Dental

  • Thread starter Thread starter TempestsMum
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

TempestsMum

ok so Tempest Is still in remission (thank goodness). But needs a dental. I feel bad because she was supposed to have had this done already but 'mummy is a chicken' she's not showing any signs of discomfort I should point out and while she has kitty breath it's not putrid. However she does have tartar and definitely needs a good clean.

While the general anaesthetic scares the life right out of me, my main concerns are - is there anything they can do to make things easier for her? Extra fluids for example?
What drugs should we avoid? Is there specific ones I should ask for?

I like my vet but don't really feel confident in his knowledge of diabetic kitties, and I want to avoid her going back otj if at all possible.

Thank you! :smuggrin:
 
ok so Tempest Is still in remission (thank goodness). But needs a dental. I feel bad because she was supposed to have had this done already but 'mummy is a chicken' she's not showing any signs of discomfort I should point out and while she has kitty breath it's not putrid. However she does have tartar and definitely needs a good clean.

While the general anaesthetic scares the life right out of me, my main concerns are - is there anything they can do to make things easier for her? Extra fluids for example?
What drugs should we avoid? Is there specific ones I should ask for?

I like my vet but don't really feel confident in his knowledge of diabetic kitties, and I want to avoid her going back otj if at all possible.

Thank you! :smuggrin:
Just wanted to say that my cc is going for a dental on the 21st. She needs a tooth pulled. Hers isn't infected yet, but want to take care of it before that happens and it knocks her out of remission.

I don't know of any precautions so I'll be following this thread.
 
Good luck with it Janet, hope all goes well for you both. xx
 
Good luck with it Janet, hope all goes well for you both. xx
Thanks... It's the first dental I've ever had done on a cat. Hopefully it's just the one else tooth. It has a lesion on it and was tender when the vet pushed on it, but she's eating ok. Her numbers have been a little higher lately so I am wondering if it's starting to bother her. I am glad she only has to wait one more week.
 
Thanks... It's the first dental I've ever had done on a cat. Hopefully it's just the one else tooth. It has a lesion on it and was tender when the vet pushed on it, but she's eating ok. Her numbers have been a little higher lately so I am wondering if it's starting to bother her. I am glad she only has to wait one more week.

It's not my first but it's my first FD kitty. I would love to know how you get on, so pretty please with sugar on top, let me know. :)
 
Ok so I guess there's no meds I need to avoid giving her, i had thought there were some to avoid as they cause FD. so we are all booked in for Wednesday the 25th. (Next week! Eek!:nailbiting:)
 
Ok so I guess there's no meds I need to avoid giving her, i had thought there were some to avoid as they cause FD. so we are all booked in for Wednesday the 25th. (Next week! Eek!:nailbiting:)
Teasel's sister has her first dental this week on Thursday. She's not diabetic but I'm already fretting. I hate to see them frightened and not understanding what's happening. :(
 
Oh my heart goes out to all of you with dentals coming up and to your little ones. Been through it myself and probably going to have to go through it again soon with my middle child. Not being able to explain to them is the worst feeling. They will all be just fine. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

When Menace had her dental the only change I had to make was the morning of her surgery and her dose of insulin. Unless there are other meds involved prep usually involves fasting only for 8 to 12 hours pre-anaesthetic.

I would discuss antibiotics ahead of time. Some vets here use Covenia which was originally brought to market for skin conditions and is not the ideal antibiotic for dentals. It's also a shot that stays in their system for several weeks so if there is any reaction, there is nothing but supportive care that can be offered. I won't allow it to be given to any of my cats although a couple of them have had it before without any problem before I knew about the potential issue. Make sure you discuss pain meds and get them if needed. I was given transdermal Codeine for Menace that I just rubbed into her ear pinnae. That made things so much easier than another oral med.
 
@Kris & Teasel ooh! Prayers for you too! (Both of you) :bighug:

@JanetNJ, Kris Goodness! Dental season is in full swing! :D They are all going to have Hollywood smiles!

