Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYSTERY

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello everybody. I am new to the Lantus page. I am in desperate need of some good advice regarding my 2 year old diabetic cat Charlie. He was a happy healthy kitty until this past June, out of the blue he developed diabetes. It was diagnosed because he started losing weight rapidly and just seemed off. One week after diagnosis and starting Prozinc on 1 unit daily he went DKA. He was hospitalized for 3 days then released on 2 units BID. His numbers were pretty consistently in the high 300's as an average so we gradually upped him to 3 units BID. Last Saturday we went into DKA again. He was again hospitalized for 48 hours on IV fluids, etc. Monday evening we switched him to Lantus 3 units BID supplemented with 1 unit Humulin given IM and his numbers are STILL in the high 300's. He had ketones on Saturday then they started decreasing and yesterday he had trace ketones. Today he is back to moderate ketones. He eats SIX cans of food daily and still has a hard time maintaining his weight which is now 7.4 lbs and before this nightmare started he was 12 lbs. Let me stress again that he is only 2 years old. All of his other tests are all within normal limits except slightly elevated liver enzymes and for that the vet gave him a shot of convenia in case there was an infection somewhere. There are 5 vets working with him and nobody can seem to figure out what is going on with him. I am willing to try anything because I think he is fading fast. Somebody please help me...I have attached his spreadsheet although this is based on when he was on prozinc and hasn't been updated recently because his numbers have stayed pretty consistent to the chart and when he was hospitalized I didn't have access to the numbers at the time.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hi Ellie, this will get you bumped up for more eyes. 2 is very young to develop diabetes unless steroid induced. I'm not sure if anything he could have gotten into could be toxic and effect the pancreas.

Lantus is a depot insulin, it builds up a reserve in the body which is slowly released. until that depot is built up you will not see the full effect of the insulin dose. It can tak up to a week initially.

Was he getting subcutaneous fluids at the vet? Are you continuing them at home? Blood glucose levels can be elevated by an infection, stress or other factors.

Also, what is he eating? A low carbohydrate wet food is very important for diabetic cats. Dry food is a big problem, way too high in carbs and water depleting to the whole body, which is hard on the kidneys and liver.

Please do update the numbers on the SS with what you have and the vets tests when you get them. They should give them to you on request.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Ellie

Welcome to Lantus Land. Poor,sweet Charlie...he's been through so much.

I took some time to go back and read your Health posts and get a little background on Charlie. It seems that none of your doctors can pinpoint what caused his diabetes. Was he a dry food kitty? You say he's had no infection? When they've checked his urine, did they do it by cystocentesis or free catch? Since you are a vet tech, you know they would need to do a urine sample by cystocentesis to determine if there is bacteria. He also had a dental last year for a tooth issue but has anyone checked him lately for any FORL?

DKA is caused by infection + too little insulin + too little food/water. He needs to be eating 2-3 times the number of calories he would normally eat for a cat his age. He needs subq fluids daily until the ketones are gone.

You gave him Humulin R? (there are two types of Humulin insulin so I want to be sure which one it is; N lasts longer than R). While it is not unusual to give it IM, usually we give it subq just like his insulin.

One of the very important things to know is what his BG is doing. So any numbers you could add to his SS would be really helpful. Cats can go from 300 at PS to 40 by midcycle to 300 at the very next PS and without some midcycle tests, we have no idea what his BG has been doing.

Lantus is a depot insulin and it is not great at yanking down high numbers. It takes time to build the depot. For example, the starting dose is normally held 5-7 days unless the numbers are high and flat or kitty is prone to ketones. And we know Charlie is. In that case, we would increase the dose after three days so that would mean increasing tomorrow morning but we would sure like to see any Lantus numbers you have.

Are you testing urine ketones at home? I would be testing them twice a day.

I've asked alot of questions but we'd like to help you help Charlie. We've had a lot of DKA kitties in this group and a lot of kitties with high numbers. Let's see what we can do for Charlie.

