elizabeth and gus
Member Since 2015
Hi
I am new member of this board. The challenges of management diabetes for my feline family member are very overwhelming. Today I am going to the vet. to talk about TR protocol and insulin choices (Lantus or PZI compounded or?). I would appreciate any comments. Below is my story.
Thank you
Elizabeth
Gus is a 16-year-old neutered male indoor only cat. He had eaten grain-free dry food since he was a kitten. Occasionally he would get some canned food but it wasn’t his favorite so we stopped offering it to Gus. He had been healthy for 16 years but was overweight at ~18 pounds. We noticed that he seemed to be losing weight despite eating very well. Gus was drinking a lot of water and urinating a lot. We took Gus to his vet. A blood test showed that his blood sugar level was 545 mg/dl thus he was diagnosed with diabetes. He was prescribed insulin Novolin N at 2 units ones per day. We started injections following morning after Gus had his food. We noticed that he was bit less thirsty and he was fine. We replaced his dry food with low carb wet food. Next morning Gus eat his food and shortly after we injected 2 units U100 insulin. About hour and half later Gus was looking very confused at first and urinated on the kitchen floor (this happen for the first time in his life). We started to watch him closely. Gus had problem standing and in sitting/standing position was wobbly and it persisted for a while. I give him sugar solution. By the time we were in the car driving to emergency veterinary hospital Gus was back to normal. At the clinic his BG level was 148 mg/dl.
On the vet’s recommendation we stopped insulin for couple of days and continue feeding low carb wet food only. We started to measure his glucose.
23 Feb 41/2 hours after eating – 388 mg/dl
24 Feb fasting - 443 mg/dl
25 Feb fasting – 500 mg/dl
I am new member of this board. The challenges of management diabetes for my feline family member are very overwhelming. Today I am going to the vet. to talk about TR protocol and insulin choices (Lantus or PZI compounded or?). I would appreciate any comments. Below is my story.
Thank you
Elizabeth
Gus is a 16-year-old neutered male indoor only cat. He had eaten grain-free dry food since he was a kitten. Occasionally he would get some canned food but it wasn’t his favorite so we stopped offering it to Gus. He had been healthy for 16 years but was overweight at ~18 pounds. We noticed that he seemed to be losing weight despite eating very well. Gus was drinking a lot of water and urinating a lot. We took Gus to his vet. A blood test showed that his blood sugar level was 545 mg/dl thus he was diagnosed with diabetes. He was prescribed insulin Novolin N at 2 units ones per day. We started injections following morning after Gus had his food. We noticed that he was bit less thirsty and he was fine. We replaced his dry food with low carb wet food. Next morning Gus eat his food and shortly after we injected 2 units U100 insulin. About hour and half later Gus was looking very confused at first and urinated on the kitchen floor (this happen for the first time in his life). We started to watch him closely. Gus had problem standing and in sitting/standing position was wobbly and it persisted for a while. I give him sugar solution. By the time we were in the car driving to emergency veterinary hospital Gus was back to normal. At the clinic his BG level was 148 mg/dl.
On the vet’s recommendation we stopped insulin for couple of days and continue feeding low carb wet food only. We started to measure his glucose.
23 Feb 41/2 hours after eating – 388 mg/dl
24 Feb fasting - 443 mg/dl
25 Feb fasting – 500 mg/dl