I feel so bad for Tempest she's literally only been to the vets 5 possibly 6 times in her life for spay, and blood tests and the FD of course. She hates the car, gets super stressed and then I've to abandon her there all day... her bg will be through the roof. And then I've to try to get her to eat something? There are little soup things you can buy for cats here, I've no idea if they are safe for diabetes though. Would it hurt for her to have one or two of those so she has something in her tummy after it's all over?

@MrWorfMen's Mom thank you!

Ahh yes fasting starts for Tempest 8pm the night before poor girl.
They normally (at my vets give a long acting antibiotic that lasts 3 days not sure what it is though. I will check that)
Oh I'm definitely going to ask about that codiene stuff. I have to use a spot on wormer as getting pills into her was a massive fight, and believe me I'm pretty good at getting pills into pets. But I think they will likely give me the pain relief you squirt into their food. (It's like metacalm but a different name)

I've scheduled an appointment the morning I drop her in to talk to the vet so knowing all this now is very handy.
 
@TempestsMum a dental should be safe; however, with a senior cat or one that has health issues, fluids before and during anesthesia at a low rate may be beneficial to protect Tempest's kidneys. There is some useful information here that you may want to discuss with your vet to make sure the safest possible anesthesia protocol will be followed.
http://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/May-2013/Senior-Anesthesia-Age-Doesnt-Stop-The-Need-For-Care/
https://www.aaha.org/professional/resources/anesthesia_at_a_glance_summary.aspx
https://www.aaha.org/professional/resources/fluid_therapy_guidelines_anesthesia.aspx
http://www.dentalvet.com/encyclopedia/m07126.htm

While anesthesia these days is generally safe, I would suggest you talk to your vet about monitoring Tempest's blood pressure closely during the procedure - there is the possibility of a potential link between low blood pressure during anesthesia and the triggering of CKD in cats that are prone to CKD already. While Tempest may very well not be prone to any such thing, I'm a great believer in assuming that any cat may be prone to such problems and taking care to have the vet prevent them. I'm sure the vet is already aware, but I always like to raise any and all concerns before the procedure to keep the chances of anything going wrong to an absolute minimum. I would also request that they make sure she is kept warm throughout the procedure and the recovery period. With an older cat, I always request that the anesthesia protocol for fragile cats is used when it comes to choosing which anesthetic drugs to use - again to minimize the already very small risk.
 
@TempestsMum a dental should be safe; however, with a senior cat or one that has health issues, fluids before and during anesthesia at a low rate may be beneficial to protect Tempest's kidneys. There is some useful information here that you may want to discuss with your vet to make sure the safest possible anesthesia protocol will be followed.
http://www.veterinarypracticenews.com/May-2013/Senior-Anesthesia-Age-Doesnt-Stop-The-Need-For-Care/
https://www.aaha.org/professional/resources/anesthesia_at_a_glance_summary.aspx
https://www.aaha.org/professional/resources/fluid_therapy_guidelines_anesthesia.aspx
http://www.dentalvet.com/encyclopedia/m07126.htm

While anesthesia these days is generally safe, I would suggest you talk to your vet about monitoring Tempest's blood pressure closely during the procedure - there is the possibility of a potential link between low blood pressure during anesthesia and the triggering of CKD in cats that are prone to CKD already. While Tempest may very well not be prone to any such thing, I'm a great believer in assuming that any cat may be prone to such problems and taking care to have the vet prevent them. I'm sure the vet is already aware, but I always like to raise any and all concerns before the procedure to keep the chances of anything going wrong to an absolute minimum. I would also request that they make sure she is kept warm throughout the procedure and the recovery period. With an older cat, I always request that the anesthesia protocol for fragile cats is used when it comes to choosing which anesthetic drugs to use - again to minimize the already very small risk.

Thanks April! This is great! Thank you for the links. :) lots of information.

I've already asked for fluids to be given, so glad I got that bit right. I will ask for the blood pressure to be monitored too. I didn't know about that. They have told me that they use up to date anaesthetic and procedures tailored to each pet, especially those who are older or with health problems. And I am having a full blood screen done rather than the usual one they do which isn't so in depth. I have told them, I want her to come through this fantastically rather than just well, so whatever she needs.

