Decrease in insulin advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Member Since 2014
Started Hidey on Prozinc yesterday and my vet said 2 units 2 x a day. Since I got him home yesterday he's been dropping low so much so that I couldn't give him a shot last night. Should I decrease him? If so how much of a decrease should I do?

Thank you for the helpful advice everyone has provided.
 
Hi Samantha!

I saw your post in health with a +6 of 47. That's a little on the low side. Please get another test when you can and post on Hidey's SS and here and/or in health. I will keep an eye out.

As for a reduction in dose, let's see where he's at a PMPS tonight. I'm thinking Hidey may be too low to shoot again or he may have bounced to the moon by then. I'm thinking probably start with 1u and let's get some data and go from there. It's easier to start with a lower number and go up than it is to work your way back down from a dose that's too high. 2u appears to be too much.

Post your PMPS before shooting this PM and we'll discuss.

Welcome (back ;-) ) to the PZI forum! Glad you were able to get hooked up with a better insulin. :smile:
 
You know whats funny about the whole mix up on the whole vetsulin/ prozinc fiasco is that thay actually charged me for the PROZINC initially. Im assuming that's why I was dead set it was prozinc he was on, although they gave me a credit for the amount when I raised hell to get prozinc. In a way I'm glad though. Drs. Foster & Smith's website was going to be $125 I think. My vet only charges $87 :mrgreen: Ill be checking his bg every 1-2 hrs and updating on his SS. I cant figure out why I cant update on my ipad :?
 
What?! They charged you the ProZinc price for the Vetsulin then gave you a hard time about switching? grr_red

Looks like Hidey's on his way back up. If you want to get some more tests before PMPS, it's good data to have, but he's in the safe zone now, so it's not absolutely necessary to get more before your PMPS test. :smile:
 
LOL that was my theory. Then they wouldn't approve my order for prozinc because they wanted me to take him in and have a curve done. Finally when I agreed it took almost 2 weeks to get the prozinc in all the while saying oh we ordered it it will be here tomorrow! UGHHHH! I hate it, I love my vet shes been great but Ive been at my wits end with them.

Just tested Hidey PMPS is 194. I just fed him but I don't see him going up much. Should I give him any insulin tonight?
 
Ok, so he was on the rise at PMPS. The 252 is likely food influence. Normally, if you have a lower number than you're ready to shoot, you'll want to stall - wait, without feeding, approximately 30 minutes, and re-test to see where you're at. It's hard to gauge as the 252 is going to be food influenced about an hour after he ate.

I think you'd be OK to do 1 unit, but only if you can monitor - ideally at least a +4 and hopefully a +6. Your 47 today was too low, so definitely post if you see anything under lets say - 75 - so we can keep an eye on things.

Otherwise, you can always skip and start fresh tomorrow morning with the 1u.
 
It's almost 9 pm here and sadly I'm night a night owl, usually asleep by 10-10:30 wow I feel old, anyways since I can't closely monitor since I'll be sleeping should I maybe do .5 units to keep him in check a little
 
We call that a chicken-sh*t dose. :smile:

It's up to you: skip and start fresh in the AM, or try a tiny dose to tide him over till morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top