Edited to add: what are his liver values? The reason I am asking is because my girl has had them elevated on and off and I had an ultrasound done and she had a bile duct infection. A bile duct infection will not respond to Convenia. Convenia is better for skin issues. Too many vets use it haphazardly. Once it's in, you can't get it out and it can be in the system weeks or even longer. If he has any kind of bile duct or liver infection, he needs a long course (30 days to start) of a broad spectrum antibiotic like clavamox. With his liver values elevated, I'd get an ultrasound by a board certified radiologist or internal medicine specialist.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Thanks for the replies. To answer the questions, we have obtained urine samples via cysto. And the way we are checking ketones is spinning down blood samples and checking his plasma. He was on IV fluids from sat-mon but then we took his catheter out and have been giving 100 mls LRS BID SC. Im 99% sure the Humulin was N (not R). He only eats the seafood varieties of fancy feast right now (6 cans daily-one every 4 hours) and he is still ravenous (unless he is DKA, then he wont eat unless I sprinkle fortiflora on it). Prior to all of this he ate a half can friskies in the morning and some Royal Canin Fiber Response (old cat in the house has constipation issues, and all the cats enjoyed the RCFR). Now, he is strictly on the fancy feast and only gets freeze dried chicken or salmon as treats. He was never on a steroid and his teeth are in great shape. No FORLs, the only reason he had a dental was because one of his canine teeth were poking into the roof of his mouth when he would close his mouth and one of the vets I work with did a root canal on the tooth for his comfort. This cat means the world to me. He came to me as a 3 day old kitten that was found in the woods locked inside a cat carrier, found by a hiker. His littermate died from dehydration but Charlie was a fighter and he pulled through that. I am willing to do anything it takes to save him. I feel that at the rate we are going he won't be around much longer if I cant get this under control. Such a roller coaster. So not fair :(
Thanks again for any help anyone can offer. I will get whatever numbers we have at the hospital tomorrow morning. He is still hospitalized but will take him home with me over the weekend. I am so afraid that he will be spending the weekend at the emergency hospital again because of the moderate ketones in his plasma today, praying tomorrow will show trace instead of worse. I will post back tomorrow with his stats. Thanks again everyone! Appreciate it more than you know.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hi Ellie and Charlie,

Just wanted to send my well wishes to both of you and to help bump this condo up to the top so that more eyes can see it. Best wishes and I'll be sending prayers for good answers and a positive outcome for Charlie.

Deborah
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Sorry...I didn't realize he was still in the hospital. My reference to giving subq fluids daily was if you had him home. I'm sure they will continue to give him fluids either subq or IV in the hospital. Normally, we've seen vets withhold the basal insulin and just use Humulin R to get the numbers down as they can give it every four hours.

While he might be eating six cans of food, you need to see what the calories are. You want to focus more on calories than how many cans he gets. Iams Max Calorie is fairly low carb and is a good, really high cal food for DKA kitties.

Please keep us updated. Sending lots of healing vines for Charlie.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

i want to add my welcome too - we'll do whatever we can to help you help him.

The spreadsheet is an essential tool for us - the numbers mean most in the context of when in the cycle you get them. In other words, a 300 when you give the shot means something different than a 300 6 hrs after you gave the Lantus. The numbers in the previous 3 days matter too.

So it really, really helps us to see the blood sugar numbers on the spreadsheet. It's not unheard of for a young cat to develop diabetes. We may or may not be able to figure out why he became diabetic. But what we can do is help you get his blood sugar under control.

He sounds like a real fighter and you sound very dedicated.

We'll see you tomorrow when you get him home and try to help you get it figured out.

edited to add: It's very possible he's developed Glucose Toxicity. It just means his body has gotten so used to high numbers that it takes more insulin to get him down into normal numbers. That may explain part of why he appears to be staying high.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

do you know where I could get the max calorie Iams? Is it thru vets only? We only carry Hills, Purina and Royal Canin products but Im sure I could get a script, but im wondering if pet food stores might carry it? Ive been paranoid to feed him anything but the seafood varieties of fancy feast. He turned his nose up at Tiki Cat. He would love the gravy styles of friskies but I know that's too high carb. I try to reference the calorie/carb food table on here to try to find the lowest carb diet for him.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

i wondered why you were feeding seafood varieties. the most current, comprehensive site about food is http://www.catinfo.org. It's run by a vet who posts here sometimes. She discourages fish for boy kitties except as treats, and encourages feeding birds (chicken, turkey). The list with carb amounts is on her site - look on the sidebar on the right side.

