deja vu, or something like that.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Afternoon kids:
~O)
Hope everyone is doing well in Sugar Kitty Land.

We are revisiting our annoying pattern of making a dose change, things looking better, then numbers becoming cruddy again :sad:
We did a little better on the dose reduction, then flat all day yesterday and another 300 this morning. We can’t win.

Wondering if we need to do another dose reduction, but last time we went down to 2 units, the numbers looked crappy and we went up again.
There isn’t much in between 2.2 and 2.0 :roll:

So as per usual, I am all ears if anyone has any ideas. SS is current.

I am so frustrated. Hate to call the vet, in case he wants us to do something I don’t think we should do, and may bug us about our U100 syringes again. Just very scared having Asher in crap numbers for months. It just isn’t working and I don’t know what to do.....

I must run, Mr. Sugar Boy is knocking over stuff on my desk because his kitty clock says it’s time for afternoon treat ohmygod_smile
 
Wonder if he went lower overnight and then bounced? You have gotten nice numbers on both 2.2 and 2.4 and then, yes, he seems to go flat. I remember that he used to take a long time to settle into a dose, but the settling in used to bring better numbers, not worse.... No brilliant ideas here, Donna., sorry. Let's put Carl on the case.....
 
I tested overnight and at +7 he was mid 250s, so I doubt he went that low to bounce after that.
White flag is in the air....
 
My vet says he “reserves Lantus for hard to regulate cats”. Somehow I think we qualify, but last time I was in to see him he said sometimes it’s takes awhile to regulate some cats, whatever that means.

I don’t want to be whiny, I think we do ok and Asher's health otherwise is good, I just don’t want to risk doing any damage by hanging out in these high numbers so often.

And I feel like we are getting nowhere. We have been on insulin a year and a half now, and it’s been six months since our apple cart got upset with the meter crapola and the dental which seemed to change everything. I may have messed around too long already.

But new insulin scares the hell outta me too, as do the words “tight regulation”. Just don’t know what to do :sad:
 
You don't have to do TR. You can post on the Levemir or Lantus Relaxed forum. It is imperative to get a midcycle at least once a day or night, but otherwise, just preshots. You test that often now. Barbara and Thumper and Denise and Shakes recently changed to Levemir. Thumper seems to be doing really well. Shakes is still in reds and pinks with a yellow every so often. Marty and Callicat are doing really well on it.

Surely if you told your vet you are worried about him being above the renal threshold for so long, he would give you the insulin you want. I know you like the vet and had trouble finding a good one, but he should give you what you ask for - what difference does it make to him?
 
I just sent the doc an email explaining our situation and asking about other insulin too. He should get it by tomorrow morning his staff told me. So we’ll see what he says. At the very least, threatening to change insulins has helped us in the past :cool:
 
donnahc said:
I must run, Mr. Sugar Boy is knocking over stuff on my desk because his kitty clock says it’s time for afternoon treat ohmygod_smile

Don't you LOVE they way they manage to get our attention? Grayson will get in my face - regardless of what I'm doing. Moochie Pooch knocks things off the counter. I can't even count how many bowls, plates, glasses, etc he's broken! :lol:

Sue mentioned Denise and Heather, I'm over in Lev now too. Thursday will be two weeks, so it's way too early to tell, as we reduced the starting dose to 3u after being 6u TID, 6u BID (for the week I was gone), then the insulin change to Lev.
 
If you are thinking about a switch now is the time to do it.

The Lev group is quickly filling up with old PZI'ers so you will be amongst friends.
 
Just don’t know if my vet will do Lev. He only has ever mentioned Lantus and when I brought Lev up before, he said nothing. We’ll see what he says.....
 
Lantus folks can post in the Lev ISG also. That is where I posted when Harley was on Lantus.

If you do go with Lantus I have 2 unused pens left over that I could send to you to get you started.
 
You guys will be the first to know if we switch :-D Thanks Robin.

I have threatened this before but I really feel I am not doing Asher any favors buy hanging out in these high numbers. He had a 330 preshoot again tonight. I feel we can do better and maybe the insulin switch is how we do that.

Dunno. I hope to hear from the vet tomorrow at some point. Kinda scared about it but I just have to jump in if the vet will support me.
 
Amazingly my vet just got back to me tonight. He is recommending Glargine (Lantus). I will get more details. It sounds like he has a colleague that has had good success with it from what he says. Which sounds like he doesn’t use it much....
 
It's ok if the vet doesn't use Lantus much, that way he won't fight you on dosing, etc.

The Lev group is where you will get your dosing advise from anyway.
 
Ha! Sounds good :) The giant Lantus TR board scares me a bit. Not that we don’t test enough or I don’t think we can do TR, its just so many people that it looks like you would get lost in there.

I am guessing Doc will call me tomorrow with more details. I was just shocked that he got back to me so quickly tonight.

Here we go on another wild ride!
 
WOw! Everyone is switching insulins. I'm beginning to think we should switch over. My vet likes the lantus too! He said that the PZI seems to wither on copper by +9. I'm very hesitant in switching though. It's hard enough trying to figure out the PZI. If coop's doesn't improve by the time for next bottle, i may try something else too.

Hope you will see some improvement soon!

lori
 
I just read thru a bunch of Lantus stickies and my head hurts. What have I asked to do! :shock:

One thing I couldn’t find, does anyone out there know,is there any difference in handling low numbers in Lantus vs. PZI? Gosh knows I can get thru low numbers on PZI, just wondering if I have to rethink this sort of thing if we switch (which it looks like we will).

I think I need to go to bed and start fresh with all of this in the morning.....
 