I must say to their credit, they treated my old cat really well and he had to have anaesthetic in his 20s due to a ruptured abscess on his head, so it wasn't an option. We had hoped it wouldn't - but it did.

And my dog with CHF also had a dental done and lumps removed - one of which burst, so again we were out of options, although she was given 50/50 she's snoozing beside me right now a year later! She did develop another and I pray it doesn't do anything.

Anyway I really appreciate your response. Thank you
 
My FD boy makes cracking sound when he's eating his wet food. Pried open his mouth but couldn't see any inflamed gums. Teeth look ok. Anyone experience this before? Heard it only 2 days ago, yesterday no sound and just now heard it again.

One of my civvies had dental check last month. Blood test showed elevated creatine so vet put on a drip, gave the mildest anaesthesia and monitored blood pressure throughout. Everythg went smoothly. He's gonna be 14 soon. Another civvie going for dental next month. Very stressful for me. Worried for weeks before appointment and during the procedure.
 
My FD boy makes cracking sound when he's eating his wet food. Pried open his mouth but couldn't see any inflamed gums. Teeth look ok. Anyone experience this before? Heard it only 2 days ago, yesterday no sound and just now heard it again.

One of my civvies had dental check last month. Blood test showed elevated creatine so vet put on a drip, gave the mildest anaesthesia and monitored blood pressure throughout. Everythg went smoothly. He's gonna be 14 soon. Another civvie going for dental next month. Very stressful for me. Worried for weeks before appointment and during the procedure.
It could be his jaw making the sound. Cats can get arthritis in their jaw.
 
Last edited:
My FD boy makes cracking sound when he's eating his wet food. Pried open his mouth but couldn't see any inflamed gums. Teeth look ok. Anyone experience this before? Heard it only 2 days ago, yesterday no sound and just now heard it again.

One of my civvies had dental check last month. Blood test showed elevated creatine so vet put on a drip, gave the mildest anaesthesia and monitored blood pressure throughout. Everythg went smoothly. He's gonna be 14 soon. Another civvie going for dental next month. Very stressful for me. Worried for weeks before appointment and during the procedure.

Hi :)
Is the sound like teeth rubbing together? I have heard some cats do that but not sure exactly why, I just assumed it was whatever way they were chewing. If it's clicking could it be a broken tooth or he's just really enjoying his food and his teeth are coming together?

I know how you feel, I'm such a stress bunny about everything, it's one reason I booked her in last minute and am having it done asap. I don't want to stress months in advance. Im keeping myself busy though to distract myself as much as possible. If I had my way, I'd be in that room with her!
 
It's his jaw making the sound. Cats can get arthritis in their jaw.
Oh no! How do I check? Must see the vet ? I'm worried if he stops eating cos of that. He doesn't drool or paw at his mouth so it's not likely to be teeth or gum issue rite?
 
Hi :)
Is the sound like teeth rubbing together? I have heard some cats do that but not sure exactly why, I just assumed it was whatever way they were chewing. If it's clicking could it be a broken tooth or he's just really enjoying his food and his teeth are coming together?

I know how you feel, I'm such a stress bunny about everything, it's one reason I booked her in last minute and am having it done asap. I don't want to stress months in advance. Im keeping myself busy though to distract myself as much as possible. If I had my way, I'd be in that room with her!
I wanted to get the girl's done asap but because she has elevated liver enzyme, the vet put her on supplement for a month and we can only do her dental after that. We brushed her teeth with the cat toothpaste but it's impossible to reach the back teeth. The fasting is very stressful cos she'll want her food in the morning. Vet told me to keep her in the carrier and cover with a piece of cloth. I thought it's pretty evil.
 
My FD boy makes cracking sound when he's eating his wet food.
It could be that he's grinding his teeth, which is often due to nausea, especially if he's only doing it once in a while. If it happens again, you could try him with 1/4 of a Pepcid AC which would reduce any excess acid he may be having or you could ask your vet about one of the anti-nausea meds to see if one of those helps to stop it.
 
Oh no! How do I check? Must see the vet ? I'm worried if he stops eating cos of that. He doesn't drool or paw at his mouth so it's not likely to be teeth or gum issue rite?
I should have said it COULD be the jaw. If he's not in pain I don't know. As long as it isn't bothering him......
 
It could be that he's grinding his teeth, which is often due to nausea, especially if he's only doing it once in a while. If it happens again, you could try him with 1/4 of a Pepcid AC which would reduce any excess acid he may be having or you could ask your vet about one of the anti-nausea meds to see if one of those helps to stop it.
Hmmm not sure if the vet will give me without consultation.
 
Hmmm not sure if the vet will give me without consultation.
Is there any way you can get him to the vet to get it checked on? I only ask because the last time I saw tooth grinding in a cat, it was due to an extremely high phosphorus level which is not only often a symptom of CKD, but actually worsens the kidney damage itself. It may, of course, be nothing of the sort but I wouldn't let it go unchecked if you can possibly get him in for an appointment.
 
Hi :)
Is the sound like teeth rubbing together? I have heard some cats do that but not sure exactly why, I just assumed it was whatever way they were chewing. If it's clicking could it be a broken tooth or he's just really enjoying his food and his teeth are coming together?

I know how you feel, I'm such a stress bunny about everything, it's one reason I booked her in last minute and am having it done asap. I don't want to stress months in advance. Im keeping myself busy though to distract myself as much as possible. If I had my way, I'd be in that room with her!
Oh, I SO understand this approach, Tara!! I'm trying hard to find things to distract myself before my little girl's dental this week. :confused::(
 
Oh, I SO understand this approach, Tara!! I'm trying hard to find things to distract myself before my little girl's dental this week. :confused::(
I like just getting it over with too. Unfortunately I had to wait a few weeks because the vet only does the dental on Friday.... The first Friday I was going away, then the second Friday she was going away so had to push it to the third week.
 
Is there any way you can get him to the vet to get it checked on? I only ask because the last time I saw tooth grinding in a cat, it was due to an extremely high phosphorus level which is not only often a symptom of CKD, but actually worsens the kidney damage itself. It may, of course, be nothing of the sort but I wouldn't let it go unchecked if you can possibly get him in for an appointment.
The last blood test done in Feb this year showed kidney functions and phosphorus are all normal. I'll monitor for a bit more and if it's really bugging him and me, we'll go see the vet.
 
When the vet asked me to sign on the consent form, I asked repeatedly that since it's a daily procedure for them, my cat will definitely be okay. Of course, they will give the standard "we'll do our best" answer!
 
So Tara, with the needing to fast her before dental, does that mean you would skip AM shot? Just following the thread since Maury may have to go through this in a couple months :bookworm:

ETA: Just remembered Tempest is in remission :facepalm:. Anyone else can answer too :D
 
Brought my boy to the vet this evening just so I don't go crazy with worry. Vet felt that it's his teeth and gums at the back that's causing him some discomfort. And the crunching sound is when the teeth rub against each other when he moved his jaws. Prescribed a gel for the gum and solution for drinking water to help with the plaque and bacteria. If this doesn't help, then antibiotics and last resort is dental scaling. Hopefully we don't have to do that cos it sounds so complicated cos of his diabetes.
 
Brought my boy to the vet this evening just so I don't go crazy with worry. Vet felt that it's his teeth and gums at the back that's causing him some discomfort. And the crunching sound is when the teeth rub against each other when he moved his jaws. Prescribed a gel for the gum and solution for drinking water to help with the plaque and bacteria. If this doesn't help, then antibiotics and last resort is dental scaling. Hopefully we don't have to do that cos it sounds so complicated cos of his diabetes.
There are many people here who have had dentals done on their FD kitty. You can post here with any/all questions you have about it.
 
There are many people here who have had dentals done on their FD kitty. You can post here with any/all questions you have about it.
The vet seems knowledgable about the procedure but reluctant to do it now. I'll get a second opinion from another clinic.
 
SO CC did good with her dental. she had one pulled and another filled somehow. ... apparently she's missing a few teeth in the back that have already been reabsorbed. I had NO IDEA. doesn't seem to stop her from eating! Anyway she's doing good. seems to be happy. They gave me five days worth of bupe for pain, but I think she's feeling better then before the extraction even without it! But i'm giving it to her as a test if it helps her limp. She has a problem with one of her shoulders/elbow... probably just bad arthritis. She's already on Adaquen... but if the pain killer helps we might also add galapine (sp?) to the treatment. eh, we'll see. I"m glad the dental is over though!
 
SO CC did good with her dental. she had one pulled and another filled somehow. ... apparently she's missing a few teeth in the back that have already been reabsorbed. I had NO IDEA. doesn't seem to stop her from eating! Anyway she's doing good. seems to be happy. They gave me five days worth of bupe for pain, but I think she's feeling better then before the extraction even without it! But i'm giving it to her as a test if it helps her limp. She has a problem with one of her shoulders/elbow... probably just bad arthritis. She's already on Adaquen... but if the pain killer helps we might also add galapine (sp?) to the treatment. eh, we'll see. I"m glad the dental is over though!

So glad all went smoothly :bighug: that gives me peace of mind for Wednesday lol and I'm sure Kris will be happy to hear this too!
I saw people discussing aquaden, what exactly is it? Arthritis meds?

Anyway delighted CC is home and doing well! :)
 
SO CC did good with her dental. she had one pulled and another filled somehow. ... apparently she's missing a few teeth in the back that have already been reabsorbed. I had NO IDEA. doesn't seem to stop her from eating! Anyway she's doing good. seems to be happy. They gave me five days worth of bupe for pain, but I think she's feeling better then before the extraction even without it! But i'm giving it to her as a test if it helps her limp. She has a problem with one of her shoulders/elbow... probably just bad arthritis. She's already on Adaquen... but if the pain killer helps we might also add galapine (sp?) to the treatment. eh, we'll see. I"m glad the dental is over though!

Hi
Happy CC is home & doing well!:bighug:

Layla, started the Biomax! Her BG are back to normal! Did BG test @ 2pm yesterday 65 (human meter). She's also eating normal

She's scheduled Wednesday for her dental...

Did the vet do anything special for CC during or for her cleaning?

What was the name of pain meds?

Thanks Madeline & Layla
 
Hi
Happy CC is home & doing well!:bighug:

Layla, started the Biomax! Her BG are back to normal! Did BG test @ 2pm yesterday 65 (human meter). She's also eating normal

She's scheduled Wednesday for her dental...

Did the vet do anything special for CC during or for her cleaning?

What was the name of pain meds?

Thanks Madeline & Layla
she was given five days worth of bupe Nothing special that I know of outside of what they do for all cats.
 
So glad all went smoothly :bighug: that gives me peace of mind for Wednesday lol and I'm sure Kris will be happy to hear this too!
I saw people discussing aquaden, what exactly is it? Arthritis meds?

Anyway delighted CC is home and doing well! :)
yes, adaquen is an injection for arthritis. the cosequine pills weren't quite cutting it anymore.
 
Ok guys I am a bit nervous. Cc had a reading of 198 this morning. I pray the dental didn't knock her out of remission.

Maybe her mouth is just sore today and that's why the high number.
I tried to give her bupe and the cat turned her head and most of it got on me... But I don't know how much she got so I'm not going to give more.
Ugh!!!!!!
 
Ok guys I am a bit nervous. Cc had a reading of 198 this morning. I pray the dental didn't knock her out of remission.

Maybe her mouth is just sore today and that's why the high number.
I tried to give her bupe and the cat turned her head and most of it got on me... But I don't know how much she got so I'm not going to give more.
Ugh!!!!!!
Fingers crossed it's only post dental discomfort, Janet. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top