Dyana buys MaxCal for JD - so if you look for JD's thread, you could ask her where she finds it. She's on the east coast so is no doubt in bed already, but i'm sure she'd answer you tomorrow.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

I am so sorry that your baby is so sick. When I hear that a cat is eating that much and losing weight, I wonder if he was checked for EPI, malabsorption. Max had a above normal ALT when diagnosed with pancreatitis. Being in the Er I'm sure they must have checked the liver enzymes but do ask. And do get copies of all the labs they have run while hospitalized so you have them to compare with new ones in the future. Vets don't all go over all the results with you. Mine never even told me when my cat was becoming anemic. I hope this all gets figured out quickly.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

You can only get Max Cal from a vet. If you work for a vet, they should be able to order it for you even if they don't carry it or get a script and call around to see if anyone carries it.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hi, Ellie.

We'll do whatever we can to lend a hand. One thing I'd probably wonder about, especially given Charlie's age, is whether he is among a handful of cats with Type 1 vs. Type 2 diabetes. There was a member who isn't posting very often who I've asked if she can stop by. Here's the link to her kitty's (Michaelangelo aka "Mikey") SS.

Has an ultrasound been done? I'd want to rule out a couple of things. Pancreatitis is a big source of inflammation. The other question I'd have -- and this is going way out on a limb -- is whether there is any form of adrenal tumor that's secreting a corticosteroid. A steroid secreting tumor will play havoc with BG levels. They are also very rare. In humans, the diagnostic test is a 24 hour urine sample. I don't know how they would assess this in a cat or if something might show up on an ultrasound.

As others said, getting Charlie on a higher carb diet may allow you to use the amount of insulin you need to prevent ketones and allow you to prevent drops into low numbers.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Wanted to stop by and offer a hug. I'm sorry you are going through this.

If your kitty is a fancy feast lover, have you tried chicken and tuna flaked? It is a little higher carb at 8% but has a lot of protein and has some fish but not all fish. Our kitty will only eat fancy feast and loves it. Just a thought.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hi Ellie,

I'm a newby here and just wanted to offer some hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Also, to just say that you've found a great source of truly caring and wise folks here in Lantus Land. My suggestion would be to upload here as much organized data (BG test numbers, lab reports, x-rays, etc.) that you have for Charlie. It's the bread and butter for the knowledgeable people here and they will be frustrated until they get it! :lol:

I can't say enough good things about the helping hands these folks stretch out to all of us here, constantly.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

EllieKozak said:
do you know where I could get the max calorie Iams? Is it thru vets only? We only carry Hills, Purina and Royal Canin products but Im sure I could get a script, but im wondering if pet food stores might carry it? Ive been paranoid to feed him anything but the seafood varieties of fancy feast. He turned his nose up at Tiki Cat. He would love the gravy styles of friskies but I know that's too high carb. I try to reference the calorie/carb food table on here to try to find the lowest carb diet for him.

Hi Ellie.

I tried calling all of the vets around here and none of them carried the Iams Maximum Calorie, so I have ordered it online from both American Diabetes Wholesale and from PetFoodDirect.com. When I go to California, I usually buy a case and fly it back with me.

I am sending vines to your kitty to get healthy, and hugs to you.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

ADW is where a lot of us get our supplies. They are in Florida, but are very prompt and I get my orders in less than a week all the way out here in California, I just ordered on Tuesday and it is due here today. Perhaps a local pet store that carries Iams can order it from their distributor if you have a script from your vet.

The highest calorie low carb (LC) foods around are the Wellness Grain Free pates 4 -6% carbs - 35 to 40 kcal/oz, EVO 95% 2 - 6% carbs 36 to39% kcal/oz and Wild Calling! 0 to5% carbs - 37 to 44 kcal/oz, for the pheasant, chicken, beef or salmon. ( :roll: I have to work hard to keep weight on my old lady too!) How do you feel about raw? It is more readily digested than processed foods and the Nature's Variety instinct raw is 4 - 5% carbs - 50 kcal/oz. Both Petsmart and Petco carry it now. They also make freeze dried Boost treats, about 2 kcal each. Tess goes nuts for them when I crumble them on her food and eats everything up or just as a treat. For a tiny cat those calories add up!
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hello, and welcome to LL!

I'm so sorry that you're having to deal with many health issues with Charlie, however, I know you're a fighter from what I've briefly read, and you're like everyone else on here... You'll do whatever you are humanly able to do for Charlie to ensure that he makes it. God bless you, and help you with your fight.

As far as Iams Max Cal wet food, I found a link to it at Pet Food Direct:

http://www.petfooddirect.com/product/7794/iams-veterinary-formula-maximum-calorie-canned-food

I'm not sure if that's the same stuff that you're thinking of, or if there are other flavors other than the one in the link. You may need to do some research on it.

Hope that helps, and my thoughts and prayers are with you.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

You guys are amazingly comforting and helpful I truly appreciate everything. We have an appointment at VESH (veterinary emergency and specialty hospital) with an incredible doctor that specializes in internal medicine. His appointment is Sept 14, that's the soonest we could get in. I truly hope he hangs on until then :(
Today, when I got to work, his ketones were still moderate. We gave him 100mls lrs and 3 units of lantus. I will update his spreadsheet right after I am finished with this post but for quick reference, I want to say that we started off with a AMPS of 390, his +7 was 605!!!! That's the highest ive ever seen from him. Naturally I panicked. We gave him 2 units Humulin R IM and within an hour he was back to 303. This has been the most awful roller coaster of emotions. We ultrasounded and xrayed him after diagnosis but not since and when we did everything was normal. I was able to find that max cal food at the same specialty hospital so I drove there after work to get a case. He loves it. I have him home with me for the weekend with a bag of LRS with 8 MLs potassium chloride added. I will be giving him 100 mls BID and will check ketones again tonight before bed. Will get more bgs before the night is through as well. Doctor wants to run a GI panel because he was having loose stools, but not diarrhea. Thanks again for all input. You guys are the best. I hate that my favorite cat on the planet has to be the one that stumps all the vets in the area, and they are incredible doctors. Ive been a tech for 10 years and have never seen anything like this. I feel so out of my element, even though I have helped many clients with diabetic issues but my guy is not the "classic diabetic". Very discouraging but I will fight the fiercest battle for my sweetheart. Thanks again!
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Your note about the slightly loose stools makes me wonder about exocrine pancreatic insufficiency. If something took out the insulin producing cells in the pancreas, it could have damaged some of the digestive enzyme producing cells, too. This results in malabsorption due to the lack of enzymes, also causing weight loss and "fluffy" stools, often a grayish or pasty color.

The test for this should be done in a fasting state, but with him so ill, I'd discuss doing empirical treatment with the vet - that is, treating as if that were a diagnosis, without confirmatory labwork. See what the vet thinks - if it wouldn't hurt him to add supplemental enzymes, and might help, I'd go for it.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

I'm glad you have him home and he's probably glad to be there. Also glad you found the max cal and he likes it. We will be looking forward to seeing his numbers.

Did they send you home with R and any instructions about using it?
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Hi there,

Since you are in Mass and are a vet tech, I wondered if you have considered taking your cat to Tufts Veterinary in Grafton? Just a thought.

All the best to both of you.

Claudia
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

cjleo said:
Hi there,

Since you are in Mass and are a vet tech, I wondered if you have considered taking your cat to Tufts Veterinary in Grafton? Just a thought.

All the best to both of you.

Claudia
Thank you Claudia :) I am taking him to Dr Weigand. She is an internal med specialist in Deerfield. She is the guru of endocrine diseases around here. I am more than willing to take him to Tufts as well. Heck, I'd take him cross country for some answers! :)
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

Welcome to Lantus land!

WOW you two are having quite the bad time. He is holding on for you and you are doing your best! :smile:

I wanted to suggest RC recovery food as it has high calories. It is much like baby food and easy to digest. However I do not know the carb level of it. The wonderful women responding to you have much more experience then I do and they saved my two cats who are now OTJ. It is hard to focus when you are in this moment because you love him so much! They will guide you.

Keeping him in my prayers and bumping this up again.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

hi ellie!

there are medical conditions that cause a need for higher doses of insulin. Charlie isn't to a dose yet that we would even consider that, but looking at his spreadsheet for the past 2 days it looks like he needs more insulin. Do you have any testing data from 8/10-27 that could be added to the spreadsheet?

My cat punkin, had acromegaly, which is a benign tumor on the pituitary gland that puts out growth hormones, which cause the cat to become diabetic. they need more than average amounts of insulin, the most significant characteristic is that they have an uncontrollable appetite (which is true of high blood sugar for any cat), often they gain weight upon diagnosis rather than losing weight (i know Charlie has lost weight), they show signs of growth, ie, the feet get big, the face can broaden, the tongue & colon both can enlarge, so you might see a child-sized tongue and stools. Often a cat with acromegaly has a particular sound when they breathe, called stridor. the excess growth of soft tissue in their throat and airway will cause a sort of "snoring" sound, that most people just find cute. The vocal chords can grow and the cat's voice can change - punkin sounded like a pack-a-day smoker. I don't know that Charlie has this, but it can strike at any age. Males get it more often than females, although females also get it. I'm just brainstorming, not saying that he has it. Many vets don't know much about acromegaly, but it isn't uncommon in diabetic cats. Here are a couple of posts that have more information on thishttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324 and http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324. Some of the links are on both posts, but it might be helpful if you look at these and see if you think it applies to Charlie. It's possible this is the source of the mystery that you are exploring. Typically, we don't suspect a high dose condition until a cat gets to 6u per shot, and as i said, you're nowhere near there yet. He might just need a little more insulin and not be to a good dose yet.

Can you explain how the dose has been arrived at? I'd really like to see his dose being adjusted every 6-8 cycles to get these blood sugar numbers down. I think with 2 days of good testing in, you would be ok to increase by 0.5u.

From our guidelines from the Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

The same Tight Regulation Protocol is interpreted slightly differently on another site:
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm and it suggests increasing every 2 days, or 4 cycles if the cat is constantly high:
Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

It's going to be very helpful if you can continue getting more tests in - a minimum of preshot and at the very least, one other per am cycle and one other per pm cycle. I'd love to see a test about every 3-4 hours while you're awake if it's at all possible. The reason for the frequent testing when it appears that he is just high, is that we know some cats will dive down, barely touch a lower range, say a 150, and then zoom immediately back up. Because Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW a dose causes a cat's BGs to go, catching any low numbers is extremely important. Especially so because it appears that Charlie needs more insulin fairly quickly, so we don't have the luxury of waiting several days and just hoping to catch any lows that appear.

If he were mine, I'd increase to 3.5u Lantus tonight, and test every 3 or so hours. I'd also post every day so we can see what he's doing and help you with his dosing. As long as you have enough test data in to show that he really is constantly high, not bouncing, then we would help you evaluate if he needed his dose increased every 4 cycles. We need to get enough insulin into him to help deal with the ketones. You also need to make sure he's eating enough and is getting enough water. You can add water to his food, as much as he will tolerate it.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

BJM said:
Your note about the slightly loose stools makes me wonder about exocrine pancreatic insufficiency. If something took out the insulin producing cells in the pancreas, it could have damaged some of the digestive enzyme producing cells, too. This results in malabsorption due to the lack of enzymes, also causing weight loss and "fluffy" stools, often a grayish or pasty color.

The test for this should be done in a fasting state, but with him so ill, I'd discuss doing empirical treatment with the vet - that is, treating as if that were a diagnosis, without confirmatory labwork. See what the vet thinks - if it wouldn't hurt him to add supplemental enzymes, and might help, I'd go for it.
His stools intermittently do have that fluffy grayish appearance. I chocked it up to recovering from DKA stress multiple times but you might be on to something. His doctor wants to run a GI panel on Tuesday. I can run to the hospital and pick up some metronidazole in the meantime if you think it might help? His doctor is in Maine for the weekend with her family, I could text her but I feel like I am being such a burden to her already. She spent her weekend last weekend tending to him being hospitalized.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

I don't think metronidazole would help with digestion, although if there is another problem, it might help with that.

There are some OTC digestive enzyme supplements, Mercola makes one and you might find it a large pet supply store.Really should have your vet's OK on this, in case it would interfere with anything else.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

We use digestive enzymes and probiotics from NWC Naturals. Both have a wider variety of enzymes/probiotics than Mercola for a lot less. My vet was impressed. You can get them on Amazon. But you want something now. NaturVet makes a combo
10803_160.jpg
and it is available from many pet stores. Petco lists it online so they may have it in their brick and mortar stores too.
 
Re: Desperately need help my baby is fading away MEDICAL MYS

thank you for the advice! I will order some of that enzyme now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top