:sad: all of my angels are leaving :sad:

It seems like every time you reduce, he does well for a couple days then goes back to crappy. Given that, I'd reduce every time he went crappy to see if the trend continues...
Before switching, make sure to PM a couple of long-time Lev/Lantus users to see what his starting dose should be based on his current dose. I'm not sure if it stays about the same or goes down at first?

Carl
 
Oh Carl, no worries, your angels aren’t leaving, we are just moving around a bit :-D You can’t get rid of me that easily!!! :lol:

I will contact some LL’s people on the board here before we make a switch. I did go in to the vet today, to chat with him about this and get some food for my Mom’s cat, but he was busier than a one armed paper hanger, so I just said call me when you can.

So, we are switching to Lantus but not this very minute. And I will probably be posting on the Lev board if they will have me, at least during my transition time.

Today was a “Mom day” and I mowed her entire property, weed whacked, ran her errands, took her to lunch, took flowers to the cemetery for Dad, and I am completely exhausted. And now I have to pack for a job tomorrow...so I’m signing off for the night. Not much left...

I’ll keep you guys posted on what transpires with our switch. Thank you all for your support, as always! :YMHUG:
 
Just wanted to update everyone...I probably will be switching insulins if possible later this week or early next. I spoke with my vet and as soon as work allows me to get in to see him I will get a new script and go over details. I have PM’d someone on FDMB for some L guidance and probably, with their blessing of course, will post over on Lev.
That is the plan as of now anyway.

I’ll be checking in again soon. Must run, off to get some work done.

Blessings and a good day to all the beans and sugar kitties out there today!

:YMHUG:
 
I hope it works for Asher. You have certainly given ProZinc a good try and although you have had some great success with it, he does seem to react to it in such tiny dose increments. I hope the longer cycles will help smooth him out.
 
Hi Donna -

Libby is pretty much doing TR as I understand it... on Lev. When the vet school suggested changing, they didn't have a strong feeling one way or another.... from the recommendations I got here, I opted for Lev. Some people look at the cost and decide. Both are supposed to be good - Lord knows I'm seeing as much as a 209 point range... haven't seen that since Jan/early Feb!!! We finally today got up to his most recent dose (6u BID)on ProZinc, although we were doing 6 TID the previous week, so I'm not seeing great numbers yet, but definitely improved numbers.

I wasn't sure how I'd feel about the Lev board - it seemed like there wasn't anyone there most of the time. But if you take a look at Libby's thread a few days ago, Hershey started to go low and there was a crowd of folks there with her - it was AWESOME!!! So, regardless of which direction you go, feel free to pop in on us over there!!!

Lu-Ann
 
Donna,

I sure hope Asher does better on Lantus. Will miss you! Hope to hear some good news on the Lantus board about you. Curious to see how it works on him. I'm thinking about switching some day too, maybe. I need the duration for Copper and i heard any of the L's would do that. I'm just too overwhelmed to read more info right now. Maybe next month if his ps's don't come down.

Good luck and will be thinking about you. Keep me updated!!

lori
 
So I know you’ll find this interesting. We have gone back to up to shooting 2.6u BID. We just thought his numbers sucked and for some reason we felt he needed more not less. Last night we had a nadir of around 130!
This morning we had amps of 212 and today +6.6 is 176.
Watch him regulate when we are making plans to switch insulins nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
If you are thinking about a switch now is the time to do it.

The Lev group is quickly filling up with old PZI'ers so you will be amongst friends.

HEY! Those of us with upcoming bdays are sensitive enough about our ages!!!! But, we'd love to have you join us, Donna, and we can learn together...sort of the blind leading the blind. :lol: Okay, not exactly, as there are seasoned veterans over there.

donnahc said:
Just don’t know if my vet will do Lev. He only has ever mentioned Lantus and when I brought Lev up before, he said nothing. We’ll see what he says.....

My vet only does ProZinc and not in low doses, but she gave us the prescription. (Doug said it was just to keep me out of her hair. ;-) )

donnahc said:
I just read thru a bunch of Lantus stickies and my head hurts. What have I asked to do! :shock:

One thing I couldn’t find, does anyone out there know,is there any difference in handling low numbers in Lantus vs. PZI? Gosh knows I can get thru low numbers on PZI, just wondering if I have to rethink this sort of thing if we switch (which it looks like we will).

I think I need to go to bed and start fresh with all of this in the morning.....

Before we switched, I made a document of what I THOUGHT I understood about Lev and questions I had. Then, posted it as a thread and kept that as a starting point for me. I have had to rethink a number of things, like dealing with the lower PS's and Friday, Hershey made sure I understood that these are longer cycles and I need to intervene earlier/differently than on ProZinc.

I see Asher gave better numbers today. Hershey did that when we made the decision to change, too, but they didn't last. Guess he thought I'd forget about changing? Who knows. But, if Asher's numbers don't continue to show improvement, we'd love to have you join us! I've been posting on the the Lev board, but miss the (nearly) daily condos we enjoyed her. I LIKE getting to know y'all and the day to day of learning this dance together. Seems there is more of that on the TR board. I was tickled to go there this morning and read condos about everything from kitties playing to picking tomatoes!

Just let us know where you are so we can check in on you!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
donnahc said:
Just wanted to update everyone...I probably will be switching insulins if possible later this week or early next. I spoke with my vet and as soon as work allows me to get in to see him I will get a new script and go over details. I have PM’d someone on FDMB for some L guidance and probably, with their blessing of course, will post over on Lev.
That is the plan as of now anyway.

Oh, YES! We will gladly take you over in Lev. And some Lev people post in Lantus as they follow the TR rather than relaxed. The more the merrier and soon that means the more people on during the day :-D .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top