets. It's hard enough to give the shots, I can't imagine getting blood from her. I am not squeamish but I can't imagine she will be too happy with me.
 
katrawson said:
I feed her Fancy Feast seafood that was on the low/no carb list. There is dry food for the other cat but Fluffy only eats it occasionally.
Even a few pieces of dry can raise a cat's BG levels. The best thing to do is have both cat's on the same diet. If the other cat is still eating dry food, then there is always the chance that cat will also eventually develop FD. The canned food diet will reduce the chance of that happening. Plus it will keep Fluffy from sneaking the high carb snacks. I would not be surprised that she is not eating more dry than what you think she is.


katrawson said:
The insulin I use is Novolin N. I have thought about testing at home.
I have seen that they go through the ear at the vets. It's hard enough to give the shots, I can't imagine getting blood from her. I am not squeamish but I can't imagine she will be too happy with me.

Novolin is a short acting insulin. Because of this, it can easily drop your cat's BG levels quickly. Better insulins would be Lantus, Levemir, PZI or Prozinc. Lantus & Levemir are human insulins that you will buy through your pharmacy. Ask for the prescription for the pens instead of vials. On both of the manufacturer's website there are coupons for the pens. PZI & Prozinc are animal insulins that you would buy through your vet's office. All of these work well in cats.

Hometesting is not difficult, though at first it may seem to be. One trick to make your cat become more cooperative is to always reward her with a low carb treat every time you test, even if you are not successful. Soon she will associate testing with treats and that will help immensely.
 
Hello, and welcome to FDMB!

'Hometesting' might sound a bit scary at first, but it honestly isn't that hard to learn. What's more, it shouldn't hurt Fluffy. (There are very few nerve endings in the edge of the ear). But it will probably take a few goes to get the hang of it.
There's nothing at all to lose by trying it, and if you succeed at it (which is highly likely) you'll have an amazing tool to help you keep Fluffy safe from hypo.
I've just tested my cat. He's laying on my desk next to the computer keyboard as I type this. He likes being tested because I always reward him with a low carb treat (or two or three...), so he's just hanging around here waiting to see if I'll test him again! I've been doing this for seven and a half years now and my cat is just fine...

Here's a link to a page of pics and basic info about hometesting.
http://www.sugarpet.net/bloodtst.html

But DO ask any questions you want to. We're here to help. :smile:

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top