Despite stress, low BG numbers (aka Why to Test!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

stacia

Member Since 2014
This cat - huh?!?!

Due to all of Tasha's peeing on the carpets, we decided to have them removed completely upstairs. The installers were there all day yesterday, finishing up this morning, so we did early check-in at a La Quinta (yay for a nearby cat-friendly hotel) and spent the night. Both our cats are stressed with the new surroundings, dogs barking in the hall/other rooms, people talking, housekeeping, etc. But considering the noise at the house, this seemed less stressful (and dangerous) for everyone.

I was full prepared for Tasha's numbers to be high. Last night's PMPS was 349 - not really too high for her. This morning? 84. What? Retested, 74. No shot, obviously. She's not very interested in eating but she acts fine. At +2, she's 89.

Maybe the remission fairy visited La Quinta last night? Was that part of the eleventy bajillion dollars we're paying for the flooring installation?

If you take nothing else from this post: This is why to test. If I'd skipped testing and gone by her "usual" numbers, because it was easier with us being in the hotel, because she acts normal, because whatever reason, and gave her the usual dose, I wouldn't have known we were starting from such a low point. Almost guaranteed hypo episode. And that is why I will test every time.

(And now I'm even more terrified about the cat sitter situation and the cat sitter injecting without testing and OMG how do we even leave these sugar babies ever with other people who are not US?!?!?!?!)
 
Well that seems unexpected! It will be interesting to see what happens next.

I have been telling people can't possibly travel away from home any time in the near future unless I can bring the cat. They keep saying "just get your petsitter to do it" or "can't you board him?"

NO WAY.

I do not trust anybody else to care for my cat right now. Because of exactly the kind of thing you are talking about - what happens if there are unexpected low numbers? In the three weeks I've been doing this... he's already been too low to shoot eight times. Heck, I don't even have consistent instructions I could communicate to anybody right now.

Sending positive vibes for more good numbers for Tasha!
 
I posted that the weekend before last, we went away and Tasha wouldn't let the cat sitter inject her. We had the sitter over last Thursday to make friends and she was scheduled to come tonight to do the injection. As I'm wondering about the low number, we got a text from the sitter canceling because she's had an accident and can't walk.

Between that weekend's failure, this low number, and the sitter's accident (accidents happen and I just want her to be well), I'm losing all nerve to travel. Let it be the remission fairy. Otherwise, separate vacations for me and the husband.
 
Angel started going into remission (hopefully, had a bit of a blip) after the most stressful couple of months, the deaths of his 2 companions he'd known since he was 8 weeks old, the re landscaping of my garden and finally the arrival of boisterous new kittens who love to leap on their new 'big brother's' tail.

So maybe Tasha is going into remission. If you search my posts, you can see the pattern Angel has followed, the odd 24 hours without needing insulin, then 48...then a brilliant almost 4 weeks followed by a blip at the weekend which I now think is due to overfeeding. Fingers crossed x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top