? Definition of failed reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just read this http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/
which I think means that the 338 this morning could be a bounce off the 102 last night and that I should wait out the bounce before increasing the dose. That's what I'm going to do (shoot another fat 1U). The sticky doesn't say how to determine if it is just too low a dose though. Can I assume that if he stays in the 300s and 400s even after the typical time for one of his bounces (2.5 days) then I'll know it's time to increase?
 
Yes, when you see the bounce clear and he doesn't get back to good numbers it is a failed reduction. Then you should go back to the previous dose.
 
On SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days regardless unless he goes under 90, then you would reduce. If most nadirs are under 150 then you hold the dose. He cleared the bounce yesterday and this dose brought him to 102 which is a nice nadir. That 102 last night was likely duration from the morning shot IMO. When kitties clear bounces, they can come down and keep coming down. Shooting the reduced dose last night is more than likely part of the reason for the 338. He did not earn a reduction so if it were me I'd go back to the 1.25u.
 
Only TR has the "failed reduction" definition. Be careful combining the protocols. If you shot the 1u F this morning then realize the depot is affected and it can take up to 6 cycles for it to stabilize again.
 
I noticed on the SS you fed GL at +2. imho I would have fed just LC if anything. It looked like to me that Fearless was just surfing along. That GL probably created the yellow.
I agree with Karen I'd go back to the 1.25u :):)
 
Although I started on SLGS, I think my approach is more like TR (now that I've learned more about it from FDMB).
 
It looks to me like Fearless bounced off of the greens on 4/19. It took until yesterday for the bounce to clear. However, given that yesterday's AMPS started out in the reds and Fearless dropped into the blues, he bounced up again this morning. That said, hold the dose. So far, all you know is that the 1.25u dose brings Fearless into the lower blues, which is a very safe place. Since you really haven't had enough time to see what happens on this dose, you need a little more time to figure that out.

It can be difficult to sort out what may be a bounce vs a failed reduction.

 
I guess I am worried about letting him go too low. He may be Fearless, but I am just a scaredy cat! :woot: I hereby resolve to be more like him.
Ha! :)
That's where following the protocols (if using TR) and being prepared really help. As Karen said, please be careful combing the SLGS method and the TR protocols. In my opinion a mash-up can be confusing and potentially dangerous.
I know when I first started out it was all such a big learning curve and I had to get a feel for what I could handle (as far as how much testing, etc.) Once I clearly chose which method/ protocol I would follow, things became more clear for me and those helping with advice an observations.
I think if my work or health situation changes, I may choose to do SLGS but for now TR is getting Uncle into great numbers.
LOVE Fearless' avatar btw. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hey there you will get more comfortable when Fearless gets into blues and greens. Giving him a little bit of LC food to help him surf is a good idea. You don't need to pull higher carb food out unless he starts dropping fast early in the cycle or going below 68 .

To answer your question about failed reductions, they are hard to determine sometimes. Usually with a bounce the numbers wobble around some and with a failed reductions the numbers seem to go steadily upwards